Telling Parents You want to get MARRIED

how would u go about telling parents you want to get married to someone of your own choice. I want to hear from both girls and guys. for those who are married…how did u tell ur parents?

it looks easy now…but when it comes to the time, it gets hard.

who normally tells first? the guy to his parents? or doesnt it matter?

Re: Telling Parents You want to get MARRIED

"Ammi main iss larkay ko pasand kartee hoon aur I want you to meet him." All said in my Ur-jabi of course

Impulse, if you figure it out please do let me know too.. i have been telling my parents for like 6 months now.. and everytime they just say yeah sahi hai let us discuss and then it just disappears and then i remind them again and then the same thing.. kabhi ur big bro should settle in first tou kabhi thori tension khatam hojaye :(

keep trying inshaAllah u will succeed in it :)

religiously its haram .. u didnt know that ? lol

though my dad is kewl .. i cud talk to my dad anytime after studies ofcourse.

^ What's haram about liking someone fro marriage? Abt telling ur parents u want to marry a particular person? Maybe according to desis choosing the one u want to marry is gunnah but not according to Islam. I think ur thinking of boyfriend/girlfriends, which are DEFINITELY not right but choosing the person u watn to spend ur life with is not wrong.

I would just ask it. After dinner or something. More blood is pumped to the stomack area and less goes to the brain. So most people are relaxed after dinner :hehe:

On a more serious note. I know my parents well enough and they probably would want to meet the person right away. :smiley:
I really dont think it would be a problem. But I do know most pakistani parents would make a problem out of it.
Like Ansoon said, try it thru some one older. A brother can help out alot. :k:

One of my cousins was in love with a girl. He talked to his parents who were firmly against the rishta. He hired the services of my grand mother. And who can go against the decision of my grandma? He is married now..... to the girl of his dreams.

(I love my nani ammi!)

Having your siblings back you on a such a matter helps alot. Get them to support you then corner the weakest parent on the matter and bully them into accepting it :D

sigh

How old are you? I hope you are old enough to ask your parents about your own marriage.

Lol @ CM's remarks
(corner the weakest parent.....................survival of the fittest)lolololololol

oh Gosh
what can we desi loag hear

ay lo, chun liya khud, sharam nahi ai, han han poochta kon hai hamain ab, yeh hamray bhi baap ho gay hain, lo ji kya zamana aa gaya hai. ay jao bhaiya/bhen, ja kar racha lo shadi , tumhari aag zara thandi ho. baad mai hamaray pass aa kar roy tou aik chamat dain gay

bla bla bla

waisay, accoring to islam, you have the right to choose your life partner,and parents must have sense now.

waisay granny aur siblings wala idea are the best

first of all pump your siblings , khas toar par chotay pain pra, they gonna help you as they MAY ALSO face situation like this in future.

My husband also involved his granny. She was very supportive and convinced his parents and my aunts.

If I ever have to do my merzy, I will set some ground, that is let them know that I am interested in some one. Let them have some pics of the person and then introduce the person to them (this is where tea party counts...:) ). These days most parents won't mind if their kids wanna settle down with choice until the choice is not some one as hated as Sh*b A*hr.

I dont want to hear from big headed people…

and u havent even done it so why u even advising me MR…WANNABE KNOW IT ALL.

exactly I agree.

MR Boombastic is very narrow minded indeed. is he really doing medicine? oh well…seen alot of his type around.

thanks everyone for ur advise :)

its just that right now my mom isnt here shes in Pak....and only dad is here....I feel kind of scared telling dad....cuz I dont know wot his reaction will be.
whereas mom is a little more predictable.

Weren't you asking how to clean a wedding dress from a darzi shop? So, you have the wedding dress ready but yet to seek parents' approval? Ooooo-Kay!

funguy...it was Ira! :)

getting old ....i see!

oh... i don't read past the first letter.

kisi nay such kaha thaa...aurat mard ko jald booRRha ker daiti hay

hmmm..... n if the 'aurat' finds out about this comment....i hope she'll take care of making 'Ganjaa' too!:-p