Students Unfurl Pakistani Flag at the University of Kashmir

I don’t really agree with the idea of raising a Pakistani flag instead of a Kashmiri one…but still an interesting counterpoint to all the myths perpetuated by some members of this forum about Kashmir’s allegedly India-loving youth.

Students Unfurl Pakistani Flag at the University of Kashmir

By Fayaz Wani

Srinagar, June 20: On Friday, the students in the higher seat of learning at the University of Kashmir, unfurled a Pakistani flag and raised pro-Pakistan and pro-freedom slogans during a protest demonstration.

Carrying placards and banners, hundreds of students assembled in the university campus on Friday morning to protest against the transfer of 40 hectares of land to a Hindu religious association, Shri Amarnath Shrine Board.

Terming the transfer of land to the Hindu religious association as illegal, the protesting students demanded immediate cancellation of the land transfer.

“The Indian government is trying to change the demography of Kashmir by handing over land to the Hindu groups,” said the students, adding, “India is following the tactics of Israel in Kashmir”.

While raising the pro-Pakistan and pro-freedom slogans, the students unfurled the Pakistani flag on the campus. They also raised slogans in support of militants operating in Kashmir. “We are with the militants because they are fighting for our cause,” said the protesting students.

One of the protesting students, Bilal Ahmad said, “We are fighting for the right to self determination that has been promised to us by the first Indian prime Minister. The resolutions in this regard are pending in the United Nations. We are not demanding the stars and moon. We are only demanding our birth right”.

The protest demonstration of the students lasted for more than two hours. Afterwards, the agitating students dispersed off peacefully, but threatened that in case the transfer of land was not cancelled, they will intensify their agitation.

It is in place to mention here that a few days back, the youth raised pro-Pakistan and pro-freedom slogans during a soccer match in the summer capital, Srinagar. Police arrested 15 people for raising the slogans. All of them were later released on the court orders.

Fayaz Wani reports on life in Srinagar, Kashmir.

http://newsblaze.com/story/20080620114112kash.nb/topstory.html

I couldn’t agree more with this statement Janab. And now it is the responsibility of Kashmiris/Pakistanis to highlighten this fact to the rest of the world, so that everyone knows ,how India is trying to change the demography of Kashmir by trying to settle Hindus from the rest of the India into the valley.

Even pro-India Kashmiri politicians like Saifuddin Soz (currently a minister in the Indian cabinet) has pointed out the decline of Kashmir’s Muslim population share (despite all the claims that Indians aren’t allowed to settle in Kashmir)…

According to the official figures from the Indian census:

NOTE: The figures for the 1941 census have already been adjusted for the LoC and include only those areas currently under Indian control.

Dude get the figures after 1981 and then talk.

There was no census in J&K in 1991. In 2001, Muslims made up 66% of the state population...6.5% less than 1941, and 2% less than in 1961.

Ironic how, in a country where its a national crisis when the Muslim population goes up by 0.5%, the only Muslim-majority state has a declining Muslim population share.

Re: Students Unfurl Pakistani Flag at the University of Kashmir

^^ irony how the hindu population declined by more than 75% in 2 years?

I see no problem in this.
Lets hope that in about 20 years, the Hindu/Sikh population will be closer to 50%.

very interesting thread janab-e-ali. as usual you end up showing what the true feelings of Kashmiries are as opposed to the wishful propaganda indian newspapers peddle.

First of all, the overall Hindu population has grown dramatically over the past 60 years (from 25% to 33%).

I'm assuming your smug comment is referring to the Pandits of the Kashmir Valley...who make up less than 2.5% of the full state's population, and most of whom remain settled in the Jammu division of the state. The 2001 Indian census figures actually include them in the figures for the Kashmir Valley...so the decline in the Muslim population and the dramatic rise in the Hindu population of Jammu have occurred independent of the Pandit exodus.

In any case, most of them would still be in their homes in Kashmir if the Indian government hadn't devised ways to build up mass hysteria among the population, and encouraged them to flee.

The sad thing is that such blatant Hindu nationalist fanaticism isn't just limited to a fringe minority in your country...most Indians really are that pathetically bigoted when it comes to Kashmir.

Which is why there is no viable option for our nation but independence. Remaining under Indian occupation will result in nothing but the destruction of our people.

Get independence from pakistan first.

there was a thread in WA about pakistani attitudes towards Kashmiri independence. Regardless of whether Azad Kashmir is really independent or is a proxy pakistani state, the average Pakistani is much, much more amenable to total Kashmiri independance than Indians. I dont believe anyone objected to Kashmir becoming totally independent in the thread. That is partially because we are not insecure about Kashmiries, given the strength of relations between the two countries, even if Kashmir is independent we expect Pakistan and Kashmir to be closely aligned on most foreign policy matters.

Inshallah we will support Kashmiri independence regardless of whether it is Pakistan they want to join or not. We also support all other independence movements in India.

As a matter of principle, if a group wants to leave India, we support them, but especially Kashmiries, with whom we share significant cultural and religious ties.

There are pragmatic reasons for Pakistani army to remain in Azad Kashmir, until total Kashmiri independence is achieved. For one it is a stated goal of India to capture the part of Kashmir that has wrested liberation from its claws. No prizes for guessing what happens when Pak Army leaves Azad Kashmir.

few idiots hoisting a flag in the campus isnt a big deal....unfortunately nothing will change...

If the Mirpuris and Baltis and Gilgitis are happy being a part of Pakistan, then more power to them. Same goes for the Ladakhis/Jammuites and remaining in India.

None of that changes the fact that by all estimates, 80-90% of Kashmiris want freedom from Indian occupation...and God willing, we will get it.

A few "idiots" hoisting a flag sends a clear message across the board, and on this board (pun intended) that even the youth are for independence. You must've missed some member(s) of this forum bragging (in another thread) about how the youths of Kashmir are more open to Indian occupation than their ancestors were, and that overtime the thinking will change, etc. Well, i guess that's not so true or accurate.

Like Janab said, they should have put up a Kashmiri flag. It is Kashmir's right to be as it wants (i.e. Independant). Keep in mind that it is called Occupied Kashmir or 'Disputed Territory' for that very reason, and even U.N. recognizes that. Then why pretend it's an integral part of India, when that has not even established?

Aunty ji first read here their wishes then speak :hehe:

^ the same site also lauds Musharraf for proposing that gilgit/baltistan be resolved as a comprehensive solution for Kashmir. Pakistanies usually only ask for a referendum, and let the chips fall where they may.

A much more democratic, and non empiristic mindset than "we will keep kashmiri territory at all costs even if it means brutalizing the population". The ONLY reason for opposing a referendum is a desire to keep a territory against the will of its population, the very definition of an empire.

Lets see the data for the hindus in Azad kashmir and what happened to them, before you start your war.

:rolleyes: then why don’t you clean up your own mess before shouting on others?

whos shouting? and what mess?

this is a bulletin board and people have opinions about the topic at hand. As it happens this is a thread about Students unfurling Pakistani flag at the Uni of Kashmir. A pakistani isnt barred from participating in this topic, just because you managed to find some seperatist group in Pakistan!

Now if someone else were to open a thread on this, apparently marginal group, I would happily participate there too. Not that my participation there will solve any mess, you give me far more credit than I deserve.

The Balawaristan movement exists more in the Indian newsmedia than in reality. There isn’t a shred of evidence to suggest that most people of Gilgit-Baltistan want independence from Pakistan…the BNF itself says that they’re happy to remain in Pakistan if they’re granted proper representation in government (a more than legitimate demand).

I worked in Azad Kashmir & the Northern Areas after the earthquake. I’ve met people from Gilgit who, to this day, proudly speak of how their grandparents managed to expel the Dogra/Indian forces and raise Pakistani flags over their villages. You Indians always seem to forget the fact that the parts of the state currently under Pakistani control actually rebelled in favor of Pakistan in 1947, and fought tooth and nail to keep India out.