Taxi/Limo drivers

Re: Taxi/Limo drivers

i agree

two of my friends who live in brooklyn live a very luxurious life mashallah. they always have the latest accessories, ipods, cell phones, so much jewelry..its ridiculous. but one thing is for sure, their dad is not always around. i always wondered how cabbies made so much money also.

Shikra: thanks for the interesting insight on the lives of these cabbies

LOL!! i read that written behind a rikshaw in lahore a few years ago..it was hilarious

Wow - look at all the assumptions! :eek:

First hand expierence: it is a lucritive business and some people prefer having thier own hours and no boss to watch over them. You can alos get into the car leasing business with requires allot of capital but is pretty much sit and watch the money flow in. On average I’ve seen some of these drivers take home in the 6 digits in the end of the year.

As for the hours - come on all of us working 60-80 hour weeks now.
What career (not job) doesnt demand that much time?

As for the dangers mentioned.. I can’t say anything about cabs but the Blak cars are all customers of a hgher caliber - depending on your clientele its either clebs or bankers/finance people. And before they get into your car- you have all thier information.IE name and address where they work. So nothing is a 100% safe but its not that bad either.

We have been doing well in the business.

u dont drive??

:biggthumb well said buddy

In Minneapolis, most of the cab/taxi drivers are from Somalia, they don’t give ride to druncken people or gays

http://wcco.com/topstories/Blue.White.sexuality.2.353602.html

If you Drunk some cabbies don’t drive ( but real fact is you need a can when you are drunk)

she is in Saudi, they don’t allow women to drive,
because they know that most of the road accidents are happening because of women, they concentrate on their make up and always forget their steering :cb::rotfl:

there is s big difference from a income perspective of someone running a car lease business, versus owner operator of limo, versus owner operator of cab, versus someone who does not own the car and just works for a can company.

Wow, very informative replies here, special thanks to Shikra :)
I always thought it was a mediocre job until I met families of taxi drivers... another thing I wanted to ask is, do they at least get government aid (foodstamps)since they dont get any other type of benefits?... I know practically the whole orthodox jewish community gets EBT FS in New York which I think is really unfair, but thats a whole new thread... so the taxi drivers are really more deserving of it than they are, I hope they get some sort of help!

I don't know of anyone who does. Then again, those people who don't show their REAL income on their taxes may already be getting some sort of aid because all you have to do is show that you are not making a good amount.

What the hack am doing :slight_smile: i should start driving a Cab :hmmm:

300-400 .... only on fri/sat/sun nights... for cabbies..

but limo drivers which are in good companies they make average 300. Even if they work 5 days.. they ended up with 6000 cash. Not bad right.

But i believe life expectancy of cabies & limo drivers are preety low.

kuj yaad aa gaya... :D

*"mein pakistan mein parhoon ga, mehnat karoon ga doctor banoon ga .. phir ny jaoon ga aur taxi chaloon ga".... *

it depends on how honest they are. some times many people forget their money and stuff in their taxis, but ya tehy do make good money if they are driving taxiz, whereas limo is safe work, but its a contract kinda job so i think their pay is same every month.

Shikra itni sachi batain na likho warna kissi jalsay mai goli lag jaye gi tumhe

**You have no idea about it, I will talk about NY only. Cabbies make preety good money atleast 250 anyday if they work 12 hours.

Limo drivers can make 6 digit income if they have their own radio & car and in a good company which have clients like Goldman sachs or citi.

An average company radio price started from 10k+ and most companies prefer not less then 2 - 3 years old cars. So their is investment involve too. Lets says 15k for car and 15K for radio. One is investing 30k & 70 hours a week. Whats the big deal if they make 8000 a month?

Limo is contract type, but you make money on how much jobs you got. Sometime you have job like going to Connecticut, then come back to ny two three stops and you got 300+ from one job only in few hours.

Yes that happens. What dad does is if it's a wallet or a cell phone or a laptop that give some sort of contact information, he calls the passenger (or friends if it's a cell phone) and tries to reach the owner and give is back to them. Otherwise if it's something valuable (gifts, toys etc.), the taxi bureau has a lost and found dept. and he hands it over to them. If it's something not so valuable or if us brothers insist, he lets us have it :D The only thing that I remember keeping is that portable camping chair.

Baat tou sahi hai, such kahney ki saza milti hai aajkal :D

dah! how would i gonna know…i just asked some cabbie :bummer:

I am not a cabbie.. :snooty:**

but u were :mocking:

I were not .. too :halo:

:hoonh:

shikki bhai- thnx for the insight :slight_smile: