Tell me about life in London ..

Re: Tell me about life in London ..

for renters, some of the cost difference can be balanced with cheaper transport costs.
for homeowners/buyers its a diff thing though. my parents are in zone 2/3 and the real estate has gone through the roof in the last 15-20 years.

I blame the Russians and Lakshmi Mittal :D

For a couple with one salary, buying a decent sized property in Zone 3 would be near enough impossible, forget zone 1 or 2. Renting is probably the only way. But even in Harrow and other suburbs the property prices are seriously inflated. A decent 3 bedroom would probably start at 300 000 pounds! Absolutely shocking!

To be specific its Hazelwood road, near Harrow i guess.

My husband works in Central London to which is why i think we cannot shift anywhere outside it for now. I am fine living in a place with desis or happenings around.

Love it

life in london is great - its why people leave their countries to live here. Harrow is a wonderful. Peaceful in your own home with life all around outside.

Can some one tell me about the zones? And the basic transport system that goes around?

^ Here is a guide to using the underground… http://studenttravel.about.com/od/traintravelintheuk/ss/london_tube.htm

Good shawarmas at Ranoush Juice on Edgeware. And don't forget to try the fresh 99 Flake in Hyde Park if you're in the area.

Man,those shawarmas are to dieeee for.So yummy..

I live in Harrow,and it's a lovely place.Twenty minutes,you're in baker street in one direction,and in the other,beautiful country side.Rickmansworth and Aylesbury aren't too far.
There is an Islamic society where we have loads of get togethers and a good way to meet people.
Schools are good,mosques close by.Harrow shopping centre is a bit naff,but Watford is excellent.

There is something new i can tell you about London "All items that were stolen during riots are available at half price these days" :D

Its busy, but then if your from Pakistan you may be used to the hustle and bustle, you need learn to take the bus on your own, maybe go on the tube. We have a map of the underground its fairly straight forward. Its always cold here, and its always raining, sometimes we have sunshine, for a few days or hours. Depending.

People here are generally nice, its best to avoid large groups of youngsters on the street. Its best to always have a big bag to carry a cardi in, or a umberalla. London is polluted always have tissues.

Everyone minds their own business here, unless you live in a desi population then expect everyone to know your business. No one stares here, I know alot people out in Pak stares, this doesn't happen here, well unless you are a pervert.

Hmm I can't think of anything else right now. You will find out when you get here - also prepare for the culture shock. It can take months to get used to. A recent aunty came from pakistan she said everything seems so small (the houses) and everything seems the same.

and most houses have only 1 bathroom/lavatory. :D

and if you're going to live with your inlaws, it is most likely they'll be able to your sounds very easily.

^lol!! true though.

If anything wembley/harrow..those sort of areas are cheap for desi sabzi's. London is fun! But im not from london :p it's also VERY polluted so expect to be all grimy when you get home from a day out!

True, but Pakistan is grimier. Also, if you like historical places you will like London, Its full of ancient buildings and history.

I am aware of the polluting, staring, bathroom bits already :D

So being a desi .. my pass times alone (while he is at work) can be at shopping malls, historical places, .. what else?

^Daffy, C. London is beautiful, you'll love it there.

Thank you people! It sounds exciting now.

I hope I can at least meet some of you when i am there, Insha Allah :)