Taleban apologists...

This is the most famous terminology of the “liberals”, any terror attack happens in the country the scape goat are always the taleban apologists. Easy way to bail the government out and shift the responsibility to others.

I agree to this extent that no justification should be given for terror attacks. Terrorism is terrorism, case closed!

Now lets come back to this terminology, the liberals think that by blaming the apologists for terrorism they have done their duty. But the terrorism is still there and increasing with each passing day.

Who is responsible for the current situation in the country ( the military/government or the apologists)?

Ok for a second lets believe that due to the apologists the government does not get the full support of the people to launch operations in FATA. But during the past 8 years, numerous operations have been carried our in Swat, Dir, Bajaur, Mohmand, Khyber, Orakzai, SWA etc. Were the apologists consulted before the launch of those operations? If not then who is stopping them now? Remember the operations in Khyber are still continuing.

We are in a state of war for the past eight years. Please do help me get some understanding of Pakistans counter terrorism policy? Have we established some centralised intelligence gathering mechanism? Have we changed our evidence laws? How many high profile militants have been caught and punished? After every terror strike Ehsan Ullah Ehsan calls journalists to accept responsibility, why can’t the intelligence agencies locate and nab him?

If the purpose of war on terror was to disperse the terrorists from one place to another then the government has succeeded. But don’t blame the apologists for this, as the problem lies else where.

Re: Taleban apologists...

I have to agree but then cinsidering the same faces from the nineties, why would one expect anything concrete instead of dramay bazi? seriously, i am taken back to 96 when rhe ideal way to show pakistan was "progressing" wad sone minister showing up and lighting a bulb in a village and this was hailed as a great progress in electrifying pakistan in the nightly news. i only support the democratic process because i hope that people wull vote bettet next time

We have no counter-terrorism strategy. The military is waiting for 2014 and praying for the TTP to join sides with the Pakistani military again.

Go to the source: the madressah curriculum and Friday sermons.
These two are necessary if terrorism really has to be controlled. Just blowing up terrorist camps and killing terrorists is going to mitigate the problem for a while. But soon new breed of terrorists will appear from those sources, and the problem will repeat.

But all this is impossible to happen in current condition, if all present and aspiring leaders in the country won't raise this issue out of fear that they will lose their vote-bank. Obviously, hese leaders and the majority of people themselves would rather sacrifice their future than to raise any voice against these breeding grounds of terrorism.

And before someone says ... I KNOW that all madrassahs don't preach extremism or terrorism. But no one argue that there are MANY, which does preach terrorism and EVEN MORE which preach extremism.

Your every thread starts only to support the dirty politics of Taliban Khan .

^ my dear friend please give your input to the the thread, by name calling we won't go any where.

Similarly by putting all the terrorism in the plate of 'taleban apologists' doesn't relieve the government of their responsibilities.

The govt is inept and incompetent. Look at Bilour's murder, did the PM or president go to attend the funeral of their senior mintister. No, because these cowards cannot be bothered to come out of their hiding. It was the same when Salman Taseer was killed. So you cant expect any kind of meaningful action from these nincompoops. are the apologists to be blamed. Not entirely, if the govt and military did their bit we wont have the apologists running around trying to justify TTP's actions. The point against the apologists is that they try to justify the murder and mayhem of innocent people by misleading people into believing the it was not TTP but other forces. Maybe right to an extent but when that chief pig Ehsan of TTP claims that they did it than why do these apologists run around like crazy trying to justify the murder of innocents at the hands of these barbaric dogs.

^ i won't support any justification of terrorism, but the fact remains the world class intelligence service ISI can't find out where Ehsan is? The second thing that bugs me is that the People of tribal areas have suffered the most in this war, how many visits our high ranking government officials have made there?

Conspiracy theories thrive in those environments where the governments don't have a clear cut stance themselves. I am sorry to say but the 'marketing' of this war has been pathetic, with the result even after losing more than 40000 people we are still discussing if its our war or not.

How much effort has the government made to apprise the people of the situation? FATA is a no go area for media and journalists, no one really knows whats happening there and what's the condition of the people living there. If the real situation is brought in front of the people, I am sure even the apologists will back off.

An apologist is simply someone who has yet to take up arms to support the Taliban. They are just as much the problem as the TTP themselves because even if they do not participate in an armed insurrection they do believe and propagate a similar view point of Islam. Fear not the man with the gun, fear the man that believes in what the gun stands for. If you wish to see an end for the TTP it has to start with the classroom and in the home. People have to realize there is no justification for suicide bombings, no justification for killing anybody because they don't agree with your view.

I detest the Taliban, but I am thankful to them for unmasking the ISI and its professionalism. They are as useless and corrupt as any other staff of a government department.

Re: Taleban apologists…

Since we were talking of apologists, what do you make of statements of the interior minister himself (invisible hands, third country)?

Foreign elements spreading terror in Pakistan: Malik | Pakistan | DAWN.COM

The interior minister blamed foreign hands for spreading terrorism in Pakistan and accused some “black sheep” within the country of helping them.

He also stated that Ehsanullah Ehsan is working for foreign elements and promoting an anti-state agenda.

Malik said that these findings would soon be shared with the media as well.

Good topic Ali. It has been an unfortunate trend that every time a sad incident like this happens, fingers go towards so called Taliban apologists. To me, it is more of a lack of cohesive plan and strategy from government rather than Taliban apologists.

ANP lost a brave leader. Extremely tragic fact. But point is that things should not have come to this. Making tall claims like 'qaun muttahid hai, seesa palai hui deewar bun jayen ge' wont do anything. Whole nation IS united and majority is behind army. But where is the plan?

Counter-terrorism strategy is required. There were three projects that were launched but shelved. They were called safe city projects and were launched in Islamabad, Peshawar and Lahore. You know why they were shelved? yes corruption. Yahan bhi ministers khanay se baaz nahi aaye and a project that could have helped in reducing terror incidents was shelved.

This government is lost and has no direction. Army will keep fighting but sadly without any end. A change of strategy is required and the likes of Rehman Malik are incapable of delivering.

But yes, lets blame everything on taliban apologists. They are easy targets.

when you say taliban applogists, whom exactly are you referring to? Imran? Hamid Gul types? Diesel dude? any particular outfit? please give specifics cos its a very vague term.

^ all of them. But no one cares about JI or Hameed Gul. Main target IS Imran khan and PTI as Taliban apologists. :)

Please do help me get some understanding of Pakistans counter terrorism policy? counter? No. Why would they have a policy against their own strategy! Let's not be naive about the govt. The military establishment is THE government. Nothing happens without their permission or against their advanatage. It is an army thaat has a country

Have we established some centralised intelligence gathering mechanism? yes. It is called ISI. The establishment will tolerate almost anything else except discrediting or speaking against ISI....

Have we changed our evidence laws? No. Changing that will be counted as a slap on the so called religious groups who are a critical channel for recruitment!

How many high profile militants have been caught and punished? It does not matter. Because the establishment is the true leadership and they are limited only by the number of generals that can be promoted to that rank

After every terror strike Ehsan Ullah Ehsan calls journalists to accept responsibility, why can't the intelligence agencies locate and nab him? Exactly! Doesn't this prove all of the above?

Considering that PTI are the only "taliban applogist" , how exactly is it the fault of PTI when some terror attack happens in Pakistan. How can you deflect the blame on Imran and his party. Who buys this stuff?

What about all the terror that MQM is waging in Karachi. Who are their apologists?

Military has failed miserably. The ISI has been drubbed in its own domain of exerptise — that is Fata and Afghanistan — to the extent that they lost their top experst like Colonel Imam and Khalid Khawaja to the TTP. And to rub more salt to the injuries, they attacked GHQ and so many other military and civilian targets in the country at their will.

The establishment is waiting for the US/Nato to leave the country so that it could request the Taliban to shift their operational activities inside Afghanistan and claim victory in front of their citizens to save their faces. Disgusting!

The "law enforcing agencies" are to be blamed first. No doubt about it.

Blaming all others is just finding excuse.

No "madarsas or any mullah" do anything if the agencies do their role in finding criminals and treat them accordingly.

Same is with Karachi lawlessness. Police/administration has not done ANYTHING CONCRETE to thwart civilian casualties. No will or efforts to do so.

It is time to see the result and not just rhetoric.

Well many of the apologists exist within the establishment.

And yes the did launch all those operations, but it all seems like topi drama in order to pull the wool over everyones eyes. Because the obvious fact is that they refuse to attack the main source of the problem, which is N Waziristan. You cant cure cancer if you dont remove the tumor, and Pakistans power centers dont want to remove the cancer, they simply want to treat the symptoms (which they arent doing very well).

The Army wants a consensus. They want people to support it 100 percent. But these apologists will divert public attention and produce doubts in peoples minds. The apologists work as enablers, they allow the terrorists to function unmolested by creating complacency in the minds of of the public.

Pakistanis are sort of in an abusive relationship. An abuser will continue to abuse so long as the abused is willing to put up with them, and is often the case, makes excuses for the abuser thus enabling them.

this is what I fail to understand that everytime this guy calls to claim responsibility and in this age and time they cant find out about his location?