Tarawih questions

I don’t know if many of you have questions on Tarawih and its specifics, but I figured it would be good to open up a thread specifically for this.

I’ve noticed that in my masjid, before the 20 rakats of tarawih are done, people just get up and leave. Some after 4 rakats, some after 6, and so on and so forth. By the end, like 1/3 of the crowd is still left standing.

Is it permissable to just call it a day randomly during tarawih when you’re tired? Just get up and leave when you feel like you’ve done enough?

Re: Tarawih questions

The minimum no. of rakats is 8, after that you may leave whenever. Since tarawih is not compulsory, there is some discretion allowed. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Depending on the school of thought, number of rakahs in Taraaveeh are either 8 or 20.

According to Ahnaaf, it is 20.

To the best of my knowledge, taraweeh is nifl salah. Therefore, there is no fixed/set number for minimum number of rakahs.

Here’s a good article worth reading: How many units of prayer should be performed for the Tarâwîh prayer - eight or twenty?

^ so my understanding is if molvi leads upto 20 rakaats then uve got to offer all 20 and if he decides to read the same amount of verses in only 8 raakats then do 8. other wise you wont get the whole night praying sawab . correct me if i m wrong!

at my place these ARABIC people do only 8 teravis but where my friends lead teravis they do 20 and as i asked my mufti saab .. he said THE NUMBER OF RAKAATS DONT MATTER THEY BOTH ARE RITE

^ he is right, they both are right. Islam is not rigid nor too difficult to follow. Just pray how much you can do conveniently :k:

Yes, I think you’re right. However, I’m sure those who decide to pray less would hopefully get rewarded for the number of rakahs they offer, insha’Allah.

wanna share some info.

My cousin told me they prayed tarawee and hav done the khatam in one night :eek: . Interesting thing is hafiz recite 27 siparay in first tarawee and 3 siparay in second tarawee . Even hafiz did not mention to any body that he will do all khatam in 2 tarawee . Imagine hafiz standing whole night ufff , some ppl standing behind him left tarawee some take rest and again join the tarawee but hafiz sahib was still standing :mash: .

Cousin told me that after the tarawe i asked hafiz how is he feeling , hafiz said after first rakat he was not able to bend himself :slight_smile: . They finished tarawee just before sehri time ends .

I know about 3 night khatam but one night khatam was knew to me . Just curios any body did one night khattam ?

^ I think that's a bit exaggerated.

Doing khattam in one night is not a new thing but doing in first rakhat is unique but still its possible .

Taraaveeh is Sunnah Al mo’akeedah - salah that Rasoolulah:saw: perforemed regularly in every Ramadhan.

Not true, pray as much as you can 2, 4, 8, 20, 40 … there is no minimum no maximum, you may follow Prophet PBUH’s tradition or not, he didn’t tell us to do it as we are doing now … Allah swt does not want to make religion hard on you, its upto you how much sawab you want to gather for yourself for aakhira.

My knowledge tells me that there are two separate sunnahs of taraaveeh salah.

one is to do a khatam of Quran in Taraaveeh.

Second, to offer it during the whole month of Ramadhan.

Having finished Quran in 3,6 or whatever number of nights is considered fine but then not praying taraaveeh after that is leaving the second sunnah altogether. That's my understanding.

Wallah-O-Alam!

Side-tracking from the question of Taraweeh, Qiyaam-e-lail (Staying up all night) during the taaq nights (odd nights of last 10 days) is fairly common. Many places complete the entire Quran in three nights (27-29). Personally speaking, I prefer to listen to qira'at of an Arab speaking person, as they tend to transmit the meaning of the verse by changing the pitch of their voice. For example, where the ayat talks about kuffaar, the voice becomes angry, and where there is mention of paradise, the voice becomes soft. If one has a basic understanding of Arabic, listening to such a qira'at is an absolute pleasure. Contrast that to some of the huffaaz in Pakistan and elsewhere, the sole emphasis is to complete the Qur'an as quickly as possible, and the haafiz saheb goes on in a monotone and speaks with the speed of machine gun fire. I am sure there is same sawaab for the people standing behind the maulvi sahab, but the atmosphere and the experience is totally different.

I believe that Taraweeh prayer is not compulsory, but something that is highly rewarded. The reason is that in Sahih Muslim and Bukhari, there are narrations ascribed to the Holy Prophet (pbuh) that seem to suggest that he did not make them compulsory on his nation. For instance:

"'A'isha reported that the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) prayed one night in the mosque and people also prayed along with him. He then prayed on the following night and there were many persons. Then on the third or fourth night (many people) gathered there, but the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) did not come out to them (for leading the Tarawih prayer). When it was morning he said: I saw what you were doing, but I desisted to come to you (and lead the prayer) for I feared that this prayer might become obligatory for you. (He the narrator) said: It was the month of Ramadan." (Sahih Muslim, Book 4, Number 1666)

Nonetheless, this prayer does contain a lot of rewards. However, since it is not compulsory and considered supregoratory (nafl), one can perhaps offer as many as they easily can - whatever brings them closer to God.

Even Witr is not considered compulsory by ulama. so taraveeh definately is not compulsory or anything like that.
Shaykh Muhammad al-Saalih al-‘Uthaymeen (may Allaah have mercy on him) was asked:

I work in a store and I cannot pray Taraaweeh in the mosque because my work hours are from after Maghrib until almost the time of sahoor. Am I sinning because of this? How can I make up for this reward that I am missing out on?

He replied:

You are not sinning by missing taraaweeh because taraaweeh is Sunnah; if a person does it he will be rewarded for it but if he does not do it there is no sin on him.

Allaah knows your intention and that if it were not for the fact that you are occupied with something that you must do, which is earning a living from this job, then you would have prayed taraaweeh. The bounty of Allaah is immense and He will reward you according to your intention.

Fataawa Islamiyyah, 2/255.

Is it permissible to omit Witr prayer? What are the consequences of omitting it?.

Answer :

Praise be to Allaah.

Witr prayer is Sunnah mu’akkadah (a confirmed suunah) according to the majority of scholars, and some of the fuqaha’ regarded it as obligatory. 

The fact that it is not obligatory is indicated by the hadeeth narrated by al-Bukhaari (1891) and Muslim (11) from Talhah ibn ‘Ubayd-Allaah (may Allaah be pleased with him) who said: A man came to the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) and said: “O Messenger of Allaah, what prayers has Allaah enjoined on me?” He said: “The five prayers, unless you do anything voluntarily.” The version narrated by Muslim says: “Five prayers every day and night.” He said: “Do I have to do anything else?’ He said, “No, unless you do it voluntarily.” 

Al-Nawawi said: 

This indicates that Witr prayer is not obligatory. End quote. 

Al-Haafiz said in al-Fath: 

This indicates that no prayers during the day and night are obligatory apart from the five prayers; this is contrary to the view of those who say that Witr or the two Sunnah rak’ahs of Fajr are obligatory. End quote. 

However it is the most confirmed Sunnah and was enjoined by the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) in more than one hadeeth. 

Muslim (754) narrated from Abu Sa’eed (may Allaah be pleased with him) that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Perform Witr before morning comes.” 

Abu Dawood (1416) narrated that ‘Ali (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “O people of the Qur’aan, pray Witr, for Allaah is One and loves that which is odd-numbered.” Classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Saheeh Abi Dawood. 

Hence we should continue to offer Witr prayer regularly, whether travelling or not, as the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) used to do. Al-Bukhaari (1000) and Muslim (700) narrated that Ibn ‘Umar (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) was on a journey, atop his mount, whichever direction it was facing, gesturing the motions of the night prayer, except the obligatory prayer, and he prayed Witr atop his mount.” 

Ibn Qudaamah (may Allaah have mercy on him) said: Witr is not obligatory. This is the view of Maalik and al-Shaafa’i. Abu Haneefah said: it is obligatory. Then he said: Ahmad said: Whoever omits to pray Witr deliberately is a bad man, whose testimony should not be accepted. He wanted to emphasize that it is confirmed because of the ahaadeeth which say that it is enjoined and encouraged. End quote from al-Mughni, 1/827 

The scholars of the Standing Committee were asked: Is Witr prayer obligatory, and will the one who prays it on some days and not on others be punished for that? 

They replied: 

Witr prayer is Sunnah mu’akkadah (a confirmed Sunnah) which the believer should adhere to. Whoever prays it on some days and not on others will not be blamed for that, but he should be advised to pray Witr regularly. It is prescribed to pray two rak’ahs during the day instead if a person misses it, because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) used to do that, as it was narrated that ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) said: If sleep or sickness kept him from praying at night, the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) would pray twelve rak'ahs during the day. Narrated by Muslim in his Saheeh. The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) usually prayed eleven rak’ahs at night, saying the salaam after each two rak'ahs then praying one rak'ah on its own. But if sleep or sickness kept him from doing that, he would pray twelve rak’ahs during the day, as ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) stated. Based on this, if a person usually prays five rak’ahs at night but he sleeps or misses them for any other reason, it is prescribed for him to pray six rak’ahs during the day, saying salaam after each two rak’ahs. If his habit is to pray three rak’ahs, then he should pray four rak'ahs with two salaams, and if his habit is to pray seven rak’ahs, he should pray eight with the salaam after each two rak’ahs. End quote. 

Fataawa al-Lajnah al-Daa’imah, 7/172. 

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=36793&dgn=4

Interesting...

Does anyone know why we try to finish the quran during the month?

Is there any hadith on this?

My understanding is that taraweeh is a gift of Ramzaan, and is highly encouraged for all muslims to maximize their gains during this blessed month. However, it is neither fardh nor wajib. It is an extra prayer. You can call it either sunnah, mustahib, mandoob or nafl. Same thing. It is for extra sawaab and the Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon him) prayed it. He did not pray it regularly in jama'at so that people should not think of it as obligatory.

Very well said Faisal bhai, do u by any chance speak arabic?

I have another question. Tonite at some points, the Imam did two sajdas before the very end of the second rakat in a pair of rakats. I got terribly confused as to what was going on...