The baby totka's ...

There used to be a time when a midwife wouldnt just help with the delivery of the baby but also helped the mother to do certain totka’s to gain her figure back, recover from the delivery, if it was a baby girl , then help do little beauty related things , if a baby boy then tell the mom how to do the massages etc …

The midwifery info is all slowly diminishing .. Please can you share some of the things that your mom’s generation or grandmom’s generation did right after giving birth:

For example , for baby girls , they would wax her arms and legs with flour after a few days of birth to remove unwanted hair for when she grows up …

Yes my mom does that too ! she did it with me now she is doing it with my baby too but I don't have absolutely waxed arms and legs . It's called "Loyee" and its made from kneaded atta and some people add besan too.

Re: The baby totka’s …

Diamond tell me more about it please , how old is the baby when they do the Loyee on her? and how many times do they do it? does it hurt the baby? :konfused:

Re: The baby totka's ...

since my baby is a premie my mom started with her after my due date and i think with me she started right after i was brought home. It doesn't hurt the baby but babies mostly dont like any thing rubbing against their skin. My daughter sometimes cries and sometimes doesn't . Usually she enjoys it. The loyee is followed by a good oilve oil massage and some sun bath. after that a nice warm bath is given to the baby. My mom does it with my daughter every alternate day.

thanks so much Diamond , how long will she continue to do it ? like a month or more? :hmmm: … also please can you share the recipe of the loyee?

I will ask my mom and will share the recipe soon ! I think this will go on till a year ........ not sure will ask her that too !

wow! I have never heard of this before! Diamond - does this work?? Did you grow up with no unwanted hair??

Also I recently heard that if you drink loads of milk during the pregnancy , the child is born fair :hmmm: … is that true?

^ ahahah.. are you serioys CB..
are u really going to fall for this one

I dunno Fatso … I have heard it like so many times :eek: … Though i know there are always different factors but what you eat during pregnancy does have an effect on the baby hai na ? :konfused:

CB, I was told that if I ate rukhi one day old roti, my kids would be fair...and if I had coconut water and anar juice they'd be fairer :@:

Khair, I didn't do any of those. The girls are moderate. Maybe of I'd done that they would have been gori chittis :D

skin pigmentation is determined by multiple genes

i dont think milk reachers them n makes em white:(

diamond123: please we need to know more about what our mome does with loyee for your daughter..full details pleaseeeeeeeeeee.. and also any other thing she does with her ?

well my sister has amazing hair MA MA and my mom tells she had hired a srilankan maid from my sister as mom was a working lady. the maid rubbed powdered ‘surma’ on her head when she had her first shave and once later with a concept that hair grows thicker and nicer if surma is applied to the ‘tind’ :smack: I dont believe in it but I wish my mom had hired her earleir :bummer: maybe i had better hair as well …

:hehe:.. that sounds funny… loyee actually the ‘fine hair’… many babies tend to born with lots of hair on their face forehead arms legs back etc. …
u just make the paste of aata or besan with water (some people add desi ghee or something else) and just rub against the body to remove those fine hair… usually people do this once the baby is couple of weeks old and continue the process until the all hair are gone… this process does not hurt.. its like u r messaging the baby… some babies love message.. some dont…
btw.. these weak hair usually go away with month without this totka

punjabi rose.. no u donot grow up with unwated hair ..my both kids were born with loyee on their foreheads and ears… i didnt do this totka … their hair were gone within months…

Proto: My phuppo did that with her son cuz he was born with very lil hair…and I remember seeing the kid with surma a few times…I wonder what if thats the reason he has really thick hair…hmmm…

My grandma did the loyee thing for me...My mom tells me I was born with long hair on my body :...I think it has helped...I am not that hairy now... haha

A tip my mom suggested to tone up the tummy was to drink ajwain water after delivery...I didnt try that...but nursing helped...I wont say its completely toned...but its not sticking out for sure even though I still havent lost any weight....

Drinking a mixture of desi ghee and warm milk in the 9th month is supposed to help with the delivery...a complete recipe for weight gain....but it sure helps...

milk , coconut water & many more myths like that ! I firmly believe they don’t work …it’s the gene that matters. when my daughter was born she was as red as a tomatoes but in one months time her redness went away then she was not fair but now at 4 months she is quite fair. babies change faces and colour and it’s so true ! nothing that you eat will make a difference on baby’s appearance but yes will sure have an affect on development.

I dont know if it works or not ! my arms and legs are not completely waxed but yea I have very small and less hair on my arms esp.

Yourfriend , :omg: … I just laughed my heart out after realizing what i wrote :omg: … it does sound funny … interesting , so those new baby hairs are called loyee :hmmm::omg:

Gori Chittis :cb: … they are mashallah cute the way they are … I am sure you will be forgiven easily :hugz:

I think it works … because i have seen many girls in the family , where mom’s have done it on one girl and couldnt do it on the other , and there’s tonns of difference in their body hair :eek: