TATA unvails worlds cheapest car

Re: TATA unvails worlds cheapest car

^ Revo is another of those sad-looking micro cars, but at least it looks like a car. What I am talking about is the (in)famous Alif car here…

http://www.tmcpk.com/benefits_alif_car.asp

I am sure it will give stiff competition to Ford’s Model-T (only about 100 years later, of course). Sheesh!! I know we are behind in this field, but THIS behind. :expressionless:

^ ^ this is still way better than sitara... which was basically a air cooler on wheels...

i agree with indo.. this car is developed more to give protection from weather and safety to a scooter family. no way you can compare it with any other vehicle but an autorickshaw.
I just hope that they reduce the upper speed limit on this car.

Fasial : Come on, nano doesnt look that ugly. i infact find it cute.

Ali_R : delhi is polluted no doubt about that but it is getting better. it is climbing down the chart gradually every year.

TATA says that it will have less pollution than a motorcycle, and if they replace all the autorickshaws with this car then this will bring the pollution down.

Well Alif looks like modified version of Golf Carts, and yes it is uglier than Revo and Nano, I agree.

I don’t know about the pricing of Alif and Revo. I am told that Revo ranges around 3 lac.

Proof, thanks in advance. ndtv says something else. And I have to admit ndtv is the only Indian channel that makes some sense. Be It their documentaries or reports/news.

Its darn ugly, but well Its environmental friendly at least.

I just don't understand why Tata's had to put a car out for 1 lakh. Even though it initially made me a bit happy as an Indian that they were able to so engineer it, we don't need cars in India. Not for the general public.

We need cars...they create huge employment and wealth. Only thing is, they won't solve the commuting problem of a country with huge population. What is needed is mass transit. TATAs have so many companies under their name. THey should start one more company, something called 'TATA Mass Transit ' may be. They should invest in making metro rails for cities huge commuting problems.

Yes! :k:

Contradicting yourself on this matter? Can you see?

well with the introduction of Metro at least 40000 vehicles have been taken off the road, they made compulsory for any commercial vehicle to be either cng operated or battery operated, all the vehicles older than 15 years are out of city, factories are moved out of Delhi, most polluting vehicles are banned from the city, a lot of flyovers have been constructed in past few years to make intersections signal free..
i dont know what else they can do to minimize the pollution even further...

I said we need both and I see no contradiction. Both mass transit as well as cars. Both serve their own purpose and have advantages!...

Sir main pollution sources are industrial facilities not vehicles.
Maybe this is enough of a hint for now.

What is the purpose of having mass transit?

Delhi getting metro rail service doesn't mean people in delhi will stop buying cars!. Metro eases the traffic congestion. All i wanted to say was, that tatas should invest in developing such mode of transport as well!

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/16/opinion/16wed4.html?th&emc=th

Editorial

The Other Nano
Published: January 16, 2008

What do a ’73 Volkswagen Bug, a navigation system on a new Jaguar and a brand new Nano sedan have in common? Two things: they cost about $2,500 and involve the Indian entrepreneur Ratan Tata.

Skip to next paragraph
The Board Blog
Additional commentary, background information and other items by Times editorial writers.

Go to The Board » Mr. Tata is chairman of the Tata Group and currently the leading bidder to buy Jaguar from the Ford Motor Company. Last Thursday, he unveiled the world’s cheapest car — a cute five-door hatchback called Nano that’s powered by two cylinders in back, capable of running at 75 miles an hour and costing about $2,500. Mr. Tata hopes to sell a million Nanos a year in India and to expand to other developing countries. He claims the car meets European emission standards and gets a hybridlike 50 miles to the gallon.

Given the gas-guzzling behemoths that so many of us in the West feel entitled to, it would seem hypocritical to begrudge people in poor countries an affordable car. Much like the hypocrisy of the dealers who have resisted Tata’s bid for Jaguar on the grounds that Indian ownership would erode the brand’s prestige.

The sad fact is that the world has changed since Americans celebrated the egalitarian breakthrough of the Ford Model T. We know now that gas-driven automobiles do terrible damage to the environment, and the notion of loosing millions upon millions of new carbon emitters on our planet is not something to celebrate.

So while we admire Mr. Tata’s business and engineering acumen in creating the Nano, we ardently wish that he would focus his talents elsewhere: creating transportation that is both affordable and doesn’t emit ever more greenhouse gases. That would be something for the whole world to celebrate and buy.

Article on Detroit Car Show in USA Today.

DETROIT — The most talked-about car at the Detroit auto show is a car that isn't here, and isn't intended to ever be sold in U.S. showrooms.

It's the Tata Nano, a car that will cost just $2,500 and was unveiled last week at a car show in India. The bare-bones vehicle is meant not as an aspirational car but as a safer replacement for mopeds, which can even be seen carrying small families around neighborhoods in India.

Some say the Nano could be a revolutionary car that could change the developing world.

Even if it runs on just 7-inch wheels.

The Nano could repeat what automakers in the past — like Ford with its Model T and Volkswagen with the Beetle — did successfully: Build a car that the masses can afford to buy.

"Cars like that could be the new Volkswagen," says Ken DeWoskin, a consultant at PricewaterhouseCoop ers' Detroit office. "They could have a huge impact on the world."

The Nano came up in conversations all over the North American International Auto Show here, and there were even rumors that it was on display in a small showroom in the basement of Cobo Hall, the area where the Chinese automakers and specialty carmakers have their stands.

The big automakers are taking notice.

"They are going to create a whole new market," says John Parker, executive vice president for Asia Pacific and Africa for Ford Motor. "It's a different mindset, a different attitude. They're going to break through the paradigms."

Rick Wagoner, CEO of General Motors, says he's being careful not to dismiss the car simply because it is cheap and minimalist.

"In the developed world, we kind of miss the point," he says. "We think, 'How would that car do in a crash test?' But we miss the point that it's better than being in a crash in a two-wheeler."

As Tata Motors chief Ratan Tata explained in a press release last week: "I observed families riding on two-wheelers — the father driving the scooter, his young kid standing in front of him, his wife seated behind him holding a little baby. It led me to wonder whether one could conceive of a safe, affordable, all-weather form of transport for such a family."

Despite the show chatter, a car like the Nano likely won't be sold here any time soon. Stricter U.S. safety and emissions standards would drive up the price.

"I don't think in America there is an appetite for that kind of vehicle," Ford's Parker says. But in India, "If somebody's offering a vehicle that's a little more safe, even if it doesn't meet all of our first-world requirements, it could do well."

Nissan and its partner Renault say they have plans for a $3,000 car. They are the only full-line manufacturers now aiming for the bottom end of the market. The car would be for the booming Indian market first and eventually would be considered for the U.S. market, according to Carlos Tavares, executive vice president of Nissan Motor.

Even if they have to double the price to meet U.S. regulations, Carlos Ghosn, CEO of Nissan and Renault, said it would still be the cheapest new automobile on the market.

Small cars are becoming more and more popular in the USA, with an emphasis on fuel efficiency. With the Nano, it's all about price.

Would it sell here? Says Kevin Smith, editorial director for Edmunds.com: "When I hear myself say that it's something that wouldn't sell here, I say wait a minute. With $3 gasoline heading for $4-a-gallon gasoline, all of the sudden it's not as ridiculous as it seemed."

Acha!? Then quite stupid to get metro rail service. Coz people of Delhi didnt understand the actual purpose of such services (public transport services we call them in Europe).

^ ^ what he means is people who can afford a car will buy a car regardless. its not only necessity but also a status symbol.
but to go to old delhi or some where else now they will have an option to use metro which a lot of them prefer . thus easing the traffic congestion.
unlike public transport buses metro is clean, punctual and comfortable. rich people dont like to use public buses but they dont mind metro.

Isn't there already a train service for everyday use in Bombay? I thought there would be one like that in N. Delhi too? I've only been there once so I wouldn't know.