TATA unvails worlds cheapest car

Re: TATA unvails worlds cheapest car

well you have to realize that this car is cheaper than a rickshaw. this is not the best car technically, or luxury wise but you need to think about the package you are getting in just 1lac rupees. For 1 lac this is very very impressive. imagine this car on our streets replacing rickshaws. whole looks of the cities will change..

there are two more models of nano which have all the facilities you mentioned and more though…

^very nice! but what's the use if the lower income families can't afford it in terms of its maintenance costs even if it's supposed to be the world's cheapest car speaking just in terms of India.

well i am sure the maintenance of this car will not be more than having a cellphone per month...
if you can afford a phone then you can afford this car...
plus 1lac is not a big deal for middle class....
btw we are not talking about low middle class here... its for middle class who can afford a 1 lac car but cant afford 3 -5 lac car.

actuallly i was thinking about the used car rate of this car... a few year old nano (if it survives ) will be 20-40 thousands... then actually lower middle class can afford it too without digging deep in their pockets..

I don't think it will be so low as far as maintainance goes. It is going to be more expensive than maintaining a two wheeler!..simple reason being, a two wheeler will easily give more than 50km/l.

Car looks cute it resembles to Hyundai’s i 10, i pity on i10 customers kaha 1 lakh ke kar our kaha 4 lakh ki do no ek jaise dikhte hai( i am comparing the looks)

i10

**NANO

yesterday i visited Auto Expo '08 and took these shots

tum bacha logo ke liye choti si cheap car :snooty: but booking will start in July, hope soon this car will be in place of Delhi ke phatphat karne waale auto rickshawz :grumpy:

and here comes Suzuki’z **BIPLANE **and my **KIZASHI **darling :wub:

wow.. those are nice pics...
are you going there again? if you do can you take pics of DC pavilion .
thanks

we usually import them and paint them green.
There manuals still in chines.

yea but if a lower income family has a few kids, it’s more comfortable to be in a car where the whole family can go places together rather than on a scooter. Hope in a few years they can afford to buy the used nanos like kaka said:coolios:

why should car manufacturers be worrying about traffic conditions/roads? Its govt responsibility.

acchi pics hai…:smiley: from the rear it looks like TATA indica!:slight_smile:

Someone needs to copyright the "Nano" name. Can make a pot o'money. Plus will stop this absurd trend, where the cutest music player in the world is named the same as the butt ugliest car on the planet.

Oh well!

To each his own.

Good luck to Nano owners.

I hope all on Gupshup are rich enuf (considering you'all have computers and can spend zillion of hours online) to afford a better car.

Kisi ko bad-dua dainee ho tau kaho: "khuda karay tu saari umarr Nano chalaa-yay".

^ By the way, the above is in no way any demeaning commentary on India or Indian ingenuity. I am sure India has proven that they have great engineers and designers, otherwise. I am an equal opportunity critic of ugly looking cars any where in the world, including that rickshaw like crap car produced by a Pakistani company. What an embarassment. Just went on to prove that we are probably about 50-60 years behind in this field.

it's not advertised as the best looking car in the world, it's advertised as the **cheapest **or most affordable so for anybody that would be able to afford it in India or anywhere in the world, the price would be the most important aspect and not so much its looks.

Would it be sold in Pakistan too I wonder. Then maybe a family that wasn't exactly able to afford a car in Pakistan before would be thrilled to own one like this regardless of how it looks. Besides it's tiny and cute:@:.

I wish this never becomes reality. I have seen the smoke clouds over inner city of Lahore. That was enough for a thrill. We dont need more pollution promoters. Uppar se car pe car chari hoti hai.

Lahore is one of worst in terms of pollution.

As one nears the "shahdara" area one can clearly see a haze of black air.

^Unfortunately this is true...I hope some more money is spent on environmental friendly rick-shaws but then there are these south korean made busses...they double the amount of "dhuhan" all over! Its like having pure (without filtering) and burnt diesel as appetizer. And that every day!
But no comparison to New Delhi...one trip was enough to know the ndtv danger scale is more than reality.

I hope you are not talking about Revo :naraz: