^true. that's what I meant by "teachers too have a criteria to fulfil"
Yes, even an atheist teacher deserves a lot of respect, now respect doesn't mean that you have to agree with his belief.
I said on **all **levels. What's wrong with people's ability to read in this thread.
I do not have to agree with his belief's nor even respect them if they are down right offensive, which they often are. Not just towards religion but in general.
But, I would hope that a religious teacher, would gain respect on all levels, including their character.
Re: Teachers
^Acha ji...ghalati ho gai. :)
great comments ladies :) I'm happy we had a productive thread
YO!, this thread is not closed, I'd love to hear from people who have experienced studying in Pakistan.
Any interesting stories??
Jimmy Kimble, I know you're online!
And DM bhai???
You too PCG :)
Secular teachers don't deserve respect?
Some of the things I hear out of Hareem's mouth on here - surprises me.
Hareem, do you know the difference between atheist and secular?
And even if a teacher has a different religion than a student - it doesn't mean your kid has a right to go into their class and create problems. Nor is a teacher who is atheist who teaches some topic going to teach your kid not to believe in God. If they were hired to teach English, they will teach English, not atheism. Believe it or not.
YO!, this thread is not closed, I'd love to hear from people who have experienced studying in Pakistan.
And DM bhai???
I didn't study in Pakistan. I was a teacher in the States. I have plenty of stories. Not in the mood to really share though as my head hurts. Some of the kids were awesome, some were spoiled, and some had serious mental issues.
so many arguments, sur dard to hoga na yar! lol
I had middle schoolers. Their parents were the worst.
Seriously, mommies. If your kid is getting C's in their class, chances are its not that the teacher hates your kid. It's that you aren't looking over their hw, and they're turning in sheer crap.
I’m a part time tutor for my college and in a private learning institute.. so I am used to teaching students pretty much my own age… its really fun, we’re just like friends…
anyways, so as I was saying, I was quite used to teaching these 18/19 yr olds… When I went on my placement they made me volunteer once a week for 5 weeks to do the Junior Achievement Programme. I had to like go out to a local school for an hour, and do various activities with the “senior infants” (class system in ireland) ..
The first time I went to the class, I introduced myself etc.. and then I told them to start off by writing their names and today’s date on a blank paper… and they all shouted together… “but we don’ know how to write the date” :@:
I was like huhhh??? lol
And then I unsuccessfully tried to teach them how to write the date! cuteness!!!
PCG - I think Middle School is the hardest age to teach.
Regarding the characterization of "western" education, it's important to note that the style is very different in the US and UK. My husband (British) talks about standing when his teachers entered the room -- I can't EVER imagine my students doing that. But they are generally respectful (I've taught in an inner city public school and mostly in a suburban private school). Obviously it's easier as I have been around for a while and have developed enough of a reputation that they take me seriously. Still they joke around with me, and hubby is often surprised by how comfortable they are with me.
What I've seen with Pakistani education is that the focus is on knowing details and memorization. Teachers impart knowledge; students take it in. But I'm not sure how much "teaching" happens -- the emphasis just seems different, based on what I've heard from my family and friends. Here the emphasis seems to be more on skill development, rather than knowing specific details. To some that suggests a weakness in the American system, tho I don't see it that way.
Anyway it's obviously a complex issue, and how we define the relationships may not be that simple.
What kind of stories you want to listen?
Stories in which PT "sir" used to smack the wood cane on our @$$es ? but then may be because I was in armed forces school/college we got some extra chitroll. Sometimes on coming late, sometimes on long hair, sometimes on dirty shoes and sometime simply coz he got a glimpse of our longer than usual nails :)
And DM bhai???
lol that’s not new to me… Not the chitrol!
… the rules!
I was in primary school in Pakistan for 5 years and that school was founded by an army person so the rules were pretty much similar to what you mentioned…
Never liked any teacher, they were so full of themselves!
All you had to do to make them laugh was to say “Miss aaj ap buhat achi lag rahi hain”
The headmistress however, was quite nice and decent… she always wore a dupatta like benazir bhutto and was really soft spoken, really sweet and kind.
I really dont mind getting a smack here and a smack there but not too much.
There were some really nice teachers who I still meet whenever I go visit Pakistan (even from my primary school). They are just too nice to ignore.
Our Proff/dept chairman at university also gave us really hard time but, I am really grateful to him that he did. That actually made not only mine but life of many students in my batch (and many other batches).
hum sab ki teacher redvelvet kidhar hai??? I want to see what she says about this.
I didn't say this nor do I believe it, I hope you don't either.
But hadith always has context and I would guess that this the ones Huma is mostly related to teachers of religion.
Because really, should I be expected to respect my atheist religion hating PhD supervisor on ALL levels in the same way that I would respect my religious teacher? I should hope not.
Stoppit, I am Atheist and and I have been a teacher. What is wrong with showing respect to a human even if they are godless?
I love teachers. especially my grade 12 physics teacher... I was so hot for her... she was always so nicely put together... damn...
That's strange--I find teaching to be a very difficult job that not just any person can do. Everybody keeps telling me to go into teaching, but I wonder why they think its just so easy? I could never be a teacher--it takes a really strong and patient person to be one.
That is true. Teaching is a difficult job and should be taken seriously. Here in the States, you have to take all the extra classes- educational psychology, child development blah blah- along with those of your major if you want to teach. Teachers and schools are held accountable for the quality of instruction, which is judged by the performance of students in standardized tests. Unfortunately, strong teacher unions sometimes mean that quality of instruction is not as high as it could be but there is constant effort on part of the teachers nonetheless to make students understand the subject they are teaching.
In Pakland it is a different matter altogether. Just about anyone can teach without any kind of prior training. Teachers can scold, smack, work bare minimum, all with impunity. It is true that teaching there does not pay well but still that does not give you license to abuse your job; if you think you are too good to teach then don't! How can you motivate your student to study if you yourself lack enthusiasm? This laissez-faire attitude is primarily why we have such high dropout rates, intellectually impaired students, college graduates who can't string a couple of sentences in English etc etc.
Not all teachers are like that but many are. Of course, those teaching in the so-called "elite" schools are better. But, barring perhaps the crème de la crème, even in these private schools which charge a hefty amount of fees, few teachers are properly trained unlike just about every single one in the West. And then there is a whole tuition culture: teachers giving tuitions to many of the same students they teach in school-seriously how ethical is that?
Amongst the well-heed, there is an obsession with getting As for O/A Levels but many of these 'successful' students sadly lack basic study ethics, well rounded education and transferable skills that are vital for success in life.
No wonder the whole education system in Pakland is in disarray!
Stoppit, I am Atheist and and I have been a teacher. What is wrong with showing respect to a human even if they are godless?
Did you even read my post?
I was trying to point out that Hadith is referring to religious teachers when it wants you unequivocally respect a teacher because of the assumptions it places in regards to character etc. Or at the very least, assumes the teacher is muslim.
I'm trying to highlight to some people that you can't bring religion into everything. Respect your teachers and good people and because they are good teachers not because you think religion has told you to.
As for my personal opinion, I think you missed out the religion hating bit. I find it hard to respect someone on all levels when they take a very vocal Dawkin-esque stance towards religion, are bigoted and live a completely hedonistic life despite the fact of the people they hurt along away.
So yes, we have this "personal" relationship with our supervisor and unfortunately it's stretched to far that we know everything about his life and find it hard to take him seriously outside a work situation.
But he's also incredibly patient when it comes to teaching. Believes in people's abilities where other supervisors would cast them aside. And is incredibly generous. My respect is founded on this.
Some of our more religious pals on here would flatly refuse to work closely alongside such a person, regardless of the positives.
Hence my initial assertion that the original post was confused with mixed and conflicting ideas.