thanda khana

Re: thanda khana

^ saaray "gaseous" khanay hee batana.... mere parosi'on ka bhee khayal kar lo bhai

garam foods
dried nuts
paya
beef
fish
shrimp
ginger
avocodas
kareley
saag
thanday khaane
chicken
yogurt
water melon
cantaloupe
green salad
bell pepper
cabbage
kadoo

and i don't know maybe more fruits or veg tell me detail also

Chicken part of "thanday khanay"??? woohoooo I can eat chicken!!!

Seriously, was it mistake or do you think chicken is cold?

^ If u elave it in th fridge, yeah why not :p

Its better you eat lots of vegetables and fruits! If you live in the UK, Sainsbury's Country Vegetables Mixture is one of the best healthy food.
You better eat multi grain bread or roti.

oho, we are not talking about choolha and fridge plz....

so how would you define 'gharam' and 'thanday' foods in english?

i've tried explaining it to my non-desi friends, and they don't get it.
chinese are the only ones that will understand what you're talking about :D

You can give them example of black pepper or garam masala which physically may be cold but when consumed produces 'heat' in the body.... or diluted yogurt to fight 'heat' in summer etc.

^ yeah, i don't think they'd get that :D

Ok Captain Sahib, forget about garam and Thanda, the best thing for dry skin is the two important vitamins i.e. "E" and "C"

I posted this elsewhere too, in order for these vitamins to get to the skin cells, they have to be transported there, and that is done by Alpha-Lipoic-Acid. which is found in large quantities naturally in Spinach and Blueberries, eat these fresh or take over the counter supplements of the compound. results were from research done at Berkley and other institutions. search on the net for this compound or read Dr Nicholas Perricone's book, he is a Harvard MD Dermatologist.

**Good Luck...:) **

Sindsagar is right about Alpha lipoic acids. As well essential fatty acids found in fish oils (omega 3 supplements) or falxseed oil supplements are a must.

ALso I remember in aryuveda there are saatvik and tamsik foods.

Saatvik - a really good habit is to drink moong water every morning. Boil whole green moong and drink a bowl of the water. Very very cooling in your body. If you need add bit salt. Other foods in this category are doodhi, rice and believe it or not some mithatis (made from milk products). ALso good to add ghee in your meals.

My advice:
Take Vitamin B Complex and zinc supplements....

BComplex contains B6 for healthy reproductive system as well as folic acid to help prevent birth defects. Are you taking multi vitamins? If you are and if you do conceive, please check if they have Vit A as you should stop Vit A when you conceive.

captain sahab must be thogoughly confused now lol. with so many interpretations of garam and thanda out there i think u're better off going to a real practitioner than rely on our advice for your health. someone might give u the wrong advice......u never know...na jaanay kitnay dushman hein aapke iss forum mein...

meat is garam, sabzi-daal, dhoodh, fruit etc. are thanday. peanuts r also garam

:hehe: actually I am losing trust in these so-called practitioners, you go to them and if they don’t have good fix then you become their test rabbits, they will give you medication whose side-effects may not be clear even to them but they will still prescribe it. I would rather do testing of my own using natural items.

does anyone know if 'qahwa' (arabic tea) is yin or yang?

reduce the amount of spices, they are all "garam", especially the likes of fennel, clove, cardamom etc.

Fennel? I believe fennel is thanda. This is just from mums aunts and grandmas. Where did you get your info from. Perhaps you are right.

:eek: Maybe it was the chinese food I had last night that gave me these weird dreams :smack:

are nosebleeds a result of being “garam” inside?

can be sara.

does anyone know for sure what avocados are?