Talking to sons abt periods

when do u think its the right time and the right way to tell ur growing sons that if u r not praying with them at home or at the masjid why is it so and if u were got caught eating/drinking in ramadan then y u r not fasting or would u just keep telling them excuses of being sick n tired or lies that u already prayed etc.

Re: Talking to sons abt periods

Aww. Well depending on how old they are, u can just tell them that you are not well and its some female thingy and ur nt allowed to fast during that period.

I never saw my mother and sisters eating anything in front of me during fast timing. So, I came to know about period thing while in 12th grade.

My mum used to just tell my young brother she wasn't well..

The boys (+ my brother) in Masjid couldn't understand the fairness in girls not attending Masjid for 7-8 days every single month.

So aunty (the teacher) told them:
Bethee. . . Aaj (girls name) khi chutijaa hai.

So the meaning of "chutijaa" = It's a girly thing, and they are not going to pray, fast ect.
When he got older . . . he automatically got to know about it from biology classes.

Do most girls not go to mosque when they have their period? We would usually go anyway for lessons + talks and just sit at the side when the others prayed..

I think it's okay to say you're not well.

In the US most kids have had some sort of sex ed by age 10-12, so you could talk about it then, if you feel like it.

Well not where I went and even not here in general. Because everyone would go to Masjid to read the Quran for several hours. So what should the girls with periods do in meantime? There are less talking/lessons and more reading and praying here :)

In grade 12 when you were 18?? That's strange, because a 14 yrs old should know about it even reading from the Quran.

NEVER!

In Pakistani culture parents try to avoid telling kids about this thing. I never saw tampons or pads in home or disposed off in toilet... perhaps they used to hide them or throw out at once..... I only figured out the disgusting thing after getting married and asked my wife not to leave it in toilet next time.

Wow at that mentality!

I think with the education and info we get these days from tv, friends, school etc. by the time we reach high school we have some sort of idea. My brother when he was younger, used to ask why aren't us sisters not fasting or praying, my mom used to say they are not feeling well. As he grew up, he knew why weren't fasting.

Know about what? Menstruation is mentioned. Not the ruling about no fasting/ praying.

what I find disgusting is a man that makes his own wife ashamed of her body, and in her own home.

Not feeling ashamed... I can't bear slight smell of it and everyone would agree to that....

She was free to throw it out in disposal bin outside gate....

Mustanamalik.. didn't they teach you about this in your bio class in grade 8? I must have gone to a different school then!

I was in grade 8 in 1980's.....during Zia's time

I'm a bit offended here with your post. let me tell you why, the pain or cramps we go through because of this so called disgusting thing, the pain we go through while giving birth because of this disgusting thing, the hardship we face to keep up with our missing fast because of this disgusting thing sure makes you vomit and makes you more like a man but it's how we are made and I would never change it for a world. Smell or no smell!!**

hmmm i don't know but telling them mom is not praying/fasting coz she's sick means u can let go prayers whenever u r tired or lil bit sick. of course they can see u moving around and doing chores so they know u r not that much sick. i however did tell my older one "there are certain day's in a woman's life when she's not allowed to pray or fast by Allah" he said Ok and then next prayer he said" ab aap bhi namaz parh lo" :) he's 14 now.
may be a dad should do it :)

if they pester too much, tell them. they will be so horrified they will never bother you ever again with telling you to pray or fast etc... my kid bro learned the hard way and i think he is still scarred :D