Re: Ten of the best
Actually Rana is telling Gatting - " Janab jahan say main dekh raha hoon , ball dandi per nahi lag rahi thi . "
But Gatting does not seem to be Getting it.
Actually Rana is telling Gatting - " Janab jahan say main dekh raha hoon , ball dandi per nahi lag rahi thi . "
But Gatting does not seem to be Getting it.
Nah that was just Vengsarkar’s excuse for lame performances.
Ehsan bhai,
You are fighting a loosing battle here.
Try looking for some statistics…
%LBW for Imran at Home (47/163)
%LBW for Imran Away (33/199)
%LBW out for Gavasker Home
%LBW out for Gavaskar Away
On top of that..our umpire gave LBW to make it a tie test match or get Azhar LBW on 199( poor dude never made 200).
I am not saying that Indian upmires were total Sharif. But when it comes to cheating no one can match Pakistani umpires of 70s and 80s. They simply sucked.
Yaar tum say kis nay kaha tha serious honay kay liye. ![]()
I have been following cricket since the start of the 80s (when most Guppies here were born..I guess...other than ehsan of course ) ...and I will say this...........
Cricket (as a whole) was very unprofessionally managed in the subcontinent in those days. Lack of technology, media visibility(not many people had TVs) and the one-day/payjama cricket that has made cricket so glamorous today did not exist at that time.
Umpiring was sub-standard mostly...because most wrong decisions went un-noticed and were not scrutinized(plus there were no neutral Umpires). Having said that, there is a difference between an Umpire being biased and one who is just plain incompetent.
Pak Umpires were infamous for being outright biased. On the Indian side, I would say we had our share of "incompetent" umpires.....like the one guy(Umpire Dhotiwala I believe) who gave Maninder Singh unfairly LBW to tie the test match with Australia....I think he was trying to be extra honest.
The Indo-Pak delhi test match that has been quoted above was not that long ago. I do not have high regards for Umpire Jaiprakash (who officiated in the match). However to be fair to him, its difficult for any umpire to give decisions on those close bat-pad chances in the dusty subcontinental pitches.....but I am convinced that Jaiprakash was not "biased" per se.
Ofcourse Some1, because Indians are wholehearted people and are genuinely sincere. I believe you. Now shut up and get out.
^^ :D you really think so!
anyone remembers harbajhan hat-trick in that home series they won against australia????
who was the umpire who gave it to him????
it was the third umpire....
No armughal, Indians are supposed to be unbiased holy mahatmas. Please refrain from offending the heavenly creatures from across the border. Thank You.
very informative :(
Its good that you got rid of the “People,that is all” thingie…now we just have to deal with the rest of the crap.
ya thats great just what i expected of u
when indians do it its just an unintentional error. when pakis do it its an act of bias! u know what man, i havent been around for as long as u have, but i’ll say this, in the olden dayz umpiring used to be horrific everywhere: be it pak, india, WI, england or australia.
so cut the crap about what u saw in pa in 70’s n 80’s was the worst display of umpiring. if u managed to see pak’s tour of england 92 [test series esp.] then u’d know what i’m talkkin abt. that was POOR. if u saw pak tour of WI in 94 that was poor. when hayness was consistently being hit on his back pad in game 5 and he wasnt being given out by freakin kalla umpires.
bottomline is, in the old dayz it happened everywhere to more or less the same extent. all umpires were “overpatriotic”, including URS!
The truth is pretty bitter. Nevertheless, now I shall bow infront of you because you are God.
-----------z-z-------------
You make 80’s sounds like freak’ in 18th century. Not sure if you’re referring to the “Lagaan” match.
Technology/Media/crowd interaction-quizzes/TV in every home/satellite-mania was on rampage/slow-motion, you name it and every thing was in abundant in the 80’s or at least every household in the urban area had access to a TV.
Cricket management in Pakistan was no different that of India Sri lanka or England for that matter. Whenever there were changes they were inducted across the board. Except for a short period of 80’s when the present PCB then BCCP was running on Ad_hoc fuel.
Its an ‘Indian’ view that umpires cheated in their matches against Pakistan especially in Sharjah or Toronto
No. 2 - Australasia Cup Final, Sharjah, 1985-86
Scorecard
Almost two decades later, Javed Miandad, the scrapper who knew not how to throw in the towel, would confess to having almost done just that. When Imran Khan departed with 37 runs still needed, Pakistan needed eight an over. “I thought then that we had no serious chance of victory,” wrote Miandad in his autobiography. “I just wanted to salvage some pride for Pakistan. I had no plan, other than to bat out the full fifty overs in the hope that we would at least lose with some dignity.”
He managed far more. With 31 needed from the final three overs, Miandad whittled the target down to 18 with the aid of a superb six over long-on off Chetan Sharma. But despite the presence of the big-hitting Wasim Akram in the middle, Pakistan could manage just seven from Kapil Dev’s final over, leaving Sharma, a 20-year-old who had already earned 28 ODI caps, with the task of denying Miandad, who had cut his way to an imperious hundred in his previous over.
But though Akram was run out going for a second run off the first ball, Miandad smashed the next to the mid-on fence to ease the pressure. The next delivery was fetched nonchalantly from outside off stump, but a splendid diving stop from Roger Binny kept the batsmen to just one. Zulqarnain’s swat at the ensuing ball saw the stumps rearranged, leaving Tauseef Ahmed, a man with no great batting pedigree, to conjure up five from the last two balls. With Miandad urging him to scamper a single at any cost, Tauseef tipped the ball to short-cover and set off. Mohammad Azharuddin, India’s premier fielder, pounced and picked up in one fluid motion but, crucially, his shy at the stumps missed with Tauseef still yards short.
With four needed, it was merely a question of who would blink first. Miandad, with more than a decade of experience behind him, anticipated the yorker, and sure enough, Sharma attempted just that. But when the ball slipped out of the hand, the potentially lethal stump-wrecker metamorphosed into a woeful leg-side full toss. For those watching, time stood still as Miandad’s bat arced swiftly to send the ball soaring over the midwicket boundary. It was a heist that would have done Ronald Biggs and friends proud, and Miandad himself admitted: “Up until the final delivery, India’s dominance remained supreme.”
That dominance had been built on a stolid 92 from Sunil Gavaskar, buttressed by half-centuries from Krishnamachari Srikkanth and Dilip Vengsarkar. And with Pakistan’s top order not doing enough to supplement Miandad’s courageous effort, it appeared that the Indian total of 245 would be more than enough, in an age when turbo-charged starts and pinch-hitting were almost unheard of.
In retrospect, that one resounding stroke was to signify far more than a final won. For years afterwards, India were no match for Pakistan in the one-day arena, shell-shock victims unable to regain a sense of perspective. There may have been tears in the Pakistani dressing room that evening, but it was India that were to weep over the unimaginably deep Miandad-inflicted cuts for the best part of a decade.
© Cricinfo
And guess who brought neutral umpires to the game? It was Imran Khan who lobbied ICC relentlessly for neutral umpires. The first Test with neutral umpires was played in Pakistan.
The following was one of the best moments in Pakistan VS India test matches. Personally, my most favorite one. Dravid is undoubtedly the best Indian batsmen in the past few years (Yes, even better than the overrated SRT). It was imperative to get him out in the Chennai test when we were only defending 270 odd in the fourth innings. In came Wasim Akram, the greatest bowler Pakistan has ever produced. The warrior trapped Dravid LBW with an inswinger, but was given not out by the incompetent Indian umpire(Some1 please call Some1 and show him this video to prove how unbiased and holier than thou Indians umpires are). Wasim was disappointed, but his mind didn’t stop working. Dravid had already been unsettled by the swing and the appeal that had followed. It was time for the kill. Wasim charged in, and bowled the outswinger of a lifetime. Dravid was clean bowled, yes, clean bowled. And that too, the very next freakin’ ball that had caught him plumb LBW. Just look at the Pakistani celebration and enjoy because you won’t be seeing much of that this time around.
Wasim Bowls Out Dravid, Chennai Test 1999
Please let me know if the link is dead. I will reupload it.
Armughal Bhai,
Did you have to bring this up, Khamakha purane Zaqhm kured diye aapne.
so the consensus here is that indian umpires were just as biased as pak umpires during that era with an equal amount of b.s calls?
if so, that is a total joke - objectively speaking. even any non-desi cricket fan from back then would agree.
No, the consensus here is that the creatures from across the border are heavenly and shall be worshipped. I will now bow infront of You, Your highness.