How about just read the translation of the Quran?
Quite diverse replies. Thanks a lot all of you. Keep posting more
Aejaz bhai, thanks a lot for your detailed post. I will try my luck with audible books. Seems like an interesting experience.
Tekno-- I have seen One hour Photo, But i cant pull it off :-D
Xtreme-- I m not sure if I will be able to find it here in Pakistan. But i sure will try.
Anwaar- lol@baghdaadi Qaida. Waisay i would prefer an English book.
Nadia-- Thanks for your suggestion but lady I seriuosly hope i am able to find it in Pakistan. I will try though, will let you know when i do find it.
Ibn Sadique-- Umm above reply goes for you too. I hope i m able to find it. Have you read 'Crisis in Islam' by Bernard Lewis. I really liked it.
bao bihari-- hmmm sounds interesting. Noted. Thanks.
fallenpieta-- Yes that is a pretty nice Idea too.
Aejaz. How about letting me try one of your audio books. Put up for download somewhere... or email it to me. Have any good ones that you have already? Share the wealth brother.
*Originally posted by saby: *
Anwaar- lol@baghdaadi Qaida. Waisay i would prefer an English book.
If you have not, I will suggest the english translation of Ar Raheeq ul Makhtoom
^^ its a great book ,i read the urdu version though.
but if you wanna read entertainment and urdu i would suggest any book of Doc shafeeq ur rehman he cracks me up every time
*Originally posted by Wise One: *
if you wanna read entertainment and urdu i would suggest any book of Doc shafeeq ur rehman he cracks me up every time
have read many of his books:D currently in my collections are: "Shagoofay," "Insaani Tamashaa (A Translation)," "Pachtaaway" (A classic IMO).
His first ever book I read was "HimaaqataiN" and then "Mazeed HimaaqataiN" when I was 14 years old:D Man! now I read those again and I totally get different meanings of different things that were understood differently then:)
His other books as far as I can recall were "KirnaiN," "LehraiN," "Mudd-O-jazar," "Pervaaz," "Dajlah," aur "Dareechay"..
Mushtaq Yousufi's "Charaagh Talay," and "Khaakim ba'deh'n" are classics too...
But saby want to read them in English. I dunno if there is any english translation available :S ?
*Originally posted by Wise One: *
^^ its a great book ,i read the urdu version though.
but if you wanna read entertainment and urdu i would suggest any book of Doc shafeeq ur rehman he cracks me up every time
I have read all of his books.. I have them in my collection.
Khakim bedehen bhi parh li..
*Originally posted by saby: *
I have read all of his books.. I have them in my collection.
Khakim bedehen bhi parh li..
English maiN :-O ?
^Nahi bhai urdu mai hee..
Tanhayan-- Itna bhi vaila nai hoon and as i told you, i have outgrown them :p
Originally posted by saby: *
Nadia-- Thanks for your suggestion but **lady* I seriuosly hope i am able to find it in Pakistan. I will try though, will let you know when i do find it.
Main "lady" kab sai ban gai? :o :p
i messed up the book's title. heh sorry. It's "Islam and the Destiny of Man"....
Plz let me know whether or not you find it there, theek?
Crime and Punishment - Dostoevsky
The Brothers Karamazov - ditto
Under Western Eyes - Conrad
If you are a Muslim living in America today, I strongly suggest 1984...You can relate...
^ 1984 is a great novel, and i would recommend it, my friend told me to read it and i thought it was great, i think that George Orwells prediction is fast turning into reality, governments control us, we dont know what is true and wat is fiction. definitely a good read
Inner Dimensions of Islamic Worship. I find it to be a very useful book. Mash'Allah.
forget these serious serious heavy duty books...how abt
naunehaal digest?
archie comics?
Tintin comics?
MAD magazine?
A Suitable Boy
An Equal Music
- Vikram Seth
A Bridge Across Forever
One
Jonathan Livingston Seagull
- Richard Bach
Atlas Shrugged
Fountainhead
- Ayn Rand
The Alchemist
- Paulo Cohello
Red Dragon
Silence of the lambs
Hannibal
- Thomas Harris
Lord of the Rings :D
Nadia-- exams over honay tuk tum 'girl' theen ab lady :D (what logic!!) anyways i m going on a book hunt in a while so i will let you know.
Ravage-- Noted.. Thanks,
Lajawab-- No I live in Pakistan. So it might not appeal to me as much.
malaika-- thanks for the input.
Munni-- Computer per perhna is rather taxing. I will see if i can find it here in book form.
irem-- lol, I have out grown them since a while now :D
Daagh-- Apart from Ayn rand, Alchemist ones and Hannibal, I have read all of them. Thanks for the input.
Some of my favs:
1) The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown
2) The Alchemist by Paulo Coelo
3)Brick lane by Monica Ali
4)Illusions by Robert Bach
5)Only love by Eric Seagal
:-)
The books I've read in the past few months
Brick Lane- Monica Ali
The impressionist - Hari Kunzru
The Death of mister Love - Indra Sinha (reading right now)
And a couple more, cant think of the names right now.
One thing, read 'The ALchemist' when you're ready for it. If you feel like putting it away while reading it then don't continue.
the alchemist is very overrated :-/ .