Strong Accents

I know someone that has a very very strong desi accent. I am not embarrassed of it The two times that we’ve been out to a restaurant, other people just sit and stare and listen. As it is, I don’t like it when people stare but he loves to talk and thats great since i’m more of a listener. I don’t have any issue with a strong accent but i just feel uncomfortable with the stares especially by non desis. He came to the United States 14 years ago and I’ve never seen anybody with such a strong accent. I’m already kicking myself for being so superficial.

He is Indian and has a strong Mumbai accent.

Re: Strong Accents

had a friend who was from mumbai. Accent had faded somewhat but he head bobbling got more frequent. He told me something like the further south you go in india the more frequent the head bobbling gets till you reach the tip of india and its like they are having an epileptic fit

Welsh accents remind me a bit of Indian accents..

South Indians have a very strong emphasis on 'T'. :)

what is a mumbai accent anyway? is your frandshipz marathi or hindi speaking?

mumbai ke convent educated jab munDii hilaa hilaa kar bolte haiN to lagtaa hai jaise gaanaa gaa rahe hoN! :D

saral pudhe

I think this is a storm in a tea cup. Youre letting what others may or may not think alter your perception of perfectly fine person.

Its the quality of speech, not what it may sound like to others, you should be focusing on. It shouldnt matter what people think, and in reality its no more than a passing thought for them.

One of the most intelligent and well spoken men I've had the pleasure of conversations with, has the thickest arab accent.

He talks very loudly?

Some folks in the west speak very loudly in restaurants.

^Yeah, they do.. so annoying..

The place where I work, we have weekly presentations.

The Iranians all speak the saaammmeeee. They tend to prolong the words especially the girls.** Diiiid heee presenteeed heees worrrk?
The Arabs use soft D and T. So the dAItA is SENt from tHIS place tOo tHAt one

The Bengladeshis will put force on D and T. ***DAATA (like BATA ) is senT phrom here to here.

*Oh... On the TOPIC.
**Who cares what a John thinks about mine, your or anyones accent?

All the Bangladeshis I know say a soft 'd' (a bit like 'th') rather than a hard/forceful one..

Iranians speak English like the French I think.. I find the accents very similar..

Bhery bhell

I am thinking that he speaks more of Hinglish. I believe that Hinglish should get a rank of a dialect, just like Ebonics

really , does his accent matter? If it was a professional setting , I could understand why. But in a personal setting, does that even matter? are you actually feeling embarrassed being with the person? coz if you really care then this should absolutely become a trivial matter and people staring shouldnt really matter .

We all have our downsides and when people who care for each other are together, they help each other overcome their shortcomings rather then feeling conscious about them

Is this a rishta? If not, why even give it a second thought and be "embarrassed" about it?

On another note, I've always been mystified as to how if you come to this country as a child and attend school, and still have such a strong accent in adulthood. I know 3 people (3 diff ethnicities) that are like that.....so.....idk.

There are young gypsies here in the UK who've never set foot in Ireland yet have the strongest Irish accents.. I think a lot of it is to do with how tight-knit the families are and the fact they want to keep a distance from the 'natives'.. They're reluctant to assimilate..

talk in urdu and relax and enjoy. engreezy bolna zroori hy /

Aap Zra Urdu mein btayen Aap kehna kya chahte hai