Thank You!!

While I was getting off the plane through the passenger steps, a lady with her 3 years old daughter and heavy handbags was just ahead of me and about to descend the steep steps, one of the plane crew asked me if I could carry her daughter with me and I did. I carried her with my handbags as well on the steps and then to the shuttle.
When I got into the shuttle, the lady had already found her seat; I went and seated her daughter beside her.
The lady did not even look at me or say “Thank you” or anything. I felt that was so rude. Her dress was very decent and she was apparently more than 5 years older than me.

The same happened when I was in the clinic where I gave up my turn to a lady who came after me, because her child was crying. The same thing happened…

When I told my sister, she said…they are nor rude, they are just shy, and to be safe, you should only offer help when it makes a difference to avoid misunderstanding.

But what is the problem with saying a little quick “Thank you”, I would not ask for the number if one did.

Ladies…is that how you react to a help offered by a stranger ? How do you usually react? in what circumstances do you appreciate the help?

Re: Thank You!!

Thats awful and its a shame. Maybe they ARE shy or embarrassed but even so, they should have offered even the smallest smile of thanks. Well, here;s a big one from me - THANK YOU! It was very kind of you! And remember, good deeds never go unnoticed by the One who Matters! :)

that's pretty rude! did she have a language problem, do you think? i.e. wanted to thank you but didnt know how? although she could have smiled and nodded.
weird.

Rudeness!...some people need to be more civilised!....but don/t let that put you down in offering help when someone needs it, only God is the best of rewarders and he surely will reward you for your kind deeds, so just do it for his sake.

in less than 5 seconds I say, "your welcome" :)

hi Natalia,

this anecdote shows a very bad and aweful response from someone who you were courtnous to, if anything.

but a time comes in life, when the best thing to do is, not to expect a gratitude or thankfulness.

sometimes, people who you re the nicest to, will take full advantage and leave a very sorry impression of their selves, unless they genuinely can and do make amends for their ignorant behavior.

have a big heart and never lose a sense of being helping, just be cautious next time.

best,

Dushwari

exactly what i would have said....with a smile :D

aww.. i know that can get annoying sometimes esp. because sometimes we offer something so small but may mean something really big if someone did it for us. For instance, the same thing you did for that lady by helping her hold her child..while I was travelling a few men gave up their seats as soon as they saw my mother was older and wasn't able to stand. I did say "thank you" because I really did appreciate it... but I know for them the bigger reward is with Allah swt.... I'm sure they liked the fact that i thanked them... but im sure its nothing compared to how Allah swt will reward them on the Day of Judgment

moral of my boring story........ no matter what u do... something as minor as smile at someone who seems down... or buy someone a car... don't ever expect anything back from them... not even a thnks... just expect everyyything from Allah swt... and I'm sure nothing else will matter again : )

very rude! but don't feel bad because you got your sawaab and a good deed out of it :)

Smile to yourself for doing something nice to someone and try not expect anything back from them (I know it's hard when you go through the trouble of doing something nice) but it ll keep you happy and when some1 DOES thank you...it ll make you ever HAPPIER!

Reminds me of my former boss who used to say No good deed goes unpunished.

Coming back to the topic, I think it was rude on her part but very kind on your part. Because I have had same experiences, I still sometimes offer my help but when I remember the bad times as such, my attitude turns to “screw you, do it yourself”. I know it’s bad and wrong and I shouldn’t treat everyone the same way based on the experiences with a few, but guess what? I do.

Separate topic but similar. What pisses me off the most is when I go to Wal-Mart and if I am driving, I go REALLY slow and let the shoppers cross the path to go to the parking lot, especially the old people. However, when I am on foot and old people are driving, they drive like HORSES. They look straight instead of bothering to look around to see if someone needs to cross and KEEP driving at the same speed on the padestiran crossing :aj:

The lady should have thanked you, no doubt about it. But if you help people and expect something in return, even if its a *thank you, *then youre better off not helping them.

Hmmm...
niki kar darya main dala....

Waise main to bohot bara thaaaaaaaaaaank you bolti hoon...:)
Main bataoon aase log na koi shy why nahi hote inko na attitude problem hoti hai...huh!

Kyon ji kis khushi main ...
sirf thank u bolne se kya moo toot jaye ga...nahi na...to?

I agree, however, a "thank you" in return encourages you to do the good deed again and again. Let's admit it, we are not living in 1000 B.C. where people are sincere and we do things expecting no good words in return. One will help someone once without thank-you, twice, three times, 10 times? but then eventually give up. That is just human nature, unless you are some REALLY kind person, which I know I am not and normal people these days aren't.

waise let me tell u ppl k im a really a kind person...na bolo thanku bhi chale ga...hmmm:)

Yeh dono replies contradicting hain, sameenji

Aarey saachiii....funny hai na...hehe

They definitely should have said thank you.

As long as you aren't getting off from a PIA plane, chances are odd that the airline crew will ever ask YOU (a stranger) to help the lady, especially carrying her 3-yr-old.... usually they do it themselves or they don't bother. What kind of nut head was that one??????

However, a little thank you is always appreciated.

May be it didn't occur to them instantly that they were supposed to say "thank you". Sometimes I am completely spaced out and forget to say "thank you". I remember it after a few seconds and by that time the person is gone. It happens.. don't take it they are rude. They are mommies, they probably have a lot distracting them anyway. I usually don't care if someone says thank you to me or not, because I know sometimes it just hits you a little late.. :)