Suggest a book

A novel is preferrable, fiction bhi chalay gaa. But dont hesitate to name any book you think is a must-read.

Has anyone read Queen Noor’s autobiography? I read the first chapter at a cousin’s place and It seemed interesting.

Re: Suggest a book

*Originally posted by saby: *
A novel is preferrable, fiction bhi chalay gaa. But dont hesitate to name any book you think is a must-read.

Has anyone read Queen Noor's autobiography? I read the first chapter at a cousin's place and It seemed interesting.

Fiction,

Lonesome Dove, By Larry Mccarthy.
The Rainmaker, By John Grisham.
Family Matters, by Rohinton Mistry.
The Runaway Jury, By John Grisham.
Rich Dad, Poor Dad, By Robert T. Kiyosaki.
The Namesake, By Jhumpa Lahiri.

Once you are done reading this books, start a new thread and I will post a few more.

BTW Saby if you are intrested in books, try audible books, I used to read, but since I got hooked up to audible books, believe me you its a whole different experience.

regards,

Aejaz.

A suitable Boy, Vikram Seth
Brick Lane, Monica Ali

saby wht kind of lit??

Im reading The Alchemist, well I just got it today and havent started so why dont you get that too Soby so we can discuss it afterwards!

Aejaz bhai, thanks for a detailed reply. I think it will be hard to find audible books in pakistan but i will see. Most of the books you mentioned i have read already. 'Namesake' hmmm sounds interesting. Someone else also recommended it.

sadzz--A suitable boy I have read I think. will make sure. Thanks :-)

Deviliciuoss-- yaar koi bhi kind ho. Autobiographies, fiction, non fiction. Just suggest any. Infact summer is off and i havent read any book in a while.

Catty-- Yeah Alchemist is in my list but i couldnt find it when i tried. I will try again in another shop. Thanks :-)

Brick Lane- Monica Ali
The Firm- John Grisham
A Stranger is Watching-Mary Higgins Clark
Not Without My Daughter- Betty Mahmoody
Misery- Stephen King
The Green Mile- Stephen King
Desperation- Stephen King

Tarzan aur choocha pehelwaan.

Some of my favorites of the past 5 yrs

Alienist- Caleb Carr
My Name is Red- Orhan Pamuk
JOhn Adams- David MuCollough
India Unbound-Gurcharan Das
Red Earth and Pouring Rain: Vikram Chandra
Naked: David Sedaris
Lamb-Christopher Moore

many many more..but these are really good. Lamb and Alienist are my absolute favorites.

*Originally posted by saby: *
Aejaz bhai, thanks for a detailed reply. I think it will be hard to find audible books in pakistan but i will see. Most of the books you mentioned i have read already. 'Namesake' hmmm sounds interesting. Someone else also recommended it.

Saby Bhai,

let me suggest a few more.

The First Counsel, By Brad Meltzer.
The Hades Factor, By Robert Ludlum and Gayle Lynds.
Desperate Measures, By Kate Wilhelm.
The Emperor Of Ocean Park, By Stephen L Carter.
Death Qualified, By Kate Wilhelm.
Degree Of Guilt, By Richard North Patterson
In A Dry Season, By Peter Robinsonm
The Best Defense, By Kate Wilhelm.
Second Glance, By Jodi Picoult.

As far as Audible goes if you are really intrested then go to the link below, and you can subscribe there, if they cant ship you the Audible player I will be more than happy to ship it out to you.

regards,

Aejaz.

Saby Bhai, edited coz it was leading to my account with audible, but you can surf for audible and you should find it.

I really don't think audio books are the same thing. I lose attention all the time and have to rewind.

And I noticed that I get a different perspective of the whole book when its on audio. Nothing close to how much I enjoyed reading the damn thing.

Shadow of the Moon.

Ok. Anyone who has seen ONE HOUR PHOTO where Robin Williams has this crush on a married woman, he even buys the exact books she reads.

Someone called Deepak Patel I think. I have been looking this up and I dont remember the title. It is apparently a bestseller.

Any ideas ?

Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. An absolute classic.

*Originally posted by teKno: *
I really don't think audio books are the same thing. I lose attention all the time and have to rewind.

And I noticed that I get a different perspective of the whole book when its on audio. Nothing close to how much I enjoyed reading the damn thing.

teKno Bhai,

Are you talking about Cassettes, coz I am talking about Downloadable Material, Dono main Quality main kafi farq Hain.

Reading yes you are right, its a different world, lekin quite a few times main Parte Parte sou jata tha, and a few times I even overslept my station.

Not to mention my snoring.

Baghdadi Qaida :biggthumb

j/k :P

ummm.... English or Urdu?

get some old ashtiaq ahmad's novels and you can always read/type/scan them to me if you feel like making your summer a lil worthwhile. :-p

"Destiny of man" by Charles Le Gai Eaton.

An absolute MUST read.

He reverted to Islam in 1951... was one of the books that Jemima Khan apparently read. That's not the reason i am recommending it. The book is amazing on its own.... very very informative, interesting, entertaining, and touching book. Do read it if you get a chance, Saby. You won't regret it i think. Discusses so much about Islam from a perspective i had never previously explored. Very intelligent Muslim author.

*'Islam Between East and West’ * - by Alija Izetbegovic, the former President of Bosnia.

It is a must read. He explains Islam from European perspective. He literally proves why Islam is the natural religion and way of life.

I have recommended this book to all my friends and all of them really liked it, though some are still looking for this book.

I always suggest .....THE ROAD TO MAKKAH by Allama muhammad asad.... a revert .....