Syed/Shah family trees

Originally posted by Surdar Asif:
**salaam shakir sahab,
unfortunately my shujra-e-nasab is in pakistan and my taya holds on to it. I have one of my rishtaydar's shujra though since i have a book written by his grandfather and it has got the geneology at the back.

Are you shia, shakir bhai?
send me yr shujra e nasab anyways, i will be more then interested to read.

[email protected]
c ya**

Salaams Asif Bahai,
No i am Sunni. E-mail it to me and I'll e-mail you mine. Let's not post it here. My e-mail address is [email protected]
Later.

Somebody asked if Syeds are allowed to marry non-Syeds. The answer is Yes.
You folks are right the shejra should be kept in secret. There are lot of people who have changed their names and cliam to be Syeds.
BTW Sheraz CT, I'm not to sure who 'Zaidis' are. Could you please shed some light.
Fraudz: Three of my grandfather's elder brothers settled there (Punjab). My own grandfather settled in West Bengal.I've been to Sanglahill only once. Since both our ancestors settled close by, it is possible that we are related.
All Syed have common ancestors. They all merge at some point. Syeds are actually descendents of the Shia Imams, who are in turn descendents of Hazrat Ali. That's why some Syeds are Shia and some are Sunni. My father told me that the majority of Syeds are Shias. I don't how much this holds true. Maybe some of you can provide more info on this.
W'sallam.

[This message has been edited by Shakir75 (edited January 25, 2001).]

There is no difference in tracing ur Syed roots than tracing your hindu roots... we muslims should stop this...

Hi syed guys, its nice to know your roots and family tree but keep in mind that its not to be an honor to be a syed.
Honor is earned not derived.
BTW my roots go to Hazrat Adam so does Holy Prophet(SAW).
:);)

Originally posted by Degas:
There is no difference in tracing ur Syed roots than tracing your hindu roots... we muslims should stop this...

What are you talking about? What's wrong with tracing your roots? Why should Muslims stop this? This the first time I've heard this kind of nonsense. What do hindus have to do with this?

mm10: You said it right. All Muslims are equal. But it's always good to know where you came from. Right?

So if I married a Syed, do I become "great" too?

Originally posted by Muzna:
**So if I married a Syed, do I become "great" too?

Ask yourself, you will find the answer.
Take it easy;)

Originally posted by Muzna:
**So if I married a Syed, do I become "great" too?

Why? Are you something less now? ;)

'I'll answer MM and Degas later......gots to go now :)

salaaam

We are the Taleban-Resistance is Futile
Sin: Osama Bin Junior

shakir Hazrat Zaid was the son of Imam Zainul Abedeen

and some ppl just want to be cute so ignore them :)

Originally posted by mm10:
Hi syed guys, its nice to know your roots and family tree but keep in mind that its not to be an honor to be a syed.
:);)

How about those lofty claims of islam against hindus that islam doesnt have caste???

If hindu brahmin is like syed muslim &khan is like singh,khatriya &sudra like julaha of muslim,where does it leave Pakistan different than India can anyone explain???

Negahe Marde Momin Se Badal Jate Hai Taqdeeren

Originally posted by Sheraz CT:
**shakir Hazrat Zaid was the son of Imam Zainul Abedeen

and some ppl just want to be cute so ignore them :)**

Sheraz, all Syed's are descendents of Imam Zainul Abedeen. I'll check if my my family tree connects to Hazrat Zaid as well. I'll get back to you on that later today. Take it easy.

Originally posted by Azad Munna:
** How about those lofty claims of islam against hindus that islam doesnt have caste???

If hindu brahmin is like syed muslim &khan is like singh,khatriya &sudra like julaha of muslim,where does it leave Pakistan different than India can anyone explain???

Very valid question.....anyone care to answer?

Originally posted by Azad Munna:
** How about those lofty claims of islam against hindus that islam doesnt have caste???

You are misunderstanding the whole point here. Syeds, Khans, etc, etc...are all families names. Don't confuse this with the Hindu caste system in which upper caste are superior from lower caste.
I've already said this....All Muslims are equal in front of Allah.
"One can only be superior in piety"

Originally posted by Shakir75:
I've already said this....All Muslims are equal in front of Allah.

Most of the muslims in sub-continent were converted from Hindus and that was their land - and that was the solid point on which Jinnah won Pakistan for us when he was asked by congress that muslims should leave India.
So if one is Syed he should be an arab and if one converted from brahman hindu hes Indian. Being muslims they are same for Allah and also in the eyes of the world. There is no family supermecy in Islam.. and thats the reason Islam spread..

No offense... but the concept of "Sayyeds" started ONLY in Pakistan because we were a part of India before, & seeing the caste system in India, we created one of our own. So, considering that Syeds R "superior"... cos they descend from the Holy Prophet's family, lotsa ppl started saying they R Syeds & therefore family trees were required for proof.
Now.. if being a Syed basically means U R an Arab originally, how come the Arabs have no such system?
I have lived in the Arab world all my life.. & Syed there means "sir".. & they call everyone syed.
There R no casts there.. just family names. Hashemi & Qureshi R there because like I mentioned before... bani Hashim was the tribe that the Holy Prophet originated from, but Abu Jahal was also from the same tribe (Holy Prophet's chacha who was evil). So, this shows that it is who U R & not what family name U belong to! We have gone into this complex only cos of Hindus.
When I went for Umrah, the immigration at the Saudia airport saw my name.. saw Hashemi in it... & said to me, "Welcome to your land". So, this name was & is respected all over the Arab & Muslim world only cos the Holy Prophet was from this family name.
Shias mostly consider themselves Syed cos like I said Pakistanis think Syed is the Holy Prophet's family/ caste so as Shias R the Holy Prophet's grandkids followers, (Hassan, Hussein) as well as Hazrat Ali.. so they consider themselves Syed.
Syed usually married into a Syed cos the male blood leads the famile name.. therefore most parents want their girls definitely married to a Sayyed guy, & some R very strict about their boys as well. Otherwise, there is no such rule.
U do not become a good Muslim by your caste. colour or creed.. it's only by your TAQWA!

aidhen,
well said.. these problems are with sub-continent people... never seen such stupidity as praising themselves or marrying in Syeds just to think themselves aloof and high.. Most of the muslims in Paksitan marry in their castes rajputs, jats, arain, sheikh and syeds and thats our social system and nothing to do with Islam..

Degas

But what if there is no trace of Hindu in ones blood? Then?

Not that it makes any difference because Hindus are humans also.
It is one mentality that counts.

mm

Honor?

There is no shame in taking pride in what you are, who you are or where you come from. The way you put it, it clearly shows that one have to be jealous and heart burned to state like what you said.

Take a look at what you said "HI syed guys."
You clearly showed that we are someone different then you. You think that we are something other then your fellow Muslim. Why didn't you say brothers/sisters or etc...? Like I said, it depends on one mentality.

Don’t be jealous; be happy for your Muslims brothers/sisters that they have something to share with you. Be part of it! Don't get offended by it.

Azad Muna
How about those lofty claims of islam against hindus that islam doesnt have caste???

Hahahahaha!

Dear, there is no cast system in Islam. It is Hindu culture that gave the Khans and others a high personality and DAARJA. No one asked for it.

Lets take example as the Hindu gods, i.e. six arms….sitting on lions and tigers…..lifting up and caring lands from one place to anther….having snakes around them….half human and half something else…almighty and powerful…

There was a documentary on Discovery Channel on the movie "Unbreakable" (Directed and produced by Indian guy) where they stated that all Indian gods look like characters from comic books. Who are almighty and have strange super natural powers.

It just shows that something that is powerful and brave, the Hindus have kneeled down to and Islam teaches not to have any sort of mentality like that, because there is only one God, Allah! and he created everyone equal.

I wonder why Indians always 'n still wants to be side to side with white man countries, when they said clearly "Dogs allowed but Indians are not!" Is it because they are consider almighty and super power of the world?

The only Sayed that I have ever found that think that they are something "great" are from India (Gujrat mostly). So again it is an Indian mentality, not ours.

Sayed is not a cast, it is a family and everyone have, needs and wants to know who is part of their family.

Just because I am a Sayed it doesn't automatically makes "GREAT" and very good Muslim then others (Unlike Hindu cast system). It is Indian mentality, not ours. There are better Muslims then me that pray five times a day 'n etc. in this world that are not even Sayed and I don’t consider my self better then any of them. I eat, drink, play, talk and laugh with none Sayed, unlike Indians who wont even touch or eat from someone they consider lower then them.

The only people that should get offended by this are the ones who are jealous and think that there is something wrong with being with what that they are.

The reason for me to find out about my ancestry and my roots is simple:
"You don’t know where you're going, if you don’t know where you have been!"

And this should be the same for others.

Salaaaaaam

We are the Taleban-Resistance is Futile
Sin: Osama Bin Junior

Originally posted by Degas:
** Most of the muslims in sub-continent were converted from Hindus and that was their land - and that was the solid point on which Jinnah won Pakistan for us when he was asked by congress that muslims should leave India.
So if one is Syed he should be an arab and if one converted from brahman hindu hes Indian. Being muslims they are same for Allah and also in the eyes of the world. There is no family supermecy in Islam.. and thats the reason Islam spread..

So since I'am a Syed, I am an Arab? According to you I am. Well...I don't even speak Arabic. What kind of Arab am I?
Like I said that name just gives me an understanding on my family background.
BTW whoever said anything about 'supremacy' here. Nobody stated that Syeds are superior. You are trying to put words in other people's mouth.
Take care.

Originally posted by yOuNgBrAt:
***Degas*

But what if there is no trace of Hindu in ones blood? Then?

yes there is no differece between them... but how many syeds r in Paksitan... if they have no trace oh hindu blood then they are only not Indians or Pakistanis... they might be arabs or from and central asian countries or iranians or afghans... so as There are no syeds in these countries or if they r they dont feel so high as some people feel in Pakistan then where they belong..

Well said Youngbrat.