I got my hands on a rare book written by some European woman who did her thesis on the social anthropology in a village in Punjab. She lived in this village named Mohla(near Dhirke, SamaN) in Gujrat district from sept 1949 to March 1955. The book was first published in 1960 and then in 1964 and is out of print and rare now. I got it only yesterday and have not read yet but skimming through the pages it looks like a very good social anthroplogical study on Punjabi life, relationships, economics, and many other things in rural life. I will write more after I actually read it. but first a quiz.
It is holidays season and you know I like so many of you here and would like to be Santa and throw some expensive gifts down your chimneys ..since that is not possible I have this quiz and anyone of the people listed below who answers it first and to my satisfaction will get authorization to buy anything $20 or less before Dec 31 from my Barnes and Noblez account.
well chann if your "request’ to have others stay out was because you did not want the thread to go on a tangent, i think that Roman’s wishes to sit in your lap for $20 started you on a wrong course anyways
OK Chann Gee, here are the Dutch results. But before we go on, put that twenty on the table.
Both words are very common in the rural Punjabi village life.
Seyp / seyp karni / seypi :
To agree, make a verbal contract or agreement about labour / work. It was and sometimes still is common to hire Mochee, Darzee, Nai or TarGaaN to do work.
These people are / were most of the time paid in KarnK (grain), aTTa, KapRe (clothes) or sometimes even cash. This always happened at the end of the season. (harvest) The were also often given protection.
Mang / Mang pauni / Sadni / Mang Jaana
To ask people to gather and do a certain job. (KarnK Kapnee) Sometimes the gathering took place with a Dhol and Mithai. The Dhol had the function of gathering people / letting people know something big / joyful was goin on. Remember Letray Bulana.
Dont confuse Mang Pauni with Balaan dee Cheer Paani. ( women separating the hair on top of their head)
Chann ji, 20 dollar di te kitab hei meri wish list ich per S&H kon devay ga? mere abba?
Balle balle, ag kal $20 ke koi nahin kuJ samanj na Chann Gee.
Ok, we don't know how you guys are related or not, or if you live together or whatever, but please, do not share your routines with us. Please.
TooN assan de hattan wich a-yain te twadda we sooter kar kissa.
Chann Gee, tussan da kya gayaal hai, koi isna wee bandabast na karra?
Is kee koi Ban na kariyee? E djaket (munda) saaDe hattan soo baar nikkal jaanda hai.
awwww haaey! Pathwari ji, tussi baRe chalak ho. meiN udeek rai saaN chan ji dassan jawab ithay dena ay ya pm ich te tussi de vi ditta.....huh!
ok lemme elaborate a bit.....
The seypi is more like bartering--exchange of commodities or services. Like a tarkhan will repair farmers' hall, punjali, manja te peera in exchane of 100kg kanak.
In mang pauni/sadni no monetary benefits are involved. Its totally a friendly help. When the fassal is ready to cut the farmer will call his family and friends for help. He will not pay them any thing in return but will just serve them with a fine feast.
The importance of these concepts in paindoo life is pretty much obvious....ik doojay di help karo ge te zindagi sokhi hovay gi....
lau ji tuaanu te pata hi hona se, Mashallah wava umar guzari aay tussi pinD wich. Chann ji ne te rasmaN puch liya si taanu, aay test te assi kakay/kaakiyan laee si.
Chann ji lagg da aay tuaadi jaib paabo ne khaali kar laye, iss waastay nai hajjay ithay da chakkar laya.
paThwari: Good job done. 20 daalar tere huye. I knew before hand you will be the best one to anwer it correctly although I was suspicious that same terms may not be used in poThohar...I am surprised. do you guys use these words comonly in your area?
NaikLarki: The first one answers correctly was goign to get the money but you did add an important point to paThwari's answer statign that no monetary benefits involved in mang for teh participants although they are supposed to be fed well with good food and drinks...so 5 daalar tuhade lai:)