The Ashes, First Test...

Well Guys first test has just started and i would love t see Engand make a fist of it dis tume
and Austraila for once loses this ashes series :slight_smile:

Go England Go!!

Bank on it, Aussies will out classed Ashes!

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Bank on it, Aussies will out classed Ashes!

Pakistani Tiger... pls fix this statement. At the moment, it is too confusing.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

This is a bet, Pakistani Tiger cannot lose :D

England aren't good enough to hope to win a 5 test series against Australia although Aussies are showing signs that they are not the team they were. Aussies will still walk i with their eyes closed.

Austrailia ened of first day 364/2

again some mr. Hayden and Mr. Ponting centurions..
hayden is 186 not out, Ponting out fr 123.....

every team has to dismiss these two batsman early !

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

Am I betting with you?

*Originally posted by saby: *
Austrailia ened of first day 364/2

They scored 364/2 in 90 overs.

Take out 40 overs, calculate run rate per over, gives the target of 240-260+ runs approx.

Not too bad for ODI's :)

Aussies are truly professionals, yet they face defeat against Srilanka, I wonder why.

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

They scored 364/2 in 90 overs.

Take out 40 overs, calculate run rate per over, gives the target of 240-260+ runs approx.

Not too bad for ODI's :)

Aussies are truly professionals, yet they face defeat against Srilanka, I wonder why.

Cuz Sirilankans are professional too ;)

Complete humiliation for England, if it were Pakistan in their place today they would have been called dirty names, would have been called loosers, sattay baazis by some guppies here.
The problem is not how bad Pakistan or England is but the problem is how good Australia is.
England are still being humiliated, they are missing 1 or 2 star players but Pakistan had half of the team filled with youngsters. Now would you call the Pakistani team bunch of loosers?

http://sports.yahoo.com/m/sk/news/reuters/20021108/reu-englandhighlights20021108.html

**HIGHLIGHTS-England reach 114-1 against Australia **

BRISBANE (Reuters) - England cruised past 100 for the loss of just wicket in an encouraging reply to Australia’s 492 on the second day of the first Ashes cricket test.

Mark Butcher took England to three figures in the 27th over when he edged a ball from fast bowler Andy Bichel through the slips for four.

He was unbeaten on 30 with Marcus Trescothick not out 43 after Michael Vaughan was dismissed for 33.

England captured the last eight Australian wickets for 114.

• Australia lost Hayden (197), Damien Martyn (26), Steve Waugh (7) and Adam Gilchrist (0) to collapse to 429-6 at lunch after resuming on 364-2.

• Left arm spinner Ashley Giles dismissed Darren Lehmann (30) and Andy Bichel for a golden duck but missed hat-trick against Jason Gillespie.

• Shane Warne reached eighth test half-century off 48 balls before falling to Andy Caddick for 57. Australia all out for 492, Giles 4-101, Caddick 3-108.

• England opener Marcus Trescothick dropped on two by Martyn at third slip. Tea score: 34-0.

• Vaughan caught behind for 33 shortly after re-start, giving McGrath his 99th wicket in Ashes tests. 49-1.

• Mark Butcher survived McGrath lbw appeal first ball, the delivery adjudged just too high, then dropped in the gully by Hayden on 14.

• Butcher hit Warne for six and four in successive balls, then brought up England 100 with a boundary off paceman Andy Bichel.

• Butcher, on 30 with the score on 114-1, charged at Warne and missed his drive only for Gilchrist to miss a regulation stumping.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Complete humiliation for England, if it were Pakistan in their place today they would have been called dirty names, would have been called loosers, sattay baazis by some guppies here.
The problem is not how bad Pakistan or England is but the problem is how good Australia is.
England are still being humiliated, they are missing 1 or 2 star players but Pakistan had half of the team filled with youngsters. Now would you call the Pakistani team bunch of loosers?

Read the above Umair bhai and see how England fought back. The trouble is that you think you have monopoly over patriotism and anyone criticising the team is not sincere to the country. In fact Pakistan cricket has probably suffered more from "misguided patriotism" as displayed by yourself. Healthy criticism is always beneficial then trying to hide your head in the sand and say everything is fine and well done boys even if you created two of the lowest test scores in our test cricket history. It does more damage then good.

well that proves the pointm that austrialin batting mostly relies on Hayden and Ponting and take those two out rest is as unpredictable as it gets!

I hope England make fist of it :k:

wise words ehsan :k:

Umair and Ehsan Bhai, I think you both are arguing well for their cases but the case itself is strange…
Umair you said ke Engalnd faced humiliation , yeah no doubt they were pathetic but tis therir bopwling and Pakistan seldom faced any embarrasments coz of their bowling, so no one will say Pakistan is a Bad Bowling team…
And Ehsan bhai you pointed out the humiliation again that is again was due to Batting… Pakistan was hammered on the first day of colombo test but they sneaked some wickets at the end and thts Pakis style, They always came back through excellnt bowling :k:

Vaughn should've stayed more as he is in terrific form...good job by Trescothick and Butcher...kamazkam hamaari tarah innings se to nahi haareinge agar haarein bhi......

well said :k:

I wonder why you guys start talking about take these 2 players, take that 1 player out, or take this player then their team is nothing. Well the reason these players are in the side cuz they are best otherwise they won’t be playing and now if your team can’t trap them or atleast play better don’t just start saying take him out or take those 2 out. I am sure if those 2 don’t perform then the others will perform whereas the case with PAK is not like that. If one don’t perform the whole team goes down :wink:

I think ENG is fighting back real good. I doubt Aussies will be able to win that easy. I think its going to be a draw the first test.

Very well Said Question mian :) Totally Agree. England have fought back well and I hope they play well and atleast give Austalia a run for their money. Everyone had written England off, but so far they have performed very well. They have a good batting line up.

158 - 1 :stuck_out_tongue:

England still trail by 334 runs