T.O guppies - desi restaurants

Re: T.O guppies - desi restaurants

A good buffet will cost $12-15 per head. Haveli or Sholay may be?

Umar Talib cleopatra is mighty expensive (min 30$ per head) and they serve alcohol as well. Its owned by a non-muslim arab.

And that site zabihah.com is exactly that, i.e. personal opinions. People go there and write their experiences after visiting the restaurants listed there. Plus it gives you listings of 100s of places to go instead of just one or two same names that keep coming up i.e. haveli this that. :)

^ I've been to a cleopatras in toronto once, I dont know if its the same one, but it was an arab place. Good food.

thats really not that much, we’ve had small parties that cost more

Not everyones as loaded as you, your majesty.

maj. me not ameer kabeer like u arabs. me ghareeb ghareeb desi student.

cheegs, have u eaten at haveli? is the food good there?
thanks for the site btw, that is really helpful.

suroori have all of them pitch in to help with the money. And invite me, Im going nuts. Kal exam hai, mera bura khaal hai.

(make dua for me, I get an A on this I'll send you mitai. :p )

^ lolz.. itni acha lalach day rahi ho to dua to karna he paray gi :yummy:

u’ll be finee.. dont worry inshallah. get off gs n start studying!!
me n my brother are planning to organize it together. n we both work part time so hopefully we’ll be able to manage it inshallah :slight_smile:

Aww.Well just saw your journal - haan good luck. Im sure it will all go well InshAllah. I am studying and have been.its just that I start to panic and theres nobody to talk to at the moment.I seriously need to calm down.Im freaking out! I want an A.Nothing less will do.I was dying of a headache, just got some chai and thought I would take another break.If I dont take breaks I start getting bored and even though I might be reading over the notes, nothing sticks to my head.Maybe I should go for a little walk.

suroor ive never been to haveli but all the people who have talked to me about it said its pretty expensive and the food is just so so nothing that great to travel out of town for.

for a cheap, halal a different experience with really really good food i would recommend Hamdis. Its a somalian restaurant at islington/rexdale. the food is amazing, hosts are very nice and most of all its cheap. last time i went there we were a group of 6 people and 2 kids. we all ate till we were full and the bill came to around 60$. its not desi.. but the food is almost desi

http://www.zabihah.com/_details.php?rest_id=1000

Pak Center in Scarborough has the best Pakistani food. However, the management has been recently changed, so I've got no clue if they have been able to maintain the food quality or not.

Other than that Sahara in sauga is pretty good. I've been there a couple of times. Food is alright, however, the decor and the overall environment is quite good.

^^ sadiyah, same pak center on midland b/w lawrence & eglinton? don't think they have a restaurant setting...just take out place with a few tables n chairs...

unless theres another pak center that i'm not aware of :)

DM, I'm talking about the same Pak Centre. Although it's more of a take-out restaurant, but they still got some tables n all. Their food used to be really good. Dunno if it's the same after the management change.

80 people? I doubt you would be able to fit them in a nice small restuarant. And knowing desis, they would save money on a babysitter and bring their children along aswell. You know the rest.
And i second the shahi naan kabab thingamajigy. Decent food. Might not fit 80 people though.

^ I must've missed the 80 ppl detail.

Pak Centre's definitely not the place to accomodate 80 ppl.

it sux to be you than!

80 people is alot.. that narrows it down alot! hmm haveli is good place! they might accomidate 80 ppl....there is one on argentia and winston churchill ...it has great food..i just cant remember its name right now. There are tons of other places..just gotta browse around for restaurants that will accomidate 80 ppl :) gluck!

or u can rent a community center hall or some small banquet hall for a bill or two, and cater the food from silver spoon or karachi kitchen and get it done with :)

good ideas n suggestions! keep em coming :-)

thanks furqi.

^ suroor what kind of gathering is it going to be? If you want something big that involves family and kids than why dont you rent out a area in a nice park when the weather is nice and have the food catered. Or check out those large ice rank places, they usually have small little halls there that you can rent out for parties. A friend of mine had her bridal shower in one of those places. How much are you planning on sending? Many resturants here have small halls in them that you can have parties.