Just say that you do not think it is needed right and you are not giving it to her. After that, let hubby talk to his mom about it.
Also, don't give her gripe water for no reason. The more fluids you give her the less milk she drinks. She is not getting the right amount of nutrients from your milk.
Just say that you do not think it is needed right and you are not giving it to her. After that, let hubby talk to his mom about it.
Also, don't give her gripe water for no reason. The more fluids you give her the less milk she drinks. She is not getting the right amount of nutrients from your milk.
I agree with the first part. But over the years I have realized that involving the hubby in MIL issues isn't always right....reason being that MIL now starts thinking that DIL "bharoes" her son's ears which is the start of a new issue altogether :D!
Best approach is to appear confident and educated, and quote what the doctor said, and thank the MIL for her wonderful suggestion. Something like, "ammi jee, what a great suggestion....but you know docs here totally don't recommend that stuff. In fact they'll be upset if they find out we did that. Chalo koi baat nahi... come with me to the next appointment, aap thud pooch lijeye ga."
I used that for the honey suggestion and it worked.
This brings painful memories for me, I didn’t read any of the above responses, but all I know is that I had a major fight with my dad yes my own dad over this issue, it was the 3rd day after the baby was born and we went for the baby check-up, and of course everyone wanted to come along, fine I don’t mind, support is always good and much needed, but when the doctor told me at the end of my appointment that the baby has developed Jaundice, my dad went off on me about giving baby the sugar pani, I firmly said I don’t want to give the baby no paani with anything in it, just sunlight and milk, thats IT. but he just kept at it, goodness I was so hormonal and recovering from my own goddamn stitches, and like what niksik suggested I even tried to tell everyone in that room, ‘doctor nay kaha hai abhi paani nahee daina hai’ and everyone started chanting (MIL+my own dad) that ‘doctors here don’t know anything, hamara zamana kitna acha thaa, do whatever you want, tumhay tou zayda patta hai, ham nai bhii bachay palein hain’ and he got so angry and left, I literally cried all the way home from the clinic
for me it was 2 issues, the paani and ‘how to burp’, but I suppose that’s separate issue, I can explain to you all then what kind of ‘verbal torture’ I went thru
If I end up having anymore kids, our parents will find out on child’s first ‘Birthday’
Salt is too much sodium and sugar is just extra calories without any nutrients.
Please know that too much water in a baby's (less than a years) body is harmful. It messes up the electrolyte levels in the body and also makes it hard for the body to absorb nutrients from milk.