Tell me about life in London ..

Ill be moving to London start of next year, Insha Allah. I do know about it but of course living there would be different.

Please let me know how is life in London specially for a house wife…

Re: Tell me about life in London ..

I love London. though houses would typically be smaller and you would have to clean house yourself, the house doesn't get dirty so soon like Pakistan. No water or electricity issues. Things are expensive though and if you keep converting to Pakistani rupees then you would be even more schocked. However, try shopping at places like Asda for grocery to save a pound or 2. The public transportation is excellent. Don't need to drive a car everywhere like in the U.S. If you like historical buildings you would like London. weather is bad though always raining but doesn't rain too hard all the time. Youwill be able to move around despite the rain. There will be ques and lines for shopping unlike Pakistan where everyone just tries to get served fast. Health care is free except dental so that's one less thing to worry about.

Take walks and enjoy scenry and window shopping. Those at least are free.

where will you be moving from?

also what part of london will you be moving to?

Life is good here except the horrible cold winter.

london is expensive.

If I remember, you are moving to the western Greater London? Towards Heathrow? It would be useless to give you my experience of life in London because it will be completely different from if I was living there.

West London is fun though, what do you call it "ronak wali jagah". :D Lots of nice desi and Arab restaurants and shops.

Once it was home away home :sigh:

Stopit - I will be moving to West London near HARROW not Heathrow :blush:

What kind of a place is it, any idea? Any of you in the neighborhood?

Harrow is a nice place, I have family friends there.. it is quieter than central London and like posters have said much cleaner, no electricity or water problems.. There is a good scattering of Pakistani families and nice places to eat

Depends where you are coming from.. I think you will find Harrow quite boring as everyone will probably be keeping themselves to themselves

But as you're moving to be with your hubby, I am sure you will find lots of things to do in London...

London is too big for us to describe it one way, there are some dingier places in London and some which are peaceful and again it is all albout your own circumstances in regards to what type of house you live in

Harrow is not too far from Heathrow :)

Lots of desi's in the general area like Hareem said. Southall is quite close for all your desi shopping needs.

The general area is not somewhere I'd choose to live or raise my kids (don't like overly populated with desi's areas) but my cousins who live in Greenford (15 mins from Harrow) and had shifted back from Pak in their teens love it - probably coz the "ronak shonak" gave them an excuse not to study.

But my parents live 20mins away from where some of the rioting happened but in terms of the area - the people, the shops, the schools, it's like 100 miles away. So you'll only really find out when you move here! Or ask your husband.

Harrow is nice, I would say better than East London. There is a community of Pakistanis in Harrow but mostly its populated by Indian Gujaratis. Harrow on the Hill is a good shopping centre nearby and Harrow is well served by plenty of tube stations, which makes going to central London easy.

Personally speaking, London is fine as long as you have young kids. But I would recommend moving as further away from it as possible for better quality family life. :)

My inlaws live between Greenford and Southall...few family friends live in Harrow...I think they have nice houses in Harrow and place is cleaner than Greenford, Hounslow and Southall.

In West London, my preference for living would be Norwood Green, it has big beautiful bungalows, and in terms of schools North Acton has good schools and good mixed community (not too much desis and Polish).

I've lived in Harrow. It's erm, quite interesting. LOTS of asians, generally more Pakistani and Gujrati people. Hundreds of gujis actually! Which is a good thing as they are lovely, you will get aunty ji's in saris in Morrisons asking you to read the back of a packet to tortillas to see if they have egg in them...and she will ask you in gujrati! Fun times.

The high street is decent and Brent Cross isnt too far away. Wembly is quite near too and so is Southall. It's quite a good location actually and some of the schools in the borough are very decent, i've worked for a few of them and I have friends who still do.

Yes Milly, Harrow is rather special, I've only been there once for a hearing at the local county court. Personally I wouldn't touch anything past zone 3 with a barge pole, but that's just me.

Daffy D At least you will have the metropolitan line to get you into central London.

Not everyone can afford to live in Zone 1, 2, 3 or 4 for that matter. Given the choice I doubt many people would choose to either.

I personally prefer living outside of London but close enough to grace it with my presence when the need arises.

Most families would chose to live outside as those areas tend to be more quiet and family orientated. But if you're young and like the fast cosmopolitan life then inner London is IMO the place to be.

As I work in Central, I would hate to spend a good deal of my time commuting from an outer area. Been there, done that. Oh and we all know how amazing our beloved London transport system is. rolls eyes

When you get marrieds and have those 2.4 children you will be commuting from an outer area. Trust me.

If i'm not wrong you will find more ethnics in London than the actual English people, you're bound to see a desi walking whichever part of London you go. East London is a definately 'No Go' area too many desis and kalay.

Tower Hamlets?