In light of widening gap between different political parties/leaderships, we, the supporters are pulling each others shalwars/knickers/lungis which is throwing each other at opposite extremes. My humble request is that we stop calling each others as patwaris, jiyalays, niralays or whatever term we use for supporters of a particular party.
I have observed that using such words for each others is raising tempers in the forum. I request all of us to stay calm, we are all “Pakistan ki awam”, it is our right to demand service from ‘government’ as well as right criticism of government by opposition.
I would like to know what others feel and share their thoughts.
Thank you so much for reading this post, whether you agree to my words here or not, I believe it will start introspection of ourselves at least for the time being.
Re: Suggestion/Request for moratorium on using politically affiliated terms
Captain1- Good thread. In my view it is less about specific words because those who want to will come up with new words, or will have intentional tone and mannerism to bully, aggravate, etc. Those who use a word that grates on others, would simply back off and apologize.
I believe most if not all of us know what is an appropriate manner to engage respectfully even when disagreeing. Those who steer away from it know it too, but for some reason may feel that anonymity affords a departure from civility, and it starts a chain reaction.
This is not the first time the forum has had to face this challenge. My hope is always that participants can be self correcting as a group and not tolerate, encourage or participate in it. Baby sitting grown ups is a thankless job :)
I agree, it can be self-imposed ban/moratorium as well as supported by mods on using these words/terms and essentially stop replying in a manner which widens the gulf between the participants.
good moral lesson but the question is would refraining from using insulting name callings indeed STOP hurling insults to fellow Guppies and Guppans. if it does, i'm ALL for it!
I think its begins with first throwing a guppie under an umbrella first i.e. calling him/her a jiyala/nirala/patwari and then it just goes down from there. Moratorium doesn't have to be from mods only, it should be self imposed as well, we need to refrain from insulting each other that is the bottom line.
i know but calling names aren't the ONLY ways users abuse each other on GS.
being mindful of his/her decency, civility and tahzeeb protocols keep one in check and that's the ONLY way to have a meaningful conversation with pleasant experiences.
Boycott individuals i suppose, whether it is as extreme is blocking them, or as simple as if people stop responding, interacting to them, what will the flamers be left with.
Some diehard may turn a thread into khud kalami, but oh well, such is life.
I don't think it is a big deal in this forum. I have been watching this since I joined it. It looks that this tradition goes back to when this forum came in to existence. Calling names is what makes us true Pakistanis. :) Long time ago it started with calling one PPP supporter as jyala. With the passage of time new vocabulary such as sain, wadera, dakoo and so on was invented in this forum depending on education and back ground. Most people enjoy when they degrade opponent with such vocabulary, particularly when they refuse to accept the truth of opponent. This is called freedom of speech, holier than though, better than you etc. etc. or whatever.:)
Dear guppies, mods,
In light of widening gap between different political parties/leaderships, we, the supporters are pulling each others shalwars/knickers/lungis which is throwing each other at opposite extremes. My humble request is that we stop calling each others as patwaris, jiyalays, niralays or whatever term we use for supporters of a particular party.
I have observed that using such words for each others is raising tempers in the forum. I request all of us to stay calm, we are all "Pakistan ki awam", it is our right to demand service from 'government' as well as right criticism of government by opposition.
I would like to know what others feel and share their thoughts.
Thank you so much for reading this post, whether you agree to my words here or not, I believe it will start introspection of ourselves at least for the time being.
Regards.
Very good thread and POV. And I think everyone would agree with that. But very unfortunately, time after time such kinda requests are made either by new threads or reminders but apparently it doesnt work out in a long run.
There was a similar thread opened by Teggy earlier as well and everybody got off-track pretty quickly.
Either we tend to forget quickly or we are so emotional that it overcomes the wisdom and politeness that we all are supposed to keep especially when we are under the spotlight for being one of the most politically active nations.
Anywaz, lets hope this time it really turns out well and become NAYA PA forum for all of us :)
i'm sid_ny and I endorse Captain1's call for no namecalling!! Cheers.
I don't think it is a big deal in this forum. I have been watching this since I joined it. It looks that this tradition goes back to when this forum came in to existence. Calling names is what makes us true Pakistanis. :) Long time ago it started with calling one PPP supporter as jyala. With the passage of time new vocabulary such as sain, wadera, dakoo and so on was invented in this forum depending on education and back ground. Most people enjoy when they degrade opponent with such vocabulary, particularly when they refuse to accept the truth of opponent. This is called freedom of speech, holier than though, better than you etc. etc. or whatever.:)
Captain1 , a good and thought provoking thread.
Not sure of the long term history, but yes name calling has been a part here and what I am observing is that its going down the hill. Our patience to listen to each others' arguments is vanishing, we are losing trust in each other even though we all want best for Pakistan. Though this is 'gupshup' (an online forum only) but seems like its slowly spreading outside too, not necessarily everywhere yet.
Very good thread and POV. And I think everyone would agree with that. But very unfortunately, time after time such kinda requests are made either by new threads or reminders but apparently it doesnt work out in a long run.
There was a similar thread opened by Teggy earlier as well and everybody got off-track pretty quickly.
Either we tend to forget quickly or we are so emotional that it overcomes the wisdom and politeness that we all are supposed to keep especially when we are under the spotlight for being one of the most politically active nations.
Anywaz, lets hope this time it really turns out well and become NAYA PA forum for all of us :)
i'm sid_ny and I endorse Captain1's call for no namecalling!! Cheers.
Lo ji. I am saying the same thing from last two months at least and no one paid attention, and now captain sahab said and everyone is agreeing.
Joke aside, it's a good thread. I add to this that all the memes, as well as any other agenda based captioned image should be banned from PA. For memes and other political but pointless images, we already have image forum.
aur ham yeh farmaa rahe the k ek baar sab ke dil kii bhaRaas nikaalne kii Gharaz se ek din asaa muqarrar kar liyaa jaaye jis din sab apni apnii dili aarzoo poorii kar leN phir uske ba'd yeh forum yakdam Halaal [KOSHER] ho jaaye jahaN aHbaab dushman kii bhii be-'izzatii bardaasht na kareN.
zaraa tasavvur kijiye vo din jab PPP group ke log NS group ke logoN ko 'aap janaab' se muKhaatib kareN aur Indian wa Pakistani ek duusre ko Pakistani yaa Indian hone ke ta'ne na de sakeN!