T.O guppies - desi restaurants

Re: T.O guppies - desi restaurants

maj, at the time this 'gathering' is suppose to be, the weather won't allow it. it'll be autumn n bit cool for open areas. n yes i am looking into some small halls pvt party areas etc as well. just gathering some ideas for now. well my budget allows us to be spend under $1000, ( the lower the better!)
p.s: are u in Toronto?

or do something completely different and invite everyone to a local Hooters for finger lickin' good chicken wings.

No I'm in Michigan. You should check out places you wont think of, like local ice skating ranks, they usually have halls in them that allow you to rent out. They are cheap and then you can get the food catered. Cater most of it and you can make a few at home, like samosa, and things like that. Or you can go to a local desi or arab bakery and get meat pies, they are good and cheap. Also if you guys have islamic places there that allow you to rent out halls or things like that I'm sure that may be cheap also. All you need is a nice cheap hall, and you can fix it up to look expensive.

another option along the lines of renting a hall is to go to your community center and rent out a hall there.... it can be fairly cheap if you're a resident in that neighborhood... then you can get your food catered from wherever you like.

suroor, the best and cheapest option is to do a one-dish party at your house. Cramp the men in garage, women in your bedrooms and let the kids run around the backyard while you cover up your golden laced furniture with white cloth in the living room.

funguy, hooters is not halal, and all the aunties will probably faint there.

Maj and umar, excellent ideas. thank u.

so would some uncles

lolz. nahien kahee aur sahi hai. my place isnt big enough to accomodate so many ppl.

:hehe: true.

here are some ideas that I've been through, if you go to a resturant and ask them to carter it will be more expensive than going to a bakery (arab) and asking them to do any sort of food for you. Its the same food, and much cheaper. Salad is cheap and you can make it at home. And if you want desert like a cake of some sort instead of a bakery go to your local gorcery store, the cake is much cheaper.

Majestic, I like Kibbay from Arabic bakery.

maj: i think my family is the only one who can eat arab food, i know arab cakes are really really good. especially the one which is made by dipping it in sugar syrup. the rest of the friends and family are into chaatpata mircho wala spicy food, ( the kind that gives u heart burn n ur ear itches after taking just one bite). i'll stick to something i know everyone can eat.

Uh hello we’re in angreziland now. Its called Potluck here. FOB kaheen ka. :rolleyes:

BTW yeah the community hall idea is pretty good. Wheres my invitation card suroor? :mad:

Not only that, it blows too.

bhaijaan its still called a one-dish-party in angraizi (real British angraizi that is). Besides the nuance is that in a ODP, you bring one “dish” which is usually part of the main course and/or dessert - whereas in a Potluck you can basically bring more than “One” thing… appetizers, snacks, drinks etc. subb chalta hai.

ODP is more ceremonial

samajh lagi ke naa ? :smiley:

i wouldn't go back to haveli..when i went there the girl told us that the buffet is $9.99 for lunch..so instead of choosing anything from the menu we opted for buffet..food wasn't that great..and you know in the end when i went to the counter to pay with my husband.. the bill was around $80...i looked at the bill and i asked the girl..how come its so much when you said its $9.99..she said i am sorry..i must have said it wrong..the buffet is $13.99..When i came back to car i told ammi about it..and she wasn't happy either.

What i would recommend you is what others have recommended as well..get a party room..in my building its $150..usually depending on the building..the rates range from $50-$300 or you can arrange a room from your public library..i saw a listing in our public library about renting a party room. Most of the times the catering cost you between $5-$8 per head..and you can check the rates in the local urdu newspaper or if you know someone.

A cousin of mine got married in a banquet hall in etobicoke..all three functions were arranged with the same management but with different halls and for all occasions it costed them between $9-$13..and they offered unlimited cold drinks..so all the kids were busy in getting different types of juices and drinks..the place is called pine valley.

Another thing you should do is call places from the urdu newspaper and ask for their rates and accomodation sizes..most of the places that do advertise are in scarborough and toronto..so its not going to be far from your place..as compared to brampton/mississauga.

..sorry but silver spoon is nasty....we saw roaches at their "party hall" in scarborough...disgusting!

haveli has amazing food! My bro-in-law had his valima there.... yummmmmmm!!

Tarboosh, even though it's arabic, it has good food too...

silver spoon has a party hall? :confused: i thought silver spoon was just a take out food caterer’s.

hi there
im from sauga..so let me put in my 2 cents....

5 star havely is a nice restaurant...the atmosphere is nice and it has enough room for all ur guests...the food is pretty good too....
there's also a restaurant called Spice Route...its in the Milcreek area...the food there is good...also buffet style, but also could be a menu style....
I used to think Shahi Naan was amazing..but now its just okay...my dad really likes their kebabs and naan the best..hence the name....but the butter chicken..i coud make it better myself....
Shah Nawaz restaurant is good..lots of room there...
if you like Pak-Chinese food..hakka style..theres a place called Salt and Pepper...the food there is really good..its by brittania and hurontario (i usually go there during lunch..cuz i work around there)....
There's always tandoori time..i really like their bryani....
but i tink for me.the best place is the Lahore tikka house on gerrard..espeically in the summer...great atmosphere and food is awesome as well...

hope this helps...