Taking it slow

After meeting a rights once for a period of a day, if the guy says he likes you, liked spending time with you and will proceed and talk to his parents but then also warns you to not develop expectations and wants to take it slow…

Wth is he on about?

Re: Taking it slow

he wants to date a little longer than normal/usual.

He wants a sammich.

I wouldn't think much of a guy if he said this to me..

Stay away from such jerks.

I would disagree with everyone up there. The guy is actually acting sensible. He is going to bring up to his parents, because he likes you. Now parents may have a little say in this decision, so all he is asking you not to get too emotionally attached, because if things did not go forward, then he would not want you to get hurt emotionally.

He's being cautious, either because of parents or he's scared himself.

I say the second part because I am personally super cautious. Wouldn't say those exact words, but wouldn't want the person to fall head over heals when I know I am taking it slow.

In my experience, when the guy is "cautious", it doesn't work out. I am even more careful and then I get tired. Hopefully the situation here isn't the same.

What TLK said.

It means his initial assessment is positive but there still are a lot of other factors to consider, including parents' approval being an imp step. So just wait and see how things unfold.

what @TLK and @madz124 said..he may have said that either out of caution... or he is just trying to 'protect' you from getting hurt...if its the latter, could be a problem coz you don't come across to me as a demur, 'need-to-be-sheltered' kinda girl.

Sometimes there is no need to think about "Every move HE makes, every breath HE takes"

may be his parents approval is important for him (does that makes him mama's boy?) but at the same time he does not want to hurt you so he just warned you or may be he did not mean anything in hindsight and he just said it

if that's the case [parents' approval - a must], he should opt for arranged marriage rather than love/arrange marriage. talking to a girl about the possibility of marriage in itself creates hope and emotional attachment and in the event the marriage is not a possibility then the girl will be devastated and feel rejected/dejected to begin with.

OK I might have used strong word (i.e. permission). Think of it as "bringing them on same page". Take a lose 'razamandi' . Its not either arrange marriage or keep parents in dark. Generally its somewhere in b/w.

Life (and its issues) are not not black n white, its all gray out there.

It's still an arrange marriage. In this case, it's the immediate stake holders who are part of pre arrangement, instead of the parents.

i think, as a man, if you choose someone then you should be able to bring your parents on-board. it may take a little while but i'm sure parents love their children and they will come around sooner or later [yes, even after you get married against their wishes...it's your God-given right to marry whosoever you desire (within Islamic restraints)].

oh bhai, zara break per paoon rakhoo

May be he is in the "process of choosing" and his parents input is important for him to complete the process. Its not the matter of Be a man, do the right thing. Taking your parents input and making decision on basis of that does not mean giving up the right or as a matter of fact taking anyone's input (input that you think is valuable) does not mean you are giving up your right.

It means he’s being smart…and I’d rather have him be smart than foolishly promise me the sun, moon and stars and then not deliver.

Love happening after one meeting? lol ohkk-eff-gee-aitch!
We are very bollywood-ish! Aren't we!

What is this - Ek duje ke liye part two?

Toba Toba.. This rule doesnt apply on life1 threads :nono:

bhai mere, agar maaN baap kaa itnaa hii Khayaal thaa/hai to phir yeh nai.n maTakka kiuN? pahle maaN baap kii ijaazat le kar tab laRkii se nainaaN do-chaar kiyaa kareN na…is meN kaun sii mushkil hai?

what if his parents disagreed? would he say, “oh well, my parent say ‘NO’ so i can’t marry you even though i ‘LIKE’ you!”

what a baby-ish statement to statement to end a a ‘relationship’! :snooty:

OP has always been complaining on GS that moms/dads ruin/kill any possibility of a good rishtaa. usko bhii to madd-e-nazar rakkheN na, Huzoor-e-waalaa! :slight_smile:

yeh kia hai?

laRkii ke Haq meN bolo to mushkil aur agar na bolo to bhii mushkil…

sanu kii? :smiley:

ammi abbu ke liye part-III? :wink: