Tasawwuf, can it be a recipe of peace.

The ideology of “Tasawwuf” is remarkably preeminent in developing a strong character stemming out of humility, non violence and peace. In his book Kashf-ul-Mahjoob, Hazrat Data Ganj Baksh (RA) says;

"Tasawwuf is refined character. This refined character may be attained in three ways:

Firstly, to obey the commandments of Allah Ta’ala and his Rasool (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) with utmost sincerity,

Secondly, to respect all those senior to us in age, knowledge and piety; love the young; observe justice at all times and not to expect any return for our good actions.

Thirdly, avoid all evil desires and satanic attractions.

By complying with the aforementioned regulations one attains piety."

How ideology of Tasawwuf coexists with the ideology of Jihad, can it be employed to achieve peace among various factions of Muslims particularly and world generally. Can this ideology be really employed without having a true “Murshid”.

Re: Tasawwuf, can it be a recipe of peace.

U will get all :chai:

Please explain "Jihad"?

If Shari'ah is the straight path ... then Tariqa is the way to walk on it.

Hareem sis, I believe in divine definition of Jihad and not a word different, not a pinch of self motivated interpretation, I was referring to Jihad-bin-Nafas in this thread.

Is that all , I expected a lot more from you. ( Ap nay tu Derya ko Kozey main band ker deya).

IP
you may want to study IQBAL too.
you will find the answer to you questions.

Agar Qur'an dillon pe nazil kiye ja sakta hai to derya kahan duniya ke saat samundar bhi kozey mein band kiye ja sakta hai

Anyway ... It is good to define something in holistic terms before talking about its function at length.

InshaAllah more is set to come

No, peace is elusive, it cannot be achieved, tasawuf, jihad, christianity, budhism, communism, all have tried and failed

Peace munda siyalkoti

I think you have caught hold of the wrong intent of the word 'peace' that brother IntelliPhant has mentioned.

Peace as a state two countries are in with each other is due to a multitude of factors to blame any of the things above for the failure of that peace is unfair until you can prove that there were no other factors that caused the lack of peace or for the peace to stop.

Anyhow, this thread is not about that sort of 'peace' it is about inner peace and the state of inner peace is often achieved.

^ Thats what you thought but if you read the first post thats not what thread starter meant.

One cannot have that kind of 'peace' among countries or the world.
However i do see the difference in these two kind of definitions of 'peace'.

Let me explain one thing.

The kind of peace you mentioned is sort of very much into calm and stable mood.

This can be good and also harmful in other ways.

OK. How?

While it can be good to keep someone from getting worrisome in general, it can lead to complete stagnant society if masses are to folow this Tassauf ideology.

There was time when Sufi did this and had a good impression oin people and even though it was never taught as a mean to sprea religion, it helped many hindus converting in India.

This was the time when people were really in to this and dedicated. No novel, newspaper or whatever was available to show its power and individually people were in to Tassawuf and attracted people. Now, after knowing its ability, many so called Pir and Durwesh are in this business and causing abolute harm to others. (Cannot go on detail for now)

In order to achieve the so called inner peace these fake people used Bhang, Ganja or all sort of drugs and did all sort of devil's work.

Even true inner peace can make people lazy and thoughtless or make them thinking of one thing all the time.

One find no reason to do anything in the world.

They become disgustedly slow and uneducated (even filthy with their own excreta) and yet people start 'worshiping' them.

One needs some lack of fullfilment to keep going on.

Meaning, searching for wordly things also.

Again the peace thread starter wanted to discuss is not what the inner peace is.

But in a way I think (IMHO) the question was if a country or its people becomes happy for whatever it has then there might not be ambition to snatch what others have.

This requires everyone to think on the same page. Its not possible and history of mankind does not support this.

Man is divided in to countries and religions and only hippies and sufies can think otherwise. Specially if they are high on drugs.

Peace:)

Point taken ... but my defintion still stands Tasuwwuf is a solution to our own inner peace. This world will always be afflicted with unrest because there will always be antisocial elements that will try to cause unrest. However, with Tasuwwuf we can be at peace with ourselves when it means putting ourselves in the path of Allah or in harms way to protect the innocent.

Indeed. Hope this can be achieved.

Sufism can lead to peace but how do you plan to convert 1.2 billion Muslims into Sufis ? And how many centuries will it take to achieve this target ?
Any ideas ?

The original post...it's very vague because 'following Allah' can mean a thousand different things. Evil and satanic can mean several things, as well.

Diwana, I think you've misunderstood the concept of inner peace.
I see inner peace as being completely grateful for everything you have and for what you are. That doesn't mean you don't strive for more, it just means that you appreciate what you have.

Most of us, including myself, are constantly stressed, and tend to focus on negative thoughts far too much. Being stressed is actually counter productive, and all the negativity only breeds more negativity in our life. It becomes a vicious cycle which can only be broken if we change our thinking into something positive.

I had not written the definition of “Tasawwuf” myself, I quoted that from Kashf-ul-Mahjoob, in my humble opinion; the only thing that can be vague is our understanding. Meanings of the words “following Allah” are crystal clear; any ambiguity is an invitation and inclination to cherry pick among the imperatives to be a Muslim

Thanks for agreeing with the core idea; indeed it is next to impossible to force even one human being to go against his desire, let alone 1.2 billion people. However struggle for a major cause is always humble in the beginning , a single drop of water from the sky may become a tear in an eye, but never a lake on a barren soil if not followed by billions more.

Peace is not elusive sir but an expensive commodity, it asks for a constant moral, spiritual and emotional investment. An effort fails only when fuel that runs the soul of the ideological effort gets scarce. I hope you understand my point.

Gratification is the measure of intrapersonal peace and is always reflected in interpersonal attitude; it is inconceivable to attain peace among communities, among societies and among nations when integrant are at lower level of gratification. Tasawwuf neutralizes greed, gives peace a chance to display itself in the attitude of an individual and among nations.

Believe me it is not crystal clear. Yes, there's one right interpretation of those words, but everyone has a different interpretation and every one of the ones I've seen are flawed. You are just another person saying that (or the author you took it from), so we can't just assume that your or his interpretation will be the right one. You'll have to explain it to us, or at least give us some links to explore this further.