support for Islamism = support for militancy?

Interesting findings from a recent research:

http://www.princeton.edu/~jns/papers/Shapiro_Fair_2009_Why_Support_Islamist_Militancy.pdf

…Overall, our results strongly suggest that support for Islamist politics does not
predict support for Islamist militant organizations…

Several conclusions of this study cast considerable doubt on the conventional wisdoms about support for Islamist militancy in Pakistan. First, support for militant organizations is not correlated between different types of militant groups. This finding suggests that Pakistanis distinguish between providers of political violence.

Second, there is no clear connection between subjective or objective measures of
economic strength and lower levels of support for the Taliban and al-Qa’ida. …Thus popular prescriptions that Pakistanis will support normalization of relations with India when they feel confident in their country’s economic and other measures of national power are not supported by these findings.

Third, religiosity is a poor predictor of support for militant organizations. A
preference for more Shari’a law does not predict support for militant organizations…

The bottom line is that there is strikingly little support for conventional views
about why Pakistanis support Islamist militancy. …Commonly suggested palliatives for militancy such as economic development, greater democratization, offering alternatives to religious education, appear unlikely to reduce support for Islamist militancy.

=======================================

I guess being a Muslim in substance OR appearance does not mean one being sympathetic to terrorism, does it?

Islamism creates the jungle, that allows terrorists to thrive and reproduce.

Does that mean every Islamist is a terrorist? Heck no!

Would you find most of the terrorist coming out of Islamist caves and woods? Absolutely!

Re: support for Islamism = support for militancy?

^^ Then the question arises, who created these caves and who nurtured these woods?

The So-Called terrorists never occupied or helped Isrealies to kill Palestinians or did they asked them to kill Palestinians so that they can have reason for terrorism? ( please be specific while answering)

Again the so-called terrorist never asked Indian forces to populate graveyards in Kashmir, so that they can lay the foundation of their terrorist outfit or did they? ( again please be specific if you ever answer)

Same goes to Afghanistan, they never asked Russians to invade and takeover their country, nor does Iraqies were responsible for Saddam Hussein, once the best friend of USA, strange enough Even Osama bin Laden was friend of USA.. but it was over 2 million Afghanies and Iraqies who paid the the price by their lives... did they asked Americans to be friends with Saddam or Osama??? if not then why they were butchered ( please specific if you ever answer this one)

It is very easy to point fingers are Muslims that they are the terrorist, but can anyone and i mean all supporters of USA and west can tell me that Why all other issues are solved but forces against Muslims are supported and funded... ??? ( please be specific if you ever answer this)

I am writing and wondering why
the lovers of an islamic land
do not listen, do not read what
I say, write, everyday that impure
people cannot make their land pure.

"Do you have eyes? Do you have ears?" I ask.
"Yes, yes", they answer as fast as they can
"but Allah has not granted us brains except
to read the holy Koran and devise ways to kill
all kafirs and in return be killed ourselves."

Pretty interesting stuff.

support for islamism is end of muslim deprivation, end of suffering because of their religion, but its also a fair deal for non muslims because it bring the politics of muslims into national and regional organisations rather then singular groups in the hills

Same old same old "Islam khutray main hai" propaganda.

This is what happens when people fail to understand (or even try to understand) the reasons why Muslims or other countries are suffering from anarchy.

The bottom line is that a series of steps happen as follows:

1- Primitive Tribals countries (Muslim or non-Muslims) fail to setup a stable
system.

2- No one cares about them until the kill each other

3- Then some of the tribals and primitives start spreading the anarchy beyond their bordres

4- Then some outside power comes in to take advantage or stabilize the anarchist region.

1. Tribals and primitives then shout and froth as to why the outside power is here.

Oh bhai, if you had kept your house clean, happy, and stable, then NO one would come take over your land. and if someone tries to, you would have enough power to defend yourself or make a peaceful agreement.

All those regions you listed aka Palestine, Iraq, kashmir, etc are no different than many "non-Muslims" tribal and primitive regions in Africa and Middle East.

Fix your own home and no one will bother you, or if someone does, you would be able to defend yourself.

But no! you won't work on strengthening your home/region/country. You would rather spread suiciders, and then NATO comes in and you complain, moan, groan.

This is the result of Jahliya being spread in the name of Islam.

We say we want Islam, but we want to follow all the behaviors of Pagans of Medieval Arabia or the Medieval Christian practices. And the result is obvious!

^Oh bhai, Afghanistan was a communist country before the Russians invaded. What "Islamists" are you talking about? Iraq was not following Islam whatsoever still they got slaughtered. There are people in this world that still have some sense and don't just blame their fathers for outsiders' evildoing. You are the one confused, you go calling others confused in your posts, but your the one needing history lessons and some Kommon sense.

Did you fully support the Taliban when they fought the Russians? If yes then you can't be turning your back now and accusing them. If you didn't then that means you supported the communists while your brothers and sisters got slaughtered.

I guess you'll call me a conspiracy nut since I believe in world politics; how countries invade each other for power, greed, resources...

I still waiting answers/comments on what i wrote...

can u act like an educated and knowledgeable person and answer them?? as per your definition who ever who is not westernized or condemn Islam is Jahil... so please let me know the answers

They needed to do a research study on this matter in Princeton? Seriously? What a waste of money. I could have told you that walking down the streets of Lahore and Karachi in 20 minutes.

Seriously these gorays really are idiots.

^ Some people only believe in voices coming from the west.

That is very true. You did us a favor when we need to shut up M2k and Posh Spice.

Pakistan has been messed up by "civilised" parties ie PML-N, PML-Q, PPP, MQM, ANP - the "islamist" parties have ntreally played much of a role through out most of its history except the JI.

I wonder how many Islamists have embezzled funds, over-turned constitutions, declared martial law, rigged elections, carried out ethnic cleansing, challenged other institutions essential to a civlised democracy, hanged or murdered other leaders, have death squads, play a part in VIP culture - all this and many more has been carried out by our civlised leaders belonging to democratic parties and even the military!

Islamists have not been in power and they have actually played a very mior role in the decay of Pakistan.

^ Zia was an Islamist.

I think its a positive whenever people disassociate themselves and their beliefs with the taleban/al qaeda. The more that lot is treated like leprosy infested rats the better.

you are such a sick mind... whats your uncle name? bush?? ehud? or thakuray?

No need to do the name calling unless you just graduated from class-3 school with D-grade results.

Look at the pathetic situation with Palestinians.

--- They were given HUGE area to live and rule back in 1948, They said NO
--- Instead they started warlodism in the region not too different from primitive tribes of Africa

--- They attacked Israel, and when Israel responded, they all ran away like little rabbits. And Israel with tiny tiny population defeated millions of Arabs, and then took over W. Bank and E. Jeru.

-- Palis didn't learn and didn't repent, and didn't come to the table. Instead they continued terror and warlordism

-- Then they all joined again and attached Israel in 73, they again lost.

Civilized people learn from their mistake and change their ways. But tribals cannot.

And if you point to these simple facts, friends of tribalsim quickly start name calling.

Pathetic! Simply Pathetic.

Excuses excuses excuses!

this is not name calling, this is exactly what you called the others... you called them un-civilized, because you think only you, and your western masters are civilized. you called them tribals, because they dont have a "democracy" you called them uneducated, because they dont have degree from some uni in america or alike

siting in a luxurious air conditioned room, talking about "table-talk" is very easy, and sounds great. have u ever meet anyone who personally got stuck in Ghaza in the tunnel?? did you ever talked to any Kashmiri in person? have you meet those people who were forced to evacuate from afghanistan and pakistan's war torn areas?? many of them are more educated and civilized than you and me...

They were given HUGE area to live and rule back in 1948, They said NO
and what do you mean by this?? Given?? and Huge??? it is THEIR OWN land... do not generalize all Palestinians and Kashmirs and similar nations, not all of them "run like rabits" what is this if not name calling?? you call yourself educated, huh really? one better remain uneducated and fail with D grade than becoming a white-trash-anti-islam-west-lover educated person

Israel will always remain innocent and "responder" in your views, no matter what... until they force you to leave your home, live in a shelter, beg for food, kill your relatives, and what not. but oh well, you don't really believe all this happened...

And you are sitting on a pile of refuse, in 120 degrees sun?

Show us the map printed in Palestine, that marks the boundaries.

Show us the names of the Palestinian head of state, the troops, and the police force name and structure before 1940.

In 1940, what was the capital of Palestine where they had their parliament/ Shora-group / imperial court.

How many countries had Palestinian ambassador?

If you could provide some info on these essential aspects of Pali society government etc. one could say Palestinians had evolved a modern civilized society. But Israel snatched it illegally.

If not, then they were perhaps just like many tribal tree dwelling cultures around the world.

Thank you.

so your point is, anyone and everyone, who does not adopt to "modern civilized society" has no right to live? by the way, what is your definition of "modern civilized society"?? the so called "democracy"????

is raaz ko ik mard-e-farangi nay kiya faash
harchand ke daana issay kholaa nahi kartay
jamhooriyat ik tarz-e-hakoomat hay kay jis maiN
bandoon ko gina kartay hain, tolaa nahi kartay

you are talking about this "civilized" society? or the one society which loves to scan people naked to allow them to enter their country? there are so many things about your modern civilized society one can point out

Not my words bubba! Read iqbal your favorite (obviously)

taqdeer kay Qazi ka yae fatwa hai azal say
hai jurm-e-zaeefi ki saza marg-e-mafajat

And then ponder about "taqdeer kay qazi".

OK.

And come back when you have figured it out.

Civilized societies has to do something when primitive tribals show up at the airport hiding bombs in their @rseholes.

Then there are few choices left for the security men.

A) Put their hands in the primitive tribal's @rseholes

B) Scan people using the modern scanners.

C) Let the tribals with bombs in @rseholes to go through and explode the planes.

Hopefully you will never be given the charge of security for your obvious and clear support for terror.

But if you ever did, and you wanted to be loyal to your job (hard to imagine but)

Would you go with choice A

or choice B

or you would rather support the killing of innocent air passengers and go with choice C (based on your views most likely choice C).