I have been going through a bit of a life crisis since graduating from university a year ago. I was abroad for three years , had a good life there and always had something to look foward too everyday. But since the last one year, I have been back in Pakistan and feel like my life has ended.
I have a good social network here, but I just dont feel like socialising, even with my university friends or high school friends. All I want to do is stay home and be useless. I find that the things to do here with friends and family are monotonous and they grow on you. I have been working for a few months now and it keeps me busy but I feel like there is absolutely nothing to look foward too and to be honest even if there is something to do , i stay away and confine myself to boredom by choice.
I wonder how many people out there had the same sort of life crisis at my age and how did they resolve it ? I am thankful to God otherwise , as I am indeed blessed in many ways but over the last year I feel like 66 instead of 23. I know there are people in stuck in worse problems than me and that my problem is largely self-created but still would appreciate some feedback here ! Thanks
haha , yeah I am considering doing a Masters Degree ,though I dont really need one as far as my career etc is concerned. But even if I do goto graduate school , I will eventually come back to Pakistan and be stuck in the same situation..
going abroad for Masters is just short term releif like you said you will go back to pak and be stuck in the same situation.
Are you living at home or on your own? i think when ure away from home to study the ability to go out when you want shop, dine out, cinema, gym etc and come home when u want gives you space and freedom which all us humans crave.
When back at home we lose this and have much more to answer to, also pakistan you cant really do all that stuff with ease/safety all the time in comparison to the west.
Maybe you need to try and find something different to do? like a sport and try and make more new friends at work.
thts a better option till the time u can afford it financially ... study as much as u cannnnnnnnnn ....:)
study to bhana hai ... u wil get a chance to learn alot from new place ... get diff exposure with dif countrymen .... + travel n tour
start golf trust me u wont get enough time for getting bore ...
Dude I can so feel you. I have been in Pakistan from the past 2 months and it feels like I am dumb or something. I also don't feel like doing anything. You can go to some foreign country for Masters and then settle abroad? It might be a doorway to heaven on earth. Ahem, I mean a solution to end this rut.
I guess the issue here is my not getting myself to accept the realities of my 'new life'. I have not lived in Pakistan and not been a student. I liked the carefree life at university, living alone and having friends around. Here I do have to devote a little time to my family ( I just have one other sibling , and very protective parents, though they dont curtail much on my freedom , financially or otherwise). Mostly I find myself thinking about the old days at university and the nostalgia is slowly ruining me. Work is another story , lets just say the field I have studied for and work in so far hasnt allowed me to meet any like minded people .
A number of my friends from university who are back in Pakistan find themselves in the same predicament. So even when we get together, our discussions mostly relate to the melancholy in our lives.* sigh
maybe ur job just aint motivating enough.. hence ur feeling this way? or maybe its the current situation in pak that’s getting u down? i know its getting me down..
as maroush said.. go travelling… go explore the world. Id recommend South America :k: havent been there myself, but its an aussie thing to go venturing in the Amazon.. one day Inshallah, one day
Yup same situation here! Im not sure if your a guy/girl. But I guess if your a girl finding a job in Pakistan is quite hard and it can be quite a weird environment to be in and pretty unsafe too.
I think alot of people kind of get into that rut when leaving uni. Moving back in with the family, trying to find a job, trying to create a circle of friends, what to do in the future? etc
I think doing a masters will only be a short term fix unless you want to settle abroad.. maybe apply for jobs in the county you were studying? Try and do a course at a local Pakistani university - im sure you could find like minded adults there too!
Sadzz ,yeah the situation in Pakistan isnt helpful at all , especially the tens of TV news channels taking the entire nation into deep depression.
McLoving, I am a guy ( though I acknowledge mugofcoffee isnt a handle most men would use on a forum , i happened to be sipping when when i registered.) Lately , I have been feeling like I am I am a foreigner here which makes me feel isolated. I shouldnt feel this way, as I grew up here, went to school here, and have my entire family here. Most of my close friends here are those who went abroad for their undergrads and feel like I do . Travelling etc won't help , I think , I need something which is a more permanent fix !
mugofcoffee... why dont u get out and help the nation if time and schedule permits? it may get rid of some of the depression?
I guess the news channels are trying to reach out to people for help.. i dunno? im depressed here cus not enoigh is being shown.. instead we have to listen to the idiotic politicians going up for election this weekend... no fun. Just annoying liars.
Use your freedom (cus ur single) to do as much as u can now before you are bound to too many responsiblities.
I went through that. After finishing school, you just feel like staying at home and doing nothing. Not going out with other people. Been there. I think I felt that way because I didn't give myself a break before... you get burnt out and contemplate your life and age... if you're behind compared to others the same age who are married and having kids (at least I would ponder over that). Take some time out for now. A few weeks. A month. But create a routine in your life. Go to the gym to give yourself an extra boost of energy. Go shopping with a friend. To socialize, you don't have to go to someone's house. If you have plans to get lunch or dinner, then invite a friend to go along with you. Maybe think about going back to school. But that feeling is normal.
muggay yaar u have a few things going, reverse cultural shock, u got used to living in a certain way and stepping back can be tough, second is a phase of life ending, basic education done..now what sort of situation.
had u stayed abroad and started working u would still have taken some time to adjust, some ppl take it liek ducks to water some dont, i had a very tough time after I was done with my uni and started working, plus I moved away from city and got married, everything I wanted but too much change too quickly and I was overwhelmed in ways, changes in all routine and surroundings.
in your case, u are in a diff situation, location routine everything has changed, what u may want to do is to do something just to get u out and meet ppl, take a language class or join some NGO as a volunteer.
and honestly, if u think that long term its just that u feel more at ease abroad then go back, seriously.