So Khadija is 1.5months now and my MIL wants to start giving her sugar and salt(a bit) water to her..I read up online that its not good for babies to have water or sugar water before 6months..so what shall I do? Any of you give/gave this to your kid? If its not good how shall I explain it to my MIL since I dont want to offend her:/?
Re: Sugar and Salt water for newborns
Offend her! Seriously, I would never let anyone feed my kid any sort of crap. When you're a mother you have to stand up for your child....that's all motherhood is about.
Sorry for crappy English...I'm sleepy and posting from my phone. My mil didn't want me to breastfeed but I didn't give any ears to her. Tell her "doctor nay mana kiya hai" if she's clever she'll get the hint ....if she carries on insisting then tell her to give the salt water to you and you'll feed her yourself...off to your room and there goes the stupid water outta window.
Don't give it. Just let her know that the doctor has advised against it. Babies don't need water. Doctors in the US recommend water only after 6 months and even then there is absolutely no need to add sugar or salt to it.
What is her logic to give sugar & salt water to the baby?
Sugar and Salt water for newborns
‘sehat banane k lye’ logic..
Sugar water=less milk intake=less weight gain= blame on mom
Already I hear comments from everyone like ‘she doesnt poop everyday cause pait nahi bharta hoga’ I feed her on cue I dont see the clock..‘sahi se pia isne’ i allow her ample time on me until she refuses to take any..‘my milk isnt healthy enough tbi kamzor hai’ how can it be less healthy? Just cause she isnt fat doesnt mean she isnt healthy she is just very active mashAllah..
I am just so confused..MIL is so good to her..takes care of her with so much love that im afraid to offend her..
She started giving her gripewater mixed with warm water since this week..I boil nestle water for 1min and then prepare her formula with it..while the water she uses is tap water(approved fit for drinking by our area(DHA) which is still not good enough) which she boils in bulk for i duno how much time(excessive boiling isnt good for babies)..for that i didnt say anything cause atleast its boiled..although even I am not able to drink it(my stomach goes crazy) cause of dirt in it even after boiling and because im used to mineral water..I dont want my kid to be oversensitive like me I want her to be used to everything but theres an age for that shes too young:(
MIL is such a sweet lady..seriously she is way better than my own mother but sometimes the oldies can be wrong no?![]()
Why didnt she want u to breastfeed:eek:? i thought elders r strictly against formula:bummer:
Well during the first week after her birth, they gave her formula so that she could stay with them most of the time..and when she would come to me, she gave me such a hard time to latch on..aah parenting is so difficult:hayaa::hinna:
She asked for her bottle so she could feed her the sugar water downstairs when she is with them:smack:
I have an appointment with her paeds on 8th..I’ll take her with me and ask the paed about it..hope she listens to him:fingers crossed:
She is just making home made pedialyte. Why does your mil think your baby needs pedialyte? Is she dehydrated? I dont think its harmful. They say dont give babies water, I gave my son water right from 1 month. Water is harmless. He was a bit constipated, water helped. Your baby will be fine but personally I wouldnt give unnecessary things to baby unless they need it. Tell your mil that youll get pedialyte from store that has everything mixed with the right amount.
No she isnt dehydrated she is fine alhmadolilah..healthy and active..she was constipated a few weeks back when I gradually reduced the amount of bottles she was taking and started nursing more..so she was getting used to BM..now she is fine..BF the whole day and one bottle at night..poops every other day..and she said its for sehat..so the baby gets sehatmand..wht does pedialyte gota do with sehat?
Don't give it, I gave my baby simple water bc she was having thrush problem n doc suggestd, water is good n harmless but without anything, but of course not too much. Dont introduce sugar n salt before 1 year
An exclusively breastfed baby under 6mnths does not need water, let alone adding sugar & salt! How is that going to benefit a baby?.. A mothers milk is nutrient enough, how can anyone judge whether it's not healthy enough. Just cuz she nurses often doesn't mean she's not gettin enough, it just means that she digests it quicker as compared to formula.
Please stick to your grounds and don't let the MIL takeover, you know what's best for your baby.
No she isnt dehydrated she is fine alhmadolilah..healthy and active..she was constipated a few weeks back when I gradually reduced the amount of bottles she was taking and started nursing more..so she was getting used to BM..now she is fine..BF the whole day and one bottle at night..poops every other day..and she said its for sehat..so the baby gets sehatmand..wht does pedialyte gota do with sehat?
pedialyte is given when baby has stomach upset so tht baby is not dehydrated :)
ask your husband to tell your mil politely that he does not want to give sugar n salt water because doctor said.....
Really I feel like peething my head against the wall. Sugar and salt in water .. Hai Allah…
Like others said, she doesnt need anything for the first 6 months other than your milk.
Please whatever you do, do NOT give salt to your baby! Baby's kidneys can't cope with it! People don't realise this but breastmilk has absolutely everything that a healthy baby needs for the first 6 months.
No way! Salt and sugar isn't even recommended here until one years old let alone newborn!
^ thats the best approach…
…my MIL used to give nuts and peanuts to my son ever since he learned to swallow… we had many many arguments about it but she would never listen to me … turned out to be he is severally allergic to nuts and peanuts and then finally she stopped after being stopped by her son
… …
LOL
I saw this today and it totally reminded me of this and do mothers know best thread.
hahaha ![]()
LOL I saw this today and it totally reminded me of this and do mothers know best thread.
lol .... it should have been in ^ thread