*To coincide with the upcoming India v Pakistan series, we are looking back at ten of the most memorable clashes between the two great Asian rivals. Here are the reports from Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack from those exciting games: *
No. 1 - Karachi, Second Test, 1982–83 Scorecard
Pakistan won by an innings and 86 runs. This was Pakistan’s biggest-ever victory over India, erasing the previous largest – by an innings and 43 runs at Lucknow in 1952–53. Pakistan put India in and bowled them out for 169, the only real resistance coming from Kapil Dev. In reply Pakistan piled up another huge total. Zaheer and Mudassar added 213 for the fifth wicket, Mudassar passing 1,500 runs in Tests. Pakistan’s victory was achieved with a day to spare, Imran finishing with match figures of eleven for 79, which took him past 200 wickets in Tests. India’s dramatic collapse in their second innings sealed their fate, when they crashed from 102 for one to 114 for seven, Imran’s blistering pace being altogether too much for them.
*I wasn't able to watch the 1987 win(I was 3 at the time, give me a break), but one victory really close to my heart is the win in Chennai as I watched that test match in a Pakistani restaurant where a lot of Pakistanis and a few Indians were present. The Indians started to shake their fists and cheer loudly when India was 17 runs away, and how things changed after that was just amazing :) . I still get goosebumps when I think of that Tendulkar dismissal; literally every Pakistani was screaming "Ya Allah Wasim ko catch pakarwaaday". We later on followed the Indian guys outside of the restaurant and really peeved them off.
I personally think last year's one day series between India and Pakistan was a great one as well. I haven't seen close matches so consistently in a series before(except for the 5th one ofcourse, where India won quite comfortably). *
i would recall the 1996 quarter finals when pakistan unfortunately lost and it wasnt even a close game but hatts off to saeed anwar and aamer sohail for that brilliant start i saw ppl literally crying when both openers wud smash the ball for boaundary .. and of course stupid shot by aamer suhail .. if they had stayed for another 10 overs boy .. who knows we wudve met Australia in da finals..
the champions triphy match was also tensed i think this past yr, Irfan PAthan struck ealry and often to put pakistan on the back foot, but Yousuf and Inzi did well to settle things down, befor mr.Shahid Khan Afridi, came in and took the match away from india!
To put things in context esp with regard to the above mentioned 1982-83 Indo-Pak series....
...During those times cricket in the subcontinent (esp in Pakistan) was played very unprofessionally..........to say that the Pak umpires were incompetent would be an understatement.....they were plain biased.....
Zaheer Abbas, Imran Khan, Miandad et al were great players no doubt.......but I dont read much into the results of the Indo-Pak series(esp the ones played in Pak) during that era.......
To quote Dilip Vengsarkar (former India player/captain):
The umpiring was very bad. One of the local journalists told me during the 1982-83 trip that there are odds available on the number of lbws given during the series.
We'd plead with the umpires and the standard reply was: "** Janab jahan say main dekh raha hoon , ball dandi per nahi lag rahi thi .** "
Our bowlers were frustrated. One of our bowlers even implored Javed Miandad and Imran Khan to urge the umpires to give some lbw decisions but they'd turn around and say: " Mian, yeh Pakistan hai ." And we'd quietly get on with our jobs.
Even the local media didn't write anything to bring to light these misgivings. Such was the anguish that we vowed that on Pakistan's return tour to India, they will get the same kind of umpiring. But that never happened, our umpires were good. *
lets move this to the jokes forum....
and plz dont try to put this thread into a useless quarrel....
we all know the common saying that when playing at home, india plays with 13 players instead of 11....
no wonder there is such a huge difference in their home and away statistics....
If you make an effort to look into your own graibaan, you will see a lot more mud. Really. Kumble’s 10 wickets? What a sham that was! And that was in the damn 90’s! Shut up, and move on to some other threads.
Agar main ya Aap umpire hote tou hum bhi apni team ke jeetne ka har tareka azmate, is me kiya burai hai.
Hindustani hou ya Pakistani hai tou phir bhi desi, and the worst part is that if if our Umpires didnt favour us we would burn their houses, bolo sach hai ya nahi, so best option is neutral umpires. (ALLAH David Shepard IND/PAK match mai Umpire Hou) .
Laanat mat hi padhiyaga Shepard par, azab hou ga:D
Aab maan bhi jao, jeete ya haare hum hai desi, I will root for Pakistan against every team but India, and I would expect the same from you, until and unless you love Shepard more than I do:D
Yeah I remember Afridi walking off the field in that inning while idiotically given caught behind to Kumble when the ball was atleast six inches away from his bat, cursing the hell of out the indian umpire and justifiably so, something along the lines of "kuttay ka bacha"........
Yeah, poor Gatting, he thought he could impress Shakoor Rana, like the barmaid with whom he was caught in his hotel bedroom. Pity Shakoor didn’t buy his BS like the maid did.