Thank You Pakistan

Disclaimer: This forum says ALL VIEWS it does not say only views from people of Pakistan, which have to be PRO Pakistan, so if the forum moderators are not enlightened enough to understand the meaning, Please don’t take it out on me. Thanks.

Thank You Pakistan

Nowadays an advertisement is running on all cable channels motivating the Pakistani People to say “Thank You Pakistan”. In the advert a blind man plays a patriotic tune and says that “I can NOT see Pakistan but I can feel it” and therefore he thanks Pakistan for that. I thought I should also contribute my two cents in thanking Pakistan.

1. When ever the electricity goes in my house I say “Thank you Pakistan”.
  2. When I have to stand in a Queue to get a sack of wheat outside a store I say “thank you Pakistan”.
  3. When I see sugar prices hike so much that I have to drink bland tea I say “thank you Pakistan”.
  4. When I go to the police station and want to file a report and I cannot due to thousands of corrupt reasons, or when I want to sell/buy land and the “patwari” plays dirty or asks for a bribe, I say “Thank you Pakistan”.
  5. When I take my kid to the hospital and because of doctor’s mafia I cannot get correct treatment I say “Thank You Pakistan”
  6. When I hold a degree and see another person get the job I deserved because of nepotism I say “Thank you Pakistan”.
  7. When I go to any governmental institution and have to pay a bribe to get a legal work done I say “thank you Pakistan”.
  8. When my kid goes out of the house and gets blown up by a religious fanatic I say “thank you Pakistan”.
  9. When I want my kids to get educated and cant do it because of the lack of a through free educational system I say “Thank You Pakistan”
  10. When I am wronged and seek justice through judiciary and see selective justice being handed out to a select few I say “Thank You Pakistan”.
  11. When I am discriminated against because of religion (sunni, deobandi, shia, etc) or ethnic divide (Punjabi, pathan, balochi,or sindhi) I say “Thank you Pakistan”.
  12. When my daughter or wife is subjugated and classified against just because she is a woman I say “thank you Pakistan”.
  13. When I see my nation in total denial and blaming other faculties for their misgivings with a good sprinkling of conspiracy theories, not thanking the only disciplined force “The Army” in a totally ill disciplined country I say “thank You Pakistan”.
  14. Last but not least when I see my country’s society littered with corruption, bribery, nepotism , and hatred, while the political participants all 342 of them are not a bit concerned about any disaster in Pakistan and are more interested in enjoying their life, while the media is only interested in saving their own existence I say “Thank You Pakistan”.
    Ironically the points that I have explicitly counted have the same number as the 14 points of Pakistan that Quaid-e-Azam produced for the existence of Pakistan. It makes me think and refute the fact that whether all this was worth it?
    I am sad to say that I am not blind like the person in the advertisement because if I was I would have missed many points that are quoted above and would have played my flute the same way saying

“Thank You Pakistan”.

Re: Thank You Pakistan

Ah... heartwrenching... but I still say Thank You Pakistan. As I am a Pakistani and will ALWAYS say Thank You Pakistan.

I am also getting sick and tired of all those milli naghma's. These guys only do lip service. If anyone really loves Pakistan then it should be shown by the actions alone. The hopeless situation in Pakistan belies all these fancy words.

Well said .....Agree

the floods were a Natural disaster. you can't blame anyone for it.

and about the incident in Sialkot - you can't blame the whole country for it. it was despicable and disgusting, but it doesn't mean the whole nation is evil.

even though we are a poor nation, we've come all out in defence of the flood stricken people, well the majority of us have.

we're not That bad.

Pakistan ka kia kasoor? I had a good think today and the problem isn't Pakistan. The problem are its people. The people are butchers ( Sialkot incident, police, govt do I need to say more?).

Where there are good people ....there r bad too

My question is how is unique only to Pakistan?

No one said it was a disaster produced by pakistanis but how they managed it is what is in question?

What happens in sailkot makes me say one thing: "PLEASE READ THE OTHER THREAD CALLED TALIBAN NATION"

Taliban nation.

I just want to ask my nation this very simple question the Taliban have committed atrocities, killings, public beheadings, and slaughter. They have done it in the name of Islam whether it was the public killing of Najibullah and his brother in the center of Kabul or whether it was giving 20 lashes to a girl in swat; it was all done under the same pretext.
what I want to ask is how different are the Taliban from the “Punjabi” mob (plus our nation standing and witnessing the act) gathered in the center of sialkot who clubbed to death 2 innocent boys under the age of 18 with crow bars, batons and stones, lynched them naked in the square, and then gorged out their eyes, and threw them in a heap of rubbish all under the supervision of the police.
The episode in Sialkot make Taliban look like the tooth fairy, because what we are capable of as a nation in just one episode is much worse than the wrath ever produced in the history of the Taliban.
I am sorry I am not justifying the Taliban here I am just pointing out the fact that we as a nation are as much or may be more of an animal than the Taliban.

Ihave yet to come across some real good people :cb: Hmmm lets see there are only a few of them like Abdul Sattar Edhi, his wife and maybe a few others. From the people who work in the airport to relatives all suck. Everyone has the same agenda: Rob the desis who come from abroad! Others have a different agendas like: Kill that vegetable! or Rape that toddler!

There are good people but we dont get to see many. Maybe they hardly exist? :hmmm:

We vote on the basis of ethnicity and nationalism, and this is why our biggest leaders are proven incompetent clowns like Zardari and Nawaz Sharif. There is no party in Pakistan who has any plan of creating jobs and improving the economy. This economic abyss gives rise to corruption, because people have no choice but to indulge in it when they are out of money.

I don't know whether to laugh or cry when I see very educated people supporting and defending Taliban's form of shariah, and ridiculing democracy. Extremism is prevalent in society and tolerance is a fading concept.

And while we make so much of our religious values, reality is that our religion is confined to personal rituals namaz, roza alone. Our mullahs have made sure that our religion does not help society in general.
It looks to me that the only thing people consider makes them Islamic is complete ban on any form of mixing of men and women. That's the highest form of Islamic ritual among us. Who cares if people are dying of hunger right and left? Who cares if a father can not even provide his children with any education?

I am saying all this because I want to see Pakistan progress. I hope some people realize the deep sh** we are into.

Pakora, I agree with you, the Sialkot incident was just terrible. The last time I heard such things was in the Gujrat riots in India. Or the war crimes in Bosnia. Humans everywhere are capable of such cruelties. This incident just proves that we're not any better.

That still does not mean we should stop having good thoughts about our country.

....And I will still say Thank You Pakistan. Because even today, in Pakistan, I had sehri and iftari. I am able to lead a normal life. And I am a Pakistani. And we need to love our country.

I hate to stereotype but in our case 99.999999 are bad and .0000001 are good. but I think we still cant stereotype.

Aunty for how long will you be able to lead a normal life? Eventually the talibans will bomb every single person :)

Re: Taliban nation.

I somewhat agree with you. Talibans aren't bad people. If they're bad then we are worse. We can't point fingers at them because the butchers who killed those boys aren't ny less. Atleast those talibans bomb people. They dont brutally beat the crap out of people, hang them upside down, take their eyes out and drive them around the city. If talibans are bad, these butchers are worse. I am so frustrated and upset by all this that I have no regrets in wishing that the people who killed those boy die a worse death. I hope their family members go through more pain and suffering than what those boys families are going through.

Ameen. Ramzan ka mahena aur InshAllah Khuda zaroor insaf karay ga :) Unki maa behnay is se bhi ziada tarpain gi. Ameen

Most of the problems are unique to many Muslim countries, but Pakistanis, along with some others, are unique in bringing them to extremes.

mkd - India said when Pakistan gained independence that this nation won't survive more than a year (I think it was a year) but hey, it's been what 63 years? so really, instead of thinking how long we will survive, i'd like to say Pakistan Zindabad.

Bad in what sense?

In Gujrat it was a fight over religion and secondly it was a riot between two different communities of the country, many survived and many died but Pakistan was created for the reason that such atrocities don't happen in Pakistan. (I have watched all videos from gujrat but non were as horrible as sailkot).

here the people died and were lynched and beaten again. so in Pakistans case we have gone a step further, which just makes me wonder that Pakistan was created because Muslims should have a better life, but if a Muslim mob can afflict such horrible act on other Muslims than probably JINNAH made a big mistake.

You can have all the good thoughts that u want to have about your country but I am sorry its not going to change the ground realities.