Tahirul Qadri resigns in protest against Musharraf

The last of the “ehtesab” politicians who supported Musharraf after the coup..realises the truth.

LAHORE: Dr Tahirul Qadri, the Pakistan Awami Tehrik (PAT) chairman, has said that he will fax his resignation from the National Assembly to the speaker in the next 48 hours, sources close to Mr Qadri told Daily Times on Saturday.

Mr Qazi removed his personal belongings from his room at Parliament Lodges in Islamabad on Saturday.

Dr Qadri suffers from a spinal cord problem and used special apparatus to sit on his seat in the NA. He also removed the apparatus from the chair.

Sources said that Dr Qadri had drafted a resignation letter and would fax it to the NA Speaker, Chaudhry Amir Hussain, most probably on Monday.

Dr Qadri told Daily Times on the phone from Islamabad that although his colleagues from the treasury and the opposition were asking him not to resign “I will not withdraw and the decision is final”.

He said that some opposition members had torn up his resignation in the house as a gesture of goodwill but he had told them that he would send it directly to the speaker’s chamber.

** About his opposition to President Pervez Musharraf’s rule, Dr Qadri said, “When Musharraf took over we supported his seven-point agenda, but the president failed to carry out across-the-board accountability and transfer power to the elected representatives after elections.

“Gen Musharraf is controlling everything while parliament is a rubber stamp. I don’t feel that I should sit in such a powerless parliament which can be suspended with a single stroke of a general’s pen,” Mr Qadri said.
He said that he had consulted the PAT’s executive council before he resigned.
Daily Times

What takes these people so long to realise the obvious truth?

hope for improvement than they give it up

hah! laughing stock is all what i'd call thes people...they should all be charged for treason and hanged.
i just cant believe them, their philosophies in opposing Musharraf. can they even imagine what'd happen if he sheds the uniform or leaves...i guess not! that would be too much strain on their minds!
idiots.
i hope qazi and fazal follow in his footsteps too.

*Originally posted by Haris Zuberi: *
hah! laughing stock is all what i'd call thes people...they should all be charged for treason and hanged.
i just cant believe them, their philosophies in opposing Musharraf. can they even imagine what'd happen if he sheds the uniform or leaves...i guess not! that would be too much strain on their minds!
idiots.
i hope qazi and fazal follow in his footsteps too.

if you hand tahir ul qadri for treason, then same fate is deserved by musharraf....

good riddance.. what took him that long?? maybe he saw some axe and opted to go out with whatever dignity one can associate with him.. which is little.

I will say hats off to Tahir Qadri. Why? because this is a rare phenomenon in Pakistan where we see someone resiging on principle. Bravo!

Having said that, I would still say that as much as we like Musharraf and that as much as the progresive elements (pro-democracy and liberal) welcomed Musharraf when he took the reins of power in his hands; I do not think we would like to be seen as a nation that cannot govern itself without an army men ruling us. He still has almost three more months to go and I hope that better sense prevails between this time and 30th December.
Our personal preferences for the likes of Musharaf aside, I think he would have done himself a great service had he given up one of his posts. He has done a lot for the nation and I for one would not like to see him meeting the same fate as his predeccessors.

*Originally posted by Minerva: *
..... I do not think we would like to be seen as a nation that cannot govern itself without an army men ruling us. ....

I hope one day our politikos are mature enough to rule Pakistan.

However the world would much rather see army in the driving seat instead of turning Pak (I hope not) into an Afghani Somalia.

Politicians everywhere will be politicians. Obviously Mr. Qadri wanted to get more power for himself and supported Musharraf when he went after the major political parties and their leaders. But now realizing that power for himself is not at hand, he denounces Musharraf. They would like to put a positive spin in all their actions, but politics is a personal power game.

ThandyMazaq,
hard as i try i dont see any similarities between tahirulqadri and gen Mush...
and its not just tahirulqadri, all of them darned regime opposers.

Surya,
youre right. its just a game they all are playing and their patience evaporates when they lose all home of attaining the power they have so long dreamt of. im sure all the PMLN, PPP, ARD, and above all MMA typical faces along with PTI and Imran Khan are going through similar phases, their patience is being tested and when the object of their desire seems to jump to a distance they start whining and now quitting. they all want one thing, power, had they 'really really' been sincere to Pakistan, its image, democracy or constitution, they either would have rfused to accept the LFO and contest the elections and occupy the NA seats and if not that they surely would have realized how gravely imp MUSH's role at the moment is. they all know it. every one does, its a matter of common sense, only they refuse to endorse it; for personal gains. they are acting like crabs in a fisherman's basket. wont try getting out of it and would pull back in anyone else trying to.

Minerva,
i agree tahirulqdri indeed has been brave in doing what he did. but he should know that if Mush accepts the demands all these opposition ppl are putting forward what will happen; total chaos locally and internationally. so why do they want that in the first place? can they govern pakistan better than Mush or Shokat Aziz, can they provide more education, more houses, more food? acn they provide more security from local or international threat right now? hell no. and they know that. why dont they then help the government out with whatever effort it is pulling. thats what any patriotic worker would do i guess. anyone hungry for the chair would contiunue to bark evenif the entire nation is on fire. watching the processions of the NA its clear that all MNAs do no work whatsoever. all they do is try their best to pull the ruling members and ministers legs all the time. its been so long since elections and the parliament hasnt done anythng constructive atleast from the non ruling side.
i agree with you that with all this military ruling scenario the country's image suffers, but in the end i believe it has always happened due to the civilian rulers' wrongs...they left the loops for the soldiers to occupy...and

i agree with antiobl,
that our politicians have yet to learn what their job as politicians is...to work for Pakistan and not the chair or appointment...until such time it would be jumping back into fire of the benazir, nawaz times if Mush hands over to these 'civil' (ironically not so 'civil') characters.

and, one idea that came to me from reading your post Minerva, was that realizing what civil rule means to the world and how high they regard it,
Gen Mush can have an option to step down as president and still be COAS and become chairman of the NSC. that would make him still hold enough power. what do you think?

^ this is one of the basic issues, reliance on one person or group to run the country... this whole concept/approach is flawed ... short term corrective action/intervention was needed, no doubt about that... but the fear of the masses that if the general steps down Pakistan will come crumbling down is just plain wrong... I am not saying that the fears are baseless all I am saying we as a nation once again failed to ensure in this "transition" period that rule should come from civilians and not military.. military is an institution not a ruling party..

May be that is why they are called “opposition” :ahaa:

or are you implying that all the “opposers” should be hanged ?

king musharraf's supporters cant stand "opposition" too bad, thats why they have been killing the people in wana and now they want army operation in the assembly.

any how, musharraf acted against the govt by rebelling, that requires capital punishment did you know that?

any wayz, i m not with any politican either, but just wanted to get the facts straight.

*Originally posted by antiobl: *

I hope one day our politikos are mature enough to rule Pakistan.

And how do you think they will mature. Just sitting in rubbr stamp parliament. best way to get mature is to give them power and let them learn. It will be difficult few year but then People chappal and Joote will teach them.

Keeping Army in power is not the solution.

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

And how do you think they will mature. Just sitting in rubbr stamp parliament. best way to get mature is to give them power and let them learn. It will be difficult few year but then People chappal and Joote will teach them.

Keeping Army in power is not the solution.

so why did the ppl, jootas and chappals fail to 'teach them' the many times they were in power...? the jootas and chappals and ppl have no power when th zaminadar or rich dude with a danda and ak47 carrying ghundas are in power. its the mentality that has to mature not just a few faces. the ppl have to learn to protest and fight, they have to become brave and break the power of the corrupt leader, and the politicians have to be ppl who wasnt to serve the country and ppl and have a clean background.

please refer to the statement to which my statement was in response, i hope that’ll light the bulb for you as to what was being discussed. if Mush and any of the oppositionists were to ever be charged of treason, i wouldnt think their cases would have many similarities…

and, well…should we then just leave it all alone? just let it be…jais hai chalne dein kuch na kuch to bane gaa…! is that waht should be done…? but that just isn thow it can go on…the counbtry gets damaged when the corrupt civil politicaians play around…true the military is a service and not the ruling institution but what can be done…the world has adanced so much during the past 2 decades and we have been caught up with contact turbulence creted within by own ppl who care no schitt for the nation…now there’s no time for experimenying and letting them learn or have power and do whatever…

*Originally posted by ThandyMazaq: *
musharraf acted against the govt by rebelling, that requires capital punishment did you know that?

thandy yaar just to set records straight again;
It wasnt Mush who 'rebelled' against the govt. it was Nawaz who acted unconstitutionally, unethically, irresposibly, illegally and insultingly in removing the nations COAS while he was flying in from Sri Lanka from an official army tour, in the air, accompanied with a few other officers and his wife along with some 100 or so other passengers all of whose lives were endangered by Mian Nawaz Sharif's acts of self interest when the plane was bluntly refused to land at Karachi and was diverted to Nawabshah where again it was refused landing and when the pilot declared he had little fuel the karcahi ATC which was being controlled by one of Nawaz's chamcha's ordered the pilot to land anywhere else, but not in khi or Nawabshah. It was the sheer competency, alertness, loyalty and camraderie displayed by the Corps Commanders who saved the army and the nation from yet another disgarce at the hands of Nawaz who only shortly before had removed the last COAS Gen Jehangir Karamat in an undignified manner by forcing him to resign through political pressure. Musharraf was in the air when the action took place, and it was his own alertness and that of the pilot flying the plane that made him smell the fishy odor in the air and the managed to get in touch with the then Corp Commander Karcahi Lt.Gen. Muzaffar Hussain Usmani, who had taken responsible cotrtol over the situation by then and had control over the Jinnah Int'l Airport of Karachi, as had the Corp Commander Pindi, who had arrested Nawaz, his ministers and had taken over the PTV station, through prompt action taken by the then Brig and now Lt. Gen Salahuddin Satti, who is current Corp Commander RPindi. The commanders had acted on their own initiative upon having sensed the foul play in progress as there already had been some disturbance since PTV had declared the news of Musharraf's removal in the evening and no one knew of it from any other authentic source. not even other generals. and above all the Gen being installed in Musharraf's place was an Engineering Corps officer and thus ineligible to hold the key appointment of COAS as per military tradition where top command positions are bestowed upon officers from any of the fighting corps. Gen Musharraf didnt have time to devise a plan to over throw the govt and act against the constitution as ppl seem to forgetting events say. It was his fellow officers who saved the day and made sure their leader, nation and institution wasnt ridiculed again. everyone was sick of Nawaz. and everyone knew that. so did the army officers. Didnt every single paper, magazine, radio station or channel local and int'l publish and air reports with footage showing jubilant masses of ppl distributing mithai all over the country?
If anything, Nawaz Sharif should have been held for treason along with his ministers including Mushahid Husain the then Minister for Information, who i wonder why Gen Mush has left free and let be appointed as Secretary PMLQ. His wife was one of those ppl who right after 12 Oct 1999 had written letter to no non other than 'India' to seek help in rescuing her house arrested husband.
Musharraf hast done anyhting to be tried for treason.
I just wonder why he's so liberal, naive and irresponsible in punishing ppl. He let Nawaz go, he let all other old names roam free and get elected to parliament again inspite of having evidence against them of massive scams and corruption, and above all he hasnt been able to make the courts take their working serious and for once sentence Zardari to life; that is what he deserves, for what everyone knows he has done; murder, kidnapping, ransom, rape, huge scams with govt money, disrption of law and order and so on...and the lenient Mush for some reason lets all these animals enjoy freedom of one sort or another.

Facts are such. conclusions can vary based on personal inclinations.

No matter how starkly the lackeys try to justify the coup of the army dictator the truth haunts them whenever they see their faces in mirror. Nawaz sacked Mush, rightly or wrongly, and the law of the country allowed him to do so. After taking over country the dictator didn't mention a single time in his 'hishtorial shpeech' that Nawaz's action of sacking him was illegal and was one among other reasons that compelled him for the step he took, or did he?. But how the na-pak army took over the whole country within few hours is admirable and demonstrate that loosing wars is not their only forte.

I say that both Nawaz and Mush should be tried in court simultaneously, and then we will see who gets punishment for corruption and who for treason.

*Originally posted by Haris Zuberi: *
please refer to the statement to which my statement was in response, i hope that'll light the bulb for you as to what was being discussed. if Mush and any of the oppositionists were to ever be charged of treason, i wouldnt think their cases would have many similarities...

too many links to follow and a weak connection between your and TM's comments made your earlier statement even more vague.. light bulb lost power and hence out. I see it flickering after a bit of clarification but not fully lit yet.

and, well...should we then just leave it all alone? just let it be...jais hai chalne dein kuch na kuch to bane gaa...! is that waht should be done...? but that just isn thow it can go on...the counbtry gets damaged when the corrupt civil politicaians play around...true the military is a service and not the ruling institution but what can be done...the world has adanced so much during the past 2 decades and we have been caught up with contact turbulence creted within by own ppl who care no schitt for the nation...now there's no time for experimenying and letting them learn or have power and do whatever...

Neither did I state don't do anything nor did I imply it. My point was don't just blindly believe what you see or hear and go gaga over something that could be the very cause or oneof the many causes of the mess that we are in today. So we defined one problem, politicians are corrupt and cannot be trusted. So now what next, follow the militiary rule? Is that our solution? I wish I could tell you what the solution is but one thing is for sure it is not military rule... the very nations that you mention are way ahead of us did anyone of them reach there by military rule? or did they have a stable political system based on civilian rule? We need to think out of the box and not limit our options to what we are used to and are being presented by the old and existing rulers.

And how do you think they [politicians] will mature. ...

Being in parliament is a big responsibility. The day they take up the responsibility, they will be considered mature.

Our biggest challenge is to overhaul the archaic tax system and the second biggest challenge is to improve our infrastructure.

How many bills have been presented by the politicians (both sides of the house) on these two measures? I can't recall any.

...It will be difficult few year but then People chappal and Joote will teach them [politikos].

In an ideal world! Yes!

People chappal and Jootay resulted in huge rebellion against Bhatto. NO sitaray (9 fake stars) simply wanted Bhatto to go even at the cost of bringing army in.

Many more chappal and jootay later, Nawaz was kicked out. Are you forgetting the childish behavior of Qazi, BB and Altaf. They were all up in arms to get Nawaz out, even at the cost of bringing army in.

So my friend, we all need to realize that Pakistan with 150 million people is no Somalia that it can have Aideed rule the roost.

Pak is huge country with tones of responsibilities. Our politicians have consistently failed to act accordingly. MQM created lawlessness in Karachi as if Pakistan was just another Sudan. And now Mullahs in NWFP are acting so childish as if Peshawar needs to become the model city of Talibani Kandhar in the next few years.

Where is the sense of responsibility to protect and cherish and love our country? How many politicians have shown that maturity? An how long we have to wait for that golden moment? 2 years, 5 years, 10 years or 20?

....Keeping Army in power is not the solution.

No solution is perfect. We just need to find a good enough solution. As soon as Politicians grow up and take the responsibility, army will go back to barracks.