Talha's Top 50 All-Time Films

*32. South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut (1999) *

[thumb=H]spp18751_6562352.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Trey Parker
Genre: Comedy/Animated/Musical
Cast: Trey Parker, Matt Stone, Mary Kay Bergman, Issac Hayes
Box Office: $52 million in the U.S. alone
Random fact: The film contains 399 profane words (the d-word appears 133 times), 128 offensive gestures and 221 acts of violence. As of 2002, this movie holds the Guiness World Record for most profanity in an animated feature film.

*Cool quotes:- *

*Stan: I bet I get more candy than you.
Cartman: No way! I'm the candy-master!
Stan: No you're the ass-master, there's a difference.

The Mole: If anything goes wrong, make a sound like a dying giraffe.
Stan: What's a dying giraffe sound like?
The Mole: WUUUUUaahhh! WUUUaaaaaaahhhhh!

Kyle: WUUUUaaahh! WUUUaaaaahhhhh!
Soldier: Hey, you hear that? Sounds like a giraffe's dying over there!

Saddam Hussein: Let's start by building a big statue of me, right over there where that fat kid is standing.
Cartman: Hey, don't call me fat butt*er!
[rays shoot from malfunctioning V-chip and kill a demon from hell]
Stan: Do it Cartman! Do it!
Cartman: Damn! *
! Respect my *in' authoritayyy!
[shocks Saddam]
Saddam Hussein: You need to watch your mouth, brat.
Cartman: Dog-
* taco!
Saddam Hussein: Quick Satan! Do something!
Cartman: Try this on for size... Blood drenched frozen tampon popsicle!
Saddam Hussein: Hey, buddy! I know I was mean before. But don't worry - I can change!
Cartman: OK... not! F!ck, sh!t, cock, ass, titties, boner, bitch, muff, pussy, cunt, butthole, Barbra Streisand! *

My fav. animated movie of all time is this - the South Park movie! If you don't like the series, you won't like this - i am a huge SP fan and this movie was a brilliant addition to the craze - i found it absolutely hilarious and disgusting and it's actually very clever. Some of the songs aren't so good, but the songs that are really great cover that up!

** 31. Beetlejuice **

[thumb=H]51m18751_2259379.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Tim Burton
Genre: Fantasy/Comedy/Horror
Cast: Alec Baldwin, Geena Davis, Michael Keaton, Winona Ryder, Catherine O'Hara
Box Office: $73 mil in the U.S.
Random fact: The studio disliked the title "Beetlejuice" and wanted to call the film "House Ghosts". As a joke, Tim Burton suggested the name "Scared Sheetless" and was horrified when the studio actually considered using it.

*Adam: What are your qualifications?
Betelgeuse: Ah. Well... I attended Juilliard... I'm a graduate of the Harvard business school. I travel quite extensively. I lived through the Black Plague and had a pretty good time during that. I've seen the EXORCIST ABOUT A HUNDRED AND SIXTY-SEVEN TIMES, AND IT KEEPS GETTING FUNNIER EVERY SINGLE TIME I SEE IT... NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT YOU'RE TALKING TO A DEAD GUY... NOW WHAT DO YOU THINK?!? You think I'm qualified?

[In the waiting room of the afterlife]
Barbara: Adam, is this what happens when you die?
Receptionist: That is what happens when you die, that is what happens when he dies
[pointing to charred man, woman cut in half, etc]
Receptionist: and that is what happens when they die. It's all very personal. And I'll tell you something; if I knew then what I know now
[shows her slit wrists]
Receptionist: I wouldn't have had my little accident.

Delia: Open up this door you dead people, or I'll drag you out by the ropes you hanged yourselves with! *

Man - i love this movie! It's a dark comedy about a young couple who, after being killed, struggle to deal with the afterlife... and the new family who invade their home. Random effects, Michael Keaton as Beetleguise and Tim Burton's unique and amazing vision, make "Beetlejuice" surely one of the best films of the 1980's and one of the best dark comedies ever!

Re: Talha's Top 50 All-Time Films

ooo Se7en, quite an amazing movie, pity it's 33rd on your list. Tell me numbers don't mean squat here.

30. Red Dragon (2002)

[thumb=H]red18751_7496313.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Brett Ratner
Genre: Thriller/Mystery
Cast: Edward Norton, Anthony Hopkins, Harvey Kietel, Emily Watson
Box Office: Just under $200 million worldwide
Random fact: This is the prequel to The Silence of the Lambs, and is actually a remake of the 1986 Manhunter film.

*Will Graham: I thought you might enjoy the challenge. Find out if you're smarter than the person I'm looking for.
Hannibal Lecter: Then, by implication, you think you're smarter than I am, since it was you who caught me.
Will Graham: No, I know I'm not smarter than you.
Hannibal Lecter: Then how did you catch me?
Will Graham: You had... disadvantages.
Hannibal Lecter: What disadvantages?
Will Graham: You're insane.

Dr. Frederick Chilton: Tell me, when you saw Lecter's murders, their style, so to speak, were you able perhaps to reconstruct his fantasies? And, if so, did you jot down any impressions?
Will Graham: No.
Dr. Frederick Chilton: Let me be frank, Mr. Graham. The first definitive analysis of Lecter will be a publisher's wet dream. I'd give you full credit, of course
[Graham towards cell door]
Dr. Frederick Chilton: Dammit, man, you must have some advice! You caught him. What was your trick?
Will Graham: I let him kill me. *

This remake of the 1986 film 'Manhunter' - and prequel to both 1991's 'Silence of the Lambs' and 2001's 'Hannibal', 'Red Dragon' tells the story of FBI agent Will Graham's journey to discover who the killer of two families is - and he needs raving lunatic Hannibal Lecter to help him! This 2002 remake is lightyears better than 'Manhunter' and the big-name cast are all amazing in their roles. It has an intriguing story, great dialogue, plenty of twists and nearly matches the sheer excellence of 'Silence of the Lambs'.

29. The Accused (1988)

[thumb=H]accu18751_7496313.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Jonathan Kaplan
Genre: Drama/Thriller
Cast: Jodie Foster, Kellie McGillis
Box Office: $32 mil in the U.S.
Random fact: Jodie Foster won her first Best Actress oscar for this movie.

Sarah: You don't understand how I feel! I'm standing there with my pants down and my crotch hung out for the world to see and three guys are sticking it to me, a bunch of other guys are yelling and clapping and you're standing there telling me that that's the best you can do. Well, if that's the best you could do, then your best sucks! Now, I don't know what you got for selling me out, but I sure as *** hope it was worth it! *

The Accused is a story about a young girl, Sarah Tobias who is gangraped - she has trouble convincing judge and jury though, as she is kinda slutty and dresses provocatively and has a problem in that people just believe she was a willing party. It's quite a strong film with extraordinary performances from the two female leads.

*28. A League Of Their Own (1992) *

[thumb=H]movieposter18751_7496313.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Penny Marshall
Genre: Drama/Comedy
Cast: Tom Hanks, Geena Davis, Madonna, Rosie O'Donnell, Lori Petty
Box Office: $107 mil in the U.S.
Random fact: To lighten the mood on the set in between takes, Geena Davis suggested that the cast perform songs from "Jesus Christ Superstar". Tom Hanks was assigned the role of "Caiaphas".

*[Mae helps Shirley learn to read.]
Mae Mordabito: Sound it out...
Shirley Baker: Kimm...
Mae Mordabito: Kimono.
Shirley Baker: Kimono, kimono. Off. And. Gr-- Gra-- Grabb"d.
Mae Mordabito: Grabbed.
Shirley Baker: Her. M-- mi-- mil-- mil-- milky, milky. White, white. Milky white.
Evelyn Gardner: Mae! What are you giving her to read?
Mae Mordabito: Oh, what the difference does it make? She's reading, okay? That's the important thing. Now go away, go, shoo, shoo. Go ahead, Shirley, you're doing good.
Shirley Baker: Thanks, Mae. Milky white bre-- breasts!
[Gives Mae a surprised look]
Mae Mordabito: It gets really good after that. Look. The delivery boy walks in...

Kit Keller: You ever hear Dad introduce us to people? "This is our daughter Dottie, and this is our other daughter, Dottie's sister!"

[Evelyn starts to cry]

Jimmy Dugan: Are you crying? Are you crying? ARE YOU CRYING? There's no crying, there's no crying in baseball. Rogers Hornsby was my manager, and he called me a talking pile of pigSh*t. And that was when my parents drove all the way down from Michigan to see me play the game. And did I cry? NO. NO. And do you know why?
Evelyn Gardner: No, no, no.
Jimmy Dugan: Because there's no crying in baseball. *

one of my favourite actresses Geena Davis lands her best film at #28 with A League of Their Own - this is a true story about a group of women who start up a baseball team while "the men" are away at War. Their coach is a washed-up alcholic ex-pro baseballer (Tom Hanks) who can't believes he has to coach girls. It's a touching story and there's some seriously funny dialogue in here, particularly from Madonna and Tom Hanks.

27. Jerry Maguire (1996)

[thumb=H]jerrymaguire_releaseposter18751_7496313.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Cameron Crowe
Cast: Tom Cruise, Cuba Gooding Jr., Renée Zellweger, Jonathan Lipnicki, Bonnie Hunt

Box Office: $74 mil in U.S. rentals
Random fact: Cameron Crowe's mother appears among those attending the divorced women's group. She is the one who says, "I finally got in touch with my anger."
Cool quotes:-

*Jerry Maguire: I am out here for you. You don't know what it's like to be ME out here for YOU. It is an up-at-dawn, pride-swallowing siege that I will never fully tell you about, ok?

Jerry Maguire: I will not rest until I have you holding a Coke, wearing your own shoe, playing a Sega game featuring you, while singing your own song in a new commercial, starring you, broadcast during the Superbowl, in a game that you are winning, and I will not sleep until that happens. I'll give you fifteen minutes to call me back.

Rod Tidwell: Show me the money!

Jerry Maguire: I love you. You... complete me.
Dorothy: Shut up. Just shut up. You had me at "hello." *

Jerry Maguire (Tom Cruise) is a sports agent who, basically out of nowhere, discovers his sense of right and wrong, and because of which, ends up losing his job, fiancée and ultimately, the life he had worked so immorally to get...But when a lovely, loyal colleague (Renee Zellweger) decides to help him, and his one, solitary, client (Cuba Gooding Jr.) commits to him; they show Maguire that “loving well is the best revenge.” - it has drama, comedy, knowledge of life and morals, romance, appeals to all ages and football. I mean, realistically, what else would you like to see?

26. Unfaithful (2002)

[thumb=H]unfaithful18751_2669300.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Adrian Lyne

Cast: Richard Gere, Diane Lane, Olivier Martinez, Erik Per Sullivan, Myra Taylor

Box Office:
Random fact: The scene where Connie rides the subway home after her first sexual encounter with Paul, and silently remembers the encounter, was filmed in one continuous take. The camera simply stayed on Diane Lane as she went through a series of expressions, and then the scene was cut and edited together.

*Tracy: Having an affair is nothing like taking a pottery class.
Sally: Could be.
Tracy: No. It would start out like that, and then, um, something would happen. Someone, uh, finds out, or someone falls in love, and it ends disastrously. It always ends disastrously.

Paul: Your eyes are amazing do you know that? You should never shut them, not even at night.

Connie Sumner: Be happy for this moment, this moment is you life*

it is a cool, entertaining and thought-provoking masterpiece from the director of "Fatal Attraction". Diane Lane had to carry the movie - she played a character who's having an affair outside her marriage - It reveals a fact of tragic ending of adultery - i think despite the acting and the story, this movie definitely helps us look into our relationships with our loved ones, especially in marriage. Because affair does hurt everyone and each other's family. So THINK before you leap. If we can all learn from this movie, we'd be better off not getting into fatal attraction. It is dangerous game to play - usually, there is no turning back, or it is a painful one, like the "unfaithful" one. Until then, take care of yourself and your marriage.

Beetlejuice!? All your previous sins are forgiven, Talha. Kickass movie.

*25. Face/Off (1997) *

[thumb=H]faceoff18751_9021338.JPG[/thumb]

Director: John Woo
Genre: Action/Thriller
Cast: John Travolta, Nicholas Cage
Box Office: $230 million worldwide
Random fact: The studio wanted the director to take the slash out of the title, but he kept it in so people wouldn't think it was a hockey movie.

*Castor Troy: I don't know what I hate wearing worse. Your face or your body. I mean I certainly do enjoy boning your wife, but let's face it, we both like it better the other way yes? So why don't we trade back.
Sean Archer: You can't give back what you've taken from me.
Castor Troy: OK, then... plan B, why don't we just kill each other?

Caster Troy: If I were to send you flowers where would I... no, let me rephrase that. If I were to let you suck my tongue, would you be grateful? *

Face/Off is a brilliant action movie starring Nic Cage and John Travolta who 'swap' bodies with a new experimental surgery. John Woo is an excellent director and this is proven with this - Brilliant story, amazing acting and a solid, interesting conclusion.

24. Pulp Fiction (1994)

[thumb=H]f-pulp0118751_9021338.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Quentin Tarantino
Genre: Drama/crime
Cast: John Travolta, Samuel L. Jackson, Bruce Willis, Uma Thurman, Ving Rhames, Harvey Kietel
Box Office: $107 mil in the U.S.
Random fact: Quentin Tarantino wrote this screenplay with Harvey Kietel, Samuel L. Jackson, Tim Roth and Aamanda Plummer all in mind for their roles.

*Vincent: And you know what they call a... a... a Quarter Pounder with Cheese in Paris?
Jules: They don't call it a Quarter Pounder with cheese?
Vincent: No man, they got the metric system. They wouldn't know what the hell a Quarter Pounder is.
Jules: Then what do they call it?
Vincent: They call it a "Royale" with cheese.
Jules: A "Royale" with cheese! What do they call a Big Mac?
Vincent: A Big Mac's a Big Mac, but they call it "le Big-Mac".
Jules: "Le Big-Mac"! Ha ha ha ha! What do they call a Whopper?
Vincent: I dunno, I didn't go into Burger King.

Jules: You remember Antoine Roccamora, half black, half Samoan, used to call him Tony Rocky Horror?
Vincent: Yeah, maybe. Fat, right?
Jules: I wouldn't go so far as to call the brother fat, I mean he got a weight problem. What's the n****r gonna do? He's Samoan. *

I love this movie - and watch whenever it comes on Cable tv! Quentin Tarantino is a unique and exciting director and i really like the whole "not told in chronological order" type dea -- the amount of stars in here is rather big and each of 'em put in amazing performances - it's a brilliant action/thriller/romance/dark comedy film!

i swear, your top10 better be good!! Pulp Fiction No.24??

23. Goodfellas (1990)

[thumb=H]goodfellas18751_33333981.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Martin Scorsese

Genre: Crime/Gangster
Cast: Robert De Niro, Ray Liotta, Paul Sorvino, Joe Pesci, Lorraine Bracco
Box Office: Over 20 mil in rentals(U.S.)
Random fact: Martin Scorsese's mother plays Tommy's (Joe Pesci) mother. She ad-libbed the dinner scene. Scorsese's father plays the prisoner who puts too many onions in the tomato sauce.

*Tommy DeVito: How am I funny, like a clown? What is so funny about me? What the F is so funny about me? Tell me. Tell me what's funny.
Henry Hill: Get the F outta here, Tommy.
Tommy DeVito: Ha ha. I almost had you.

Jimmy Conway: What is the matter with you, huh? What is the f'ing matter with you? What are you, a f'ing sick maniac or something? Tommy, i'm kidding with you.
Tommy DeVito: Kidding? How am I meant to kno you're kidding? You're breaking my f'ing balls.
Jimmy Conway: I'm f'ing kidding with you, you f'ing shoot the guy?
Henry Hill: He's dead.
Jimmy Conway: You dumb ba$tard, I can't f'ing believe you. You're gonna dig the hole.
Tommy DeVito: Fine, I'll dig the f'ing hole. I don't give a F. *

Plain out best Gangster movie of all time - there are two halves to this movie. The first half is the opening of the world to Henry Hill (Ray Liotta), the world is his oyster. The second half is the claustrophobic closing in on his world by everyone. It is how director Martin Scorcese is able to get the audience to feel these emotions where the genius of Goodfellas comes from - Goodfellas shows both how wonderful it can be to be in the mob, but also the costs, the emotional strains on the families, and the ultimate price paid.

yeh pulp fiction has to be in top 10

22. Tigerland (2000)

[thumb=H]tiger18751_6911648.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Joel Schumacher
Genre: Drama
Cast: Colin Farrell, Clifton Collins Jr., Tom Guiry, Russell Richardson, Cole Hauser

Box Office: Over $ 139 mil
Random fact: "F" is used 276 times in this 98-minute film.

*[Opening dialouge of the film]

Paxton: My father said the army makes one man, but you never know which one. He never knew Roland Bozz.

Sergeant: Any questions?
Bozz: I got a question, Sergeant. If I'm dead, how come I can ask you a question?

[Reading girls' palms at a bar]
Bozz: Well it says here you got a long sex line.
Claudia: Where's it say that?
Bozz: I don't know, but it says you're gonna be havin' some sex real soon.
Cheri: Woah what about me?
Bozz: Oh Yeah. Some Sex for Cheri, too.

Captain Saunders: You are pissing your life away.
Roland Bozz: Well, I don't need the f'ing army and I don't need the f'ing war to tell me that, Sir! *

this is by far Colin Farrell best movie ever - in the film he sees himself going into the Vietnam war in his early 20s - great acting crew all around - It's realistic and it almost puts you in that time period - the bad camera work serves a purpose; it was to make the movie seem like a documentary, like someone actually was with Paxton and Bozz, taping the whole thing. Great movie!!

Re: Talha’s Top 50 All-Time Films

haan yeh bhi hai .. chalo keep going .. i’m reading every bit of it .. :smiley: .. and on your updates .. humm lets see ..

**#34 Training Day **.. absolutely love that movie .. Danzel’s acting .. big thumbs up ..

30 Red Dragon .. i felt that The Silence of the Lambs was better than Red Dragon .. :-S

27 Jerry Maguire … watched it like 20 times and I love love love love this movie.. the dialogues, Tom Cruise’s actinglove n the story of this film is so unique .. you … complete me

The Matrix is supposed to be number 1 or atleast in the top 10.

The list has climaxed too soon. Gems like Se7en, Pulp fiction, Good fellas, Matrix are already done with, and the list hasn't even reached it's top 20.

It will be interesting to see where talha places Godfather, Shawshank Redpemption, Schindler's list, LOTR and the likes.

*21. E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial (1982) *

[thumb=H]et18751_4250105.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Steven Spielberg
Genre: Family/Sci-Fi
Cast: Henry Thomas, Dee Wallace, Drew Barrymore, Robert MacNaughton
Box Office: $701 mil worldwide.
Random fact: Michael Jackson recorded the movie's theme song "Someone In The Dark" but it was never used. He later won a Grammy for his work on the soundtrack album.
[Mary hits E.T. with the refrigerator door]
Gertie: Here he is.
Mary: Who?
Gertie: The man from the moon. But I think you've killed him already.

Michael: Maybe he's some animal that wasn't supposed to live. Could be a monkey or an orangutan.
Elliot: A bald monkey?
Gertie: Is he a pig? He sure eats like one. *

Another favorite childhood movie of mine - Steven Spielberg's touching story about a lost 'n lonely alien visitor who gets stranded on Earth when his fellow E.T.'s take off without him - A little slow-paced at times, but it has heart. E.T. rules!

*20. Sister Act (1992) *

[thumb=H]sisteract18751_4250105.JPG[/thumb]

Director: Emile Ardolino
Genre: Comedy
Cast: Whoopi Goldberg, Maggie Smith, Harvey Kietel, Kathy Najimy
Box Office: $231 million worldwide
Random fact: The role of Dolores was originally written for Bette Midler.

*Sister Mary Clarence: Lord, we want to thank you for the gifts that we're about to receive. And uh...ye Lord, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of no food, I shall fear no hunger. We want you to give us our day of daily bread. And to the republic for which it stands...by the powers vested in me, I pronounce us ready to eat. Amen.

Reverend Mother: Absolutely not! I couldn't possibly! That is not someone you can hide, that its a conspicuous person - designed to stick out! *

Whoopi Goldberg is one of my very favorite actresses and this has to be one of her most memorable roles - as a Las Vegas singer-turned-Nun-in-hiding. Despite her sinful ways, the loud woman manages to transform the convent choir into a crowd-pulling in-tune musical masterpiece. Whoopi is flawless, and Maggie Smith, Kathy Najimy and Wendy Makkena are brilliant in their nun roles too. It's a comedy classic, really!