This is what the Jews are planning to build over the Dome of the Rock and Al-Aqsa masjid.
As you can see there is no sign of these Holy places in this sketch.
Temple of Solomon…
This is what the Jews are planning to build over the Dome of the Rock and Al-Aqsa masjid.
As you can see there is no sign of these Holy places in this sketch.
Temple of Solomon…
Inshallah it'll make a good mosque when we're sorted.
Hmmm..what happened to the first one???
There's A Thin Line That Separates **Sanity* and Insanity*
I Stand With One Leg On Either Side Of It!
Originally posted by MadCon:
**Hmmm..what happened to the first one???
When the Romans sacked Al-Aqsa to punish the Jews for rebelling against them, they destroyed the Temple along with most of the buildings in Jerusalem.
Temple Mount remained in ruins until Caliph Umar (RA) conquered Jerusalem and ordered the site to be cleared up. He built the Al-Aqsa Mosque on the site. A few decades later, the Dome of the Rock was built over the spot on Temple Mount from which Muslims believe that Mohammad (peach be upon him) was taken to Heaven on.
>>Caliph Umar (RA) conquered Jerusalem and ordered the site to be cleared up. He built the Al-Aqsa Mosque on the site.
Are you saying there was no Mosque Al-Aqsa before Hazrat Umar (RA) built it? Or was it there by some other name? Is the Al-Aqsa mentioned in the Quran?
A mosque does not necessarily have to be a solid structure. In many desert regions in the Arab world, a mosque is simply a collection of stones on the ground forming a mihrab, or a collection of stones lining a spot dedicated to prayer.
Given the many historical references to Temple Mount being ruins prior to the Islamic conquest, it is most likely that the Masjid Al-Aqsa (meaning “Furthest Mosque”) mentioned in the Quran was simply a designated site amongst the ruins on Temple Mount where people prayed.
As we know, when the leaders of the Quraysh asked the Prophet (pbuh) to describe the site to them, and the Prophet was able to do so correctly.
What Caliph Umar did was to build a structure on Temple Mount to pray in. The absence of a structure previously on Temple Mount in no way means that a mosque was not there.
For instance, Besor Masjid in Palestine.
And a bedouin mosque at Be’er Karkom in Occupied Palestine.
and the Masjid at Har Oded
And modern bedouin mosque in Jordan.
Obviously a site of worship such as these could easily have existed amongst the ruins of Temple Mount, forming the masjid Al-Aqsa mentioned in the Quran.
[This message has been edited by mAd_ScIeNtIsT (edited April 10, 2002).]
Pristine u're right.. the furthest mosque could have been any mosque as it did not exist as a structure till the second caliph ordered it's constructions.
We do not have accurate historical records to know for sure. Currently held beliefs about these mosques have been fed to us by Traditions.
[This message has been edited by PakistaniAbroad (edited April 10, 2002).]
Uh ok... help me understand then, this mosque was actually build in the time of Hazrat Umar (RA) and previously it was a Temple. It is sacred because that was our Qibla-Awal. However, when the Prophet (PBUH) went on Mairaaj he probably just visited the temple, as there was no mosque or no muslims in Jerusalem at that time.
In which case, as long as the site is a place of worship, we can't really say its exclusively a muslim site. The historical and religious significance of this site goes back to Hazrat Ibrahim (AS) who infact made two mosques - Masjid al-Haraam (Makkah) and Masjid al-Aqsa (Jerusalem). Now, muslims already have exclusive rights over Al-Haraam, so much so that no non-muslim can even enter the city.
For al-Aqsa, other than the matter of ego, that muslims MUST control the mosque, the whole place is revered by people of all faiths (christians, jews, and muslims) and the actual mosque or the structure was never built before Hazrat Umar (RA), and hence is not exclusively a muslim domain, per se.
Thanx for the info Maddy!
There’s A Thin Line That Separates Sanity and Insanity
I Stand With One Leg On Either Side Of It!
Originally posted by Pristine:
For al-Aqsa, other than the matter of ego, that muslims MUST control the mosque, the whole place is revered by people of all faiths (christians, jews, and muslims) and the actual mosque or the structure was never built before Hazrat Umar (RA), and hence is not exclusively a muslim domain, per se.
To the best of my knowledge, the only Islamic sites non-muslims are not permitted to attend are Mecca and Medina. However, the Waqf Authority responsible for the Temple Mount has not allowed non-Muslims to attend ever since, a few decades ago, a Christian visitor attempted to burn down the Al-Aqsa Mosque, destroying important part of Muslim cultural history such as the pulpit donated by Salahuddin Yousuf Bin Ayub.
With the presence of many extremist Jews and Chritians who wish to destroy the Al-Aqsa Mosque and the Dome of the Rock, there is no way of differentiating between those who wish to do harm and those who don't.
[This message has been edited by mAd_ScIeNtIsT (edited April 10, 2002).]
My point was, and it may sound very insensitive so pardon me, but if they take down the mosque and put in its place another place of worship, then what do we lose.
The present structure was built in the time of Hazrat Umar (RA) and it had a longer history of being a place of worship for jews and people of prior faiths.
We do lose a mosque, yes, and a right to pray on the spot where Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) stopped on his way to Mairaaj. Do we have a bigger claim to control the mosque or the area, compared to jews?
And forgive me for being insensitive, but Islam supercedes Judaism. We have a God-given priority to Temple Mount.
Sometimes, religion just ain't politically correct.
Well, I'd give u that point, except kay wahan waisay hee itni pitai ho rahee hai, kay saari "god given superiority" ki to dhulai ho gayee hai.
Muslims, first should become 'muslims' and reclaim their honor and dignity before trying to assert their "god-given superiority" over any other community. :)
Can someone tell me who Solomon was and why he was so important for the Jews?
“w*Hy is **It thaT* i*F* y*Ou kiLL* a Man in wa*R* y*Ou aRe a hEro,* but
if you k*Ill a maN* out*Side of **War you are callEd a murdeRer *?**”
I think Solomen is the anglicized name of Prophet Sulaiman (AS). He is revered by people of all faiths.
Am I right?
Hazrat Suleman (as) was one of the more revered prophet of Jews and very famous for his wisdom.
Jews specifically revere him and Hazrat Daud (as) (David) as they both build a Jewish State that was famous for its might, authority, richness, culture and Jews weren't persecuted.
Quran talks about Hazrat Suleman (as) justice and statemanship with great praise!
Just like the Muslims are long for that 'perfect Islamic State' which AnHazoor (saw) & Early Khulafa created, similarly, Jews long for the Jewish state made by Soloman & David.
p.s: Pristine Bhai, you should stop professing such heretic views, otherwise soon enough you will be labeled Qadiyani. Don't tell me later I didn't warn you. :-P
Thanks both okay that was my assumption, so I just wanted to clear that. THanks appreciate that
“wHy is It thaT iF yOu kiLL a Man in waR yOu aRe a hEro**,** but
if you kIll a maN outSide of War you are callEd a murdeRer ?”
[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited April 10, 2002).]
Hazrat Dawud AS (David) was not only an illustrious Prophet of the Israelites but he was also their king. The Holy Qur'an affirms:
"And Allah gave him the kingdom! and wisdom and taught him of that which He willed." (2: 251).
"(And it was said unto him) 0' Dawud!To! We have set you as a vicegerent in the earth, therefore, judge aright between mankind and follow not desire." (38:26)