The Baseball Comment Thread (merged)

world series starting at fenway park on saturday..unbelievable

yankees suck!!!

Ohioguy - if you didn't follow last year LCS game - Roger pitched Game 7 on a short rest - lasted nearly 3 innings or so...only if he could go 6 or 7 innings deep - then Houston has a chance.

have you seen Cards play? their offensive lineup is loaded up.. St. Louis is the only team in this postseason who has not made a single error - that's defence...and frankly this team has been the best in the majors without given much credit by media.

it should be a good night for baseball.

Talha,

Speaking as a 46 year old man, we do not heal as quickly. Short rest is a killer for older pitchers. The twenty something pitchers can go on short rest, but they freak out in big games. The Sox were facing the samething, entire pen blown, and having to piece together short innings by lots of guys. Roger is basically Curt with a few years on him....

Frankly I love St Louis. I am not sure I WANT to see them in the Series, they are by far the best team in Baseball. I just like the romance of getting Roger back to Fenway, and getting to introduce Carlos Beltran to Fenway, his future home!

what a series, every minute of it was gripping but don't tell me all those fasting bosox fans didn't tilt the outcome of this one, praying for boston redemption in their rukus in taraweeh, this was the greatest series i have ever seen and follow many sports. i have no idea who wins the NLCS but either way it'll be a great matchup. what drama, nothing like playoff baseball, i mean nothing.

WOW! Amazing. Jesus is the messiah !
Amazing pitching by lowe aswell. Now we are heading to the world series with all sorts of momentum. St.louis/houston, bring it!!!

btw, to all the red sox haters out there, please remember to keep ur mouths shut next time. U know who you are!

Found this picture of ARod on a Boston fan site. Cracked me up!

[thumb=H]slappy7573_4009789.JPG[/thumb]

note the classic metrosexual black "manbag"

Chalo Kaleem bhai... Game over for your Astros. Now make reservations in the fanciest restaurant in Houston. Its party time!!!

On a side note.. Clemens was great... but Cards are just too good. Plus they had the home advantage and in this LCS both teams won all home games. So Cards won 5-2. Almost seems like a fait accompli. Astros should pat themselves for getting as far as they did. Well done, guys!

Faisal yaar, let me know when are you going to be here, we will go wherever your little heart desires.

I dont know, what to say about the game, what I want to say is liable to get censored and get me some points. But let me just say this .....How in the hell you dont make Irsighausen work for the outs. 2 pitches 2 outs. God Blessed, that guy worked 3 innings last night, make him work. take some pitches, work the count. Its do or die, one swing is not going to tie the game. You need runners on ....so on and so forth.

mumbles under his breath.....
Oh well, Go Red Sox. I hope you guys beat the snot out of the Red Birds. Schilling show these bunch of yahoos who is the boss. Damon use your Jesus like persona to mesmerize these average picthers of St. Louis.

Did I say I was bitter? I did.
Ok, enough.... I will let it go.....Why would you swing on the first pitch in ninth when you are down by 3?
No really, Why Will you?

Crap...its over. back to Football....but wait ...Titans are sucking this year. Oh well, what is going on with cricket and hockey now-a-days guys?

Congrats Cardinals. Obviously, the better team won. Edmonds catch in the center field was one freaking catch. How did he make that one? :eek:

Red Sox and Cardinals should be a heck of a World Series.

this was a great series - the Cardinals were very deserving and will do well in the world series - they did a great job and made plays and got hits when they had too.

the real difference in this game especially was the defense of the middle infielders - the astros didn't make errors but kent and vizcaino don't have half the range of renteria and womack on D. with better D, the astros could have taken this series but the better team won - it was a nice ride for Astros while it lasted - nothing to be ashamed of with that amazing run they went on - Re-Sign Beltran and keep that team together it's gonna be amazing - remember Pettite and Miller were out. So to do that with Clemens, Oswalt, and Backe.. is pretty awesome.

Clemens was great but couldn't ice the deal - fast pitch after fast pitch - poor selection - Cedeno had him on the ropes - it was a matter of time for Albert and Rolen to wait for a perfect pitch - on two pitches - the game was out of Astros' reach.

it was a rare throwing error by Jim on a 3rd base - else the defence of Cardinals have helped them throughout the season and in the playoffs.

Re-Sign Beltran

His agent is Boros, and rumor has it that he is looking for $100mil plus.

Ughh. Let's see who can take that on? Slim list...

**Stat Comparisons**
Cardinals                                             Red Sox  
                           Head to Head 
46   A. Pujols              Home Runs                M. Ramírez 43 
133 A. Pujols               Runs                     J. Damon 123 
.331 A. Pujols           Batting Average             M. Ramírez .308 
124 S. Rolen                RBIs                     D. Ortiz 139 
16   J. Suppan              Wins                     C. Schilling 21 
3.46 C. Carpenter            ERA                     C. Schilling 3.26 
152 C. Carpenter        Strikeouts                   P. Martínez 227 

**Team Comparison** 
.278                           AVG                     .282 
 855                             R                      949 
214                             HR                       222 
.460                           SLG                      .472 
3.75                           ERA                      4.18 

pretty close stats b/w both teams - being a National Leaguer - i will root for Cardinals - Boston better come up with one game in St. Louis because i don't see them coming back again from 2 games down against Cards... If Cards able to split two games at Boston - I see them winning the World Series in 5.

else...

The series goes to 7 games...and when it goes to 7 - i will have my prediction then of next World Champion... hmmmm.. also remember that Tony La Russa knows the dynamic of AL - he has one ring with the A's - so he understand how the American league works - that's offense - and Cards have been pretty good on offensive/hottest team - last night is the example - helding Bee's to just 1-15.

Well, a few comments.

Obviously ERA and AVE cannot be compared because of the DH. NL ERAs will always be lower, pitching to a pitcher 10% of the time. Similarly team AVE for the NL will be lower as the pitchers weigh them down.

I think the biggest differences are pitching, Suppan could not even break into the Sox starters last year, and the alignment of the batters. STL is heavily stacked in the first four batters, while the sox have Nixon, Millar, Varitek, Mueller, and even Cabrera who are all decent threats throughout the line up. Boston would appear to have better bench depth, but most of the best defense is on the bench too. Starters like Millar, Bellhorn and Nixon have realtively less defenseive ability than STL starters. When Ortiz is playing first, just pray that sinkerball Lowe is not pitching!

Promises to be a GREAT series.

Talha bahijaan, its good to know that you know about baseball history, now you care to share when was the last time Losera...err LaRussa managed an AL team. You know, baseball and players have changed since than, plus Larussa is a perfect micromanager. Yes, i know they just beat the Astros....they did not beat the Astros because there bats are so good, they beat them because Astros bats went to sleep in the last three games, averaging 3 runs per contest...is not going to get it done.

Go Red Sox,Sox in 6.

No Kaleem bhai - they beat Astros and Dodgers with their bats and *sexy *defence. :) - and that's why they ran away with the NL Central in the early August...last time La Russa managed an AL team to win the World Series was back in 89 with the A's - he's been with the Cardinals since 96 - under La Russa - Cardinals reached the NLCS three times but never got into the world series until now.

Ohioguy - your right Boston is leaps and beyond pitching of the Cardinals but everyone has said this rotation of the Cards have sucked all year - just because they don't have the dominant pitchers doesn't mean this team can't pitch - just because this team doesn't have a pitcher who throws 98 or 99 mph doesn't mean they can't win - these pitchers use the defense behind'em and have success that way - and don't get me start on Gold Glove winners in the outfield and infield of Cards.

let's not forget the best bullpen in MLB this year has been the Cardinals -sure they struggled in Houston and so on but they are turning the tide again and starting to pitch great.

Boston has just as good as a lineup as the Cardinals no doubt about that.

i just dont think it's gonna be that easy - any pitcher on any of these teams COULD shut down the other offense believe it or not.

With that said this series IMO is gonna be a classic. May the best team win(Cardinals as i root for them in 5 or 7). :)

*Originally posted by Ohioguy: *
Re-Sign Beltran

His agent is Boros, and rumor has it that he is looking for $100mil plus.

Ughh. Let's see who can take that on? Slim list...

that list would have only one franchise name....YANKEES - $100 plus? Beltran deserved it tho..

I think last game was proof enough that you need a solid starter and someone good to relieve him. Sure cards have a good bullpen (the best in my opinion) but there still is no substitute for a good starter. You know your in trouble when your ace is suppan. If cardinals had a good starting rotation, i think the series would have ended in five games at most.

what last game I'm Kool? LCS game 7? Suppan pitched one hecka game..and you are wrong on Suppan being the ace of Cardinals...it's Woody Williams(since Chris Carpenter is out)...just shows how many people in fact know about the Cardinals here...maybe the franchise resides in the Midwest fans across the states don't get to see them play as they have other teams.

Cardinals have the starting rotation that can seal the deal if not striking out than with.popouts, flyouts, groundouts - that's one of the reasons their starters have 10+ wins with acceptable era - and that too in the national league...

the bullpen of Boston has worked out much than the Cardinals in the LCS in case you missed that...La Russa has many choices with relievers as lefty (Ray King) and righty(Jason, Taravez)

No i was talking about game 7 boston/yankees. Both brown and vasqeuz pitched horribly under pressure, thus practically handing us the win. Compared to them, derek lowe looked like a cy young candidate.
And i still think suppan is the ace of thier current rotation. He had more wins than woody williams this season. As for 10+ victories by their starters, its easy to see that their offense is the reason for that. If they give up 3 or 4 runs under five innings, they are not replaced by the bull pen right away because they know that pujols, rolen, walker, edmonds etc can more than make up for it.