I was wondering what people in general think of leaving messages on answering machine/voice mailbox. I had a friend in my college days who will never leave me message if my phone was busy or I was not near the phone. One day I complained to him and he said ‘yaar I don’t like talking to answering machine’. It was bit of a strange thing, I mean you are leaving message for me not for a robocob.
Another thing and most important that I wanted to ask (that might be contradicted to the first one) is my habbit is that if I am leaving a message for my friends and relatives I will always say Allah Hafiz. As we say in our live conversation. However when I leave a message for a service/vendor for my personal matters and asking a call back, or If I am leaving message for partners/customers at my work place asking for a call back, I always say ‘Thanks’ at the end and never say ‘bye’ as others do. I find it logical to say thanks when I have asked them to call me back.
i never ever leave messages on machines...they make me so paranoid coz i think i my voice sounds weird when i record a the message :( i once left a message and at the end sometimes u have the choice to listen to it and i replayed and didnt like it so i deleted it and left another one..when i heard that one i didnt like it either so i deleted and did it agen.....this went on about another 3 times lol :D now i jus dont leave messages ..its easier that way :)
I used to mess about with my pals and leave really long annoying messages talking about nothing..reading headlines, dicussing my thoughts about concerts and shyt.. that would never end, just for the hell of it.
I think ppl who dont leave msgs have hang ups and confidence issues. on the other hand, with caller id, if you dont really ahve any message to leave but, hey call me back...then I can tell just by looking at caller id that soemone called me and I need to call em back.
what i hate is ppl who would call the home number, then the cell numberm, the home numbr again... aray baba leave a message, i am either away, or bisy, or ignoring you..either way, you may be open to talk right now but I am not..quit stalking me. One person who calls me always does this..I should just block her.
My of friends used to leave message on everyones answering phone, coughing for 1 minute & 40 seconds & then saying, oye mujhay pehchana? main bole raha hoon.
I don't like to leave messages either....I would rather call back later and speak to the person.....sometimes I leave a short message asking the person to call me back. I hate leaving messages.
I hate leaving messages because they always go ignored :(
Either someone's always having a problem with their fone (biggest load of **** i've ever heard) or they didnt get it or something.
But once I got a really funny voicemail. It was some wierd shemale voice asking me to go out wit them and see Veer Zara and was playing the harmonica and singing "Sara I love yoU" and then he (or she) was coughing and had a hairball in their throat or something. I have a feeling I know who left me that message but he'll deny it forever :(
I used to leave messages on answering machines/voice mailboxes, but stopped doing it, because it's useless. In 90% of the cases the person calls you back and asks why I called. And that although I had explained that in my message, which the other person had not bothered to listen to.
^hehe thats me.. I never listen voice mail and rather call the person back to inquire about the phone call and if they dun pick it up, only then I listen the voice mail! I find voice mails very BORING!!!
Once I literally 'talked' to an answering machine. I called my Prof. in Germany from Pakistan and when the message started to play(in German ofcourse) I went ' Hello..Hello..' not understanding why this man wouldn't stop to listen to me! I realized I've been talking to a machine only when I heard the beep sound :-)
I have no problems leaving messages on the voicemail systems. Saves me time to call back again. Plus, even when I know looking at the caller-ID that someone called me, I generally don't call back people if they have not left a message, because I think if they had wanted me to call back, they would have left a message saying so.
The funniest incident I remember, where a friend had recently landed in the US and set up answering machine etc. He and I entered his new apartment and the light was blinking. Turned out that his father had called from Pakistan. The message roughly went like this..." oye Akbar....? Akbar.... kithay hai.. oye jawab kyon nahi daita...", then apparently the father turned to his wife and said "pata nahi jawab kyon nayee dainda piya.. phone tay hali chukiya si, awaaz vi ayee si... Oye Akbar!!! Akbar!!!....."