Supporting your parents

Hey y’all,

How many of you guys give money (or send money) home to your parents??? If so, did your parents ask for it?
If not, Why not?

Do the girls support their families as well (after getting married)???

How shld I ask my brother to start giving money home (to our mom), any suggestions???

Re: Supporting your parents

I send money to my parents monthly.

They dont ask for it but I send to their bank account anyway just as a token of love and appreciation. Just for whatever need they want to use it for. I know mostly they just use it to bring us gifts whenever they are visiting us.

My wife used to send money to her parents when she used to work. Mashallah they also does not need it but my wife used to send anyway. Not regularly but couple of 100s here couple of 100s there. Now since she is homemaker from last 3 years or so, her parents have refused to take any money since its coming out of my earnings ( :smack: ). I have told many time to my wife that tell them you are sending it from your pocket money but nAAAHHHHH. Damad k pasiey nahi laita koi :devil:

If you mom is in need, talk to your brother openly and make him realize this. Is your brother well- to-do enough to send some to mom after expenses here? Now you can also help your mom in need. Yee kaheen quran main likh ker nahi aaya k BETA hee srif help karey ga aur beti shadi k baad money sai help nahi ker saktee

They are pretty well off, despite the fact that they endured my exorbitant educational expenses. I would certainly like to send them money but I know my dad would just laugh at the idea :hehe: If they needed it, I would def. send it to them. That’s the least one can do after all they’ve done.

^ thank you for you response.

My brother is doing just fine but doesn't manage his money well.
I currently take care of half the expensive at the house. But i m getting married in a month, which isn't a problem, but i know i wont be able to give as much. Also I am worried my husband (fiancé) will bring it up that how my brother isn't giving at home (does a little already).

Oh and my mom and younger brother would definitely need the money.

My husband doesn't send money to his parents but we do pay for their expenses like air ticket or send them stuff that they need but they don't take money from us. Masallah they are financially in stable condition so they refuse to take money from their kids.

:lifey:

I know brother. I know.

PS: kia ghreeboo wala thread hy… pesy kaun bhejta hy pakistan ??

My husband sends money home to his parents (variable amount) and I send a fixed amount to my parents too… especially for my mom, who always complains that dad doesn’t give her enough pocket money :cb:

Your brother should definitely be sending enough to cover their monthly expenses, but why are you telling your fiance about how much your brother is sending, sure you can tell how much you are contributing so you guys can budget things after marriage.

Khair, talk to your brother about how you won’t be able to contribute that much anymore and that he needs to step up. Also have a talk with your fiance about how you want to continue supporting your mom, does he send money home? Is he going to decrease the amount he sends to his parents, if not then he cannot expect you to decrease the amount… just talk calmly and rationally, with logic and don’t get overly emotional. Thats what i would do… good luck :slight_smile:

^ thanks,

Firstly my mom is in the US with us...so no sending money overseas,
2ndly, my fiance has been ard my family too long to know that my brother doesn't support us. He thinks its a SON's responsiblity to support the parent, not the daughters (meaning he can send money home, but i cant).

^ thats just sad.

and what does he think about wife going out and earn money so she can send it to parents?

Wow!! Thats totally unfair, so as a wife he expects you to support your/his home but you can't support your parent who gave you birth and brought you up.... what if you were the only daughter? Sorry, but I would raise hell if my husband said something like that.

I'll be sending money home. They probably won't take it knowing them.

I still take money from my parents :sharminda:

You are like one of my siblings :phati:

But you should be sharminda :smilestar:

My husband issues is another thread...i plan on talking with him about everything. I have already told him that i will take care of some of the bills. He doesn't have a problem with it. He doesn't mind me supporting my mom, is just that i wont be able to since i m going back for my masters and all.

My mom wont ask my brother.

My brother knows everything but doesn't do anything abt it. Do you think talking to him will change anything?

Ok, this line implies that your fiance/to-be-husband is not okay with you supporting your mom.

Anyways, yes you should definitely talk to your brother.... knock some sense into him, he might not have been doing much since he had you to depend on..... tell him to fix a monthly allowance and give it to your mom without her asking, or better yet make him set up a monthly direct deposit/wire transfer to her account.

At least try, you never know... it might work. What have you got to lose by trying.

You can't make someone do what they don't want to do. If they don't understand their responsibility, you can't make them do what they won't do - some people are dheet.

What you can do is figure out what you can afford and what your mum needs. If money is tight, you need to budget and may even require downsizing for both your own and your mum's household. You need to think practically as opposed to emotionally and make spending decisions that you can follow through on.

Good luck!

^ Thanks Sehrysh, that does make sense. But i think ill have a talk with my brother, i have a feeling he isn't going to change but at least i ll knw that i tried :)

I dont agree to this. You can at least try to make people realize things. Sometimes all they need is a quick eye opener.

^ i sure hope so :)