Re: Tell us the story of your bridal jora!
WOW!!! mA looks amazing! and even more so because ur mom made it !!! :D
Thank you everyone for the sweet comments !
@amazngaquarian and madinahme, the valima shoes are from Nine West. i checked the place a few weeks ago and couldnt find the exact same shoe again, but i found something similar that you might like. its basically the same thing , just opentoed.
when i bought it, it was 150$ CDN with tax and everything.
Tranquil I LOVE your outfits so much!!
It proves you dont have to spend crazy money on a designer to get amazing quality and design!
great outfits mashAllah fellow Makkan
I too have purchased both my wedding/walima outfits from Makkah
loving the shoes too mashAllah ![]()
thanks inspiron and cutie pi : ) you guys are so sweet.
to the modsL can my pics be removed now? from the original post and the quoted one please ? :)
^ Done. :D
Ahhhh I missed it!! ^^ :(
Noooo, I missed the pics too.. :(
proto I loved all ur joras :)
loving ths thread , :)
Sahar and sara love the colours of your lehngas :) m'A
I wore a heavy readymade lehnga in red with gold kaam ,
I bought it myself from liberty matrket ,lahore along with my mother n MIL :)
It was love at first sight kinda thing , i loved the kaam and even after so many years it looks so fine , the colour ,the kaam everything , I felt great and still do ..
I was an easy bride ,went to one shop , liked it and got it .even ami and Mil liked it ,so we are easy to please people ,everyone loved it .
It is in pakistan at my in-laws store .
Walima lenhga we got from pindi , we chosed fawn colour with green border but when got the lehnga 2 days before wedding ,the border were in maroon colour ,that was the only sad thing abt it ...but sabar shukar kar ke pehn lia :-D i will post pics when I find em .
These stories are so cute! Everyones outfits look/sound really pretty
Did anyone cry after they saw/wore their outfit? I think imight... lol
Nopes... When I saw it was too excited & when I wore it i guess was just thinking about makeup n stuff lol...
I love this thread Sahar!
My mehndi clothes were just a plain silky yellow salwar kameez suit with a pink and yellow dupatta. My mum bought it in the UK and after my mehndi I believe it was given away to someone as a charity donation.
My nikkah lengha was maroon with gold kaam on it. The blouse had a small dotted pattern in it in gold. The skirt wasn’t particuarly heavily embroidered, but the dupatta was more so.
Me and my family arrived in Pakistan on a Sunday and the wedding day was a Thursday so everything was a rush job. I chose the lengha myself after looking in several shops in the city closest to my grandparent’s village home in the Punjab. My parents, sister and aunty were with me. At the time i was in love with dotted patterns on desi clothing, no idea why lol but i think that sort of won me over when i saw the blouse for my lengha. I also liked the colour at the time.
The lengha I wore on my walimah was chosen and bought by my in laws from Mirpur. My hubby to be at the time had asked me what colour i’d like but i’d asked him to just go with what he liked himself. What they bought was an orange lengha with the dupatta in a sort of burnt orange colour.
This was in December, 2006.
On the day, honestly most of its a blur, everything felt quite surreal at the time so im not sure how i felt in my lengha, i guess i felt fine cos i’d chosen it myself. Oh, one thing i was not too pleased about was that the neckline was a bit too low than what i’d wanted and asked for.
The walimah lengha, i have to admit i was disappointed when i saw it. I didnt think much of the colour at all.
Now, i feel ok with what i wore. When i went out to Pakistan, i really had no knowledge at all of what was fashionable and what wasn’t, i hadnt given any thought at all to my wedding dresses, and because we were so short for time i didnt really get to shop around much. However, whats done is done, so although in hindsight i may have picked something else for the nikkah day and told hubby what colour I DIDN’T want for the walimah lengha lol, im ok with what i wore. It really isn’t that important to me, especially cos it feels like a million years ago lol.
I guess what it says about me is that if you have a question about lenghas, dont come to me lol.
The nikkah lengha is packed away in a suitcase, and the walimah one is at my in laws home in Pakistan. I haven’t worn either one since, and not sure if I ever will.
tranquil i wanna seeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
^ me tooooooooooooooooooooooo...........
^ me threeeeeeeeeeeee...
me 4 ![]()
here are mine …15 years ago ![]()
I dont knw what is wrong
Cant see ur pic
Wanna see tranquil’s pic ![]()
can’t see your pix, rename your files without spaces and re-upload them ![]()
First of all, Gorgeous dresses everyone!**
*What are the styles and colors?
- Mehndi/Nikkah- I had my nikkah done on the day of Mehndi. So, I wanted something mehndi like but at the same time would look nice for nikkhah. So I made a emerald Green churidar with hot pink lining and Silver/gold work on it. With those Beads/bell like things on the border of Dupatta.
Wedding- I wanted a Red bridal. So it was red with a hint of green with green lining. it was a Gharara. I love it because its not too heavy and not too bold.
Valima- its a dull gold almost tan color with aqua blue lining. It was full of beautiful stones and work.
Who got and designed it?
Mehndi/nikkah- *I saw 2-3 dresses I liked and I basically took pieces of it and designed it. My phopo in Pakistan made it for me. and Alhmd it turned better then I hoped for.**
Wedding and Valima-- My MIL got it from karachi. She bought it from Rizwan Mouzamm.
*What year was it made?
It was made in January 2010 and I wore it in Feb 2010
*What was your reaction when you first saw it? How did you feel in it on your wedding day? How do you feel about it now?
- All of my dresses were Alhmdulilah wonderful. my Mehndi one was better then my expectations. My wedding and Valima I saw 1 week before the event and it was Alhmd great. I was very happy. My Nikkah day I was so stressed for some off reason. So I was zoned out throughout the event.On my wedding day- I felt great- it went by so fast. I truly enjoyed my valima. I felt I looked and felt the best and I felt like a princess on my valima.
*What does it say about you, your family, etc?
Well, my family honestly didnt really cared as much about the dresses and honestly it really shouldn't be that big of deal. I only had 4 months to prepare for my wedding. My MIL went to Karachi 1 month before the wedding and got all the clothes done within a month. In the end of the day, I was happy to be getting married to my best friend and thats all that mattered on that day.
*Where is it now?
Its in my closet in a suitcase. packed up all nicely. I will probably wear it on my cousins or sisters wedding.