:salam:
I’ve heard about Tariq Jamil from some people and all i know about him is that he is a scholar, hanafi from Pakistan..
His father wanted him to be an engineer but he studied and learnt Islam.
I’ve just listened to a bit of one of his lectures, he speaks in urdu..
some words are hard to understand but he speaks really well..
Does anyone know more about his life, what and where he’s studied?
You can find his lectures here.
People listen him a lot. Respect him alot. He is a good speaker.
Ive heard of him - I am told he lives in Faisalabad now.
I tried to search about him but couldnt get any info about his studies and works..
one of my all time favourite......... he is really amazing.
he belongs to a rich family of punjab, his father wanted him to be a doctor, but he left it and join madrassa in raiwand. he is now setteled in faisalabad. his brother is a heart surgon.
the convversion in pakistan superstars like cricketers n singers n actors is because of this person. if some one can catch up with saeed anwar and Junaid Jamshed, they can tell much better about maulana sahib.
recently i was fortunate enough to attened his three lectures out of many in islambad, man he is really different. he never speaks of sectairianism, or any thing like that.
Allah subhanaho wa'ta'la, maulana ki zindagi main barkat dain or un ko salamat rakhian.
he bayyanat r avaialbe near every tableeghi markaz in pakistan n those of u live out side can download from web.
Assalam o Alaikum
TAriq JAmeel sahib is one of my FAvourate speaker. he has the GOD gifted ability of Spell bounding his audience , may ALLAh give him more istiqamah fid deen . TAriq sahib as i know him is a very devoted person, hardly has time for his family....gives all / most of his time for deen ...has started a school/madressa in faisalabad and gives bayan in aaisha masjid faislabad in jumma if he is in town.....
I listened to his lectures in Chicago when he came there a few years ago. He is really good. His lectures are easily awailable on tapes. I heard that he was a medical student in King Edwards in lahore when someone invited him to go with tableegh-e-jamaat. And that changed his life. He left medical school and went to Raiwand, where the people were not ready to accept him for aalim course as his father did not want him to do that. Finally after a lot of struggle he was able to join the aalim course there. People say that he has photographic memory. HIs lectures are awesome. I would suggest that people who know urdu should listen to them.
TJ brothers usually have excellent speakers.
why do ppl insist on referring to themselves as Maulanas.
Maulana Fraudia,
Its a sign of respect that their followers give them. Alhamdollilah.
Kher andesh.
biradar e garami
so it means that the person calling himself maulana is not the idiot, but the people calling him maulana are the idiots.
Why is it then that the person uses the words "maulana" on his promotional brochures for his speeches etc.
I mean I can start calling some "maulana" an "ullu ka patha" but would he really use that as his "title" if he did not choose to do so.
The true meaning of MAULANA
No country uses “Maulana” title: The mullahs have adopted for themselves the honorific title of “Maulana” (which means OUR protector, OUR lord, OUR master) – which has the most serious un-Islamic connotation of placing another WITH the Almighty (SHIRK).
The word “maulana” is a compound word – MAULA and NA (our) which, under strict Islamic philosophy is applicable to God ALONE!
The word is used only twice in the Holy Quran, and refers to Allah Subhaanahoo Wa Ta’aala, indicating that it can be referred only to Him and NO ONE ELSE!
(1) “Rabana…anta MAULANA fansoorna alal qaumil Kaafireen – Our Lord…You are our Protector/ Lord/ Master, so grant us victory over the unbelievers” (2:286).
(2) “Huwa MAULANA; wa alal Laahi fal yatawakkalil Mu’minoon – He (Allah) is our Protector/ Lord/ Master, And on Allah let the Believers rely” (9:51).
i agree, i do not call any one maulana and disagree with any one who uses it in front of me....maulana is only for allah....
*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
Why is it then that the person uses the words "maulana" on his promotional brochures for his speeches etc.
Because most brochures are also printed by the followers, maybe? Remember that 2 mile long name of that buzurg who was speaking in Chicago for some mubarak night. I doubt he printed it himself. Though, ofcourse, its just nitpicking, the actual issue at hand is that most people don't know the literal meaning of "maulana" or just use it in a different (desi?) meaning.
Faisal
that "buzurg" or other assorted "maulanas" can make a statement asking their supporters to not refer to them as maulanas.
How about when they are introduced for speeches as Maulana fullana Dhamkana..just say thank you but please do not refer to me as Maulana.
They are okay with it and willing participants, and they refer to each other as Maulanas too.
In their hour long rants and raves against everything else ranging from Musharraf and the west to barney and frosted flakes, can they take 15 seconds and just tell ppl that its not okay to refer to them as Maulanas. They can, but they dont.
I ams ure if I started printing brochures that gave them a title of "uulu ka patha" they will be offended and god forbid if anyone ever introduces them as "ullu ka patha" they will speak up against it, why nto againstthis then.
Well, the point is you are using the literal and exact meaning of “maulana”. While they/their followers are probably using the desi meaning of the word to imply he is a parha likha banda (ah, the irony!
)
okay I will call these "maulanas" as ullu kay pathay now..not as the exact and literal meaning
Ofcourse, you can call them anything you want. I am sure, if they didn't like it, they'll let you know; phir daur apni apni
^ agreed
okay so coming back to the topic, is ulla ka patha tariq jamil a good speaker. Is he more informed than the other ullu kay pathay? his background seems to be different than other ullu kay pathay since they usuallu just gettheir sanads of munshi fazil etc.
^ it's not funny.
I agree. its not funny..people using titles that hey should not be using is lame. today its maulana, what is tomroow, rabbana?
using the word maulana by them is more wrong than me using the word ullu ka patha.