Hi all…
as far as i remember i have never posted for advice in life1, so this my first time asking for advice here although i regularly visit GS…
the problem is there’s this really, and i mean REALLY, annoying girl in my class (im in med school second year, in pak, btw) who’s a zabardasti ki friend, and i really want her to leave me alone, but she just doesn’t want to leave me alone, she’s just soooo annoying, she bothers me for every little thing (like uska apna kaam hoga and can you believe it even if i yell at her i don’t and i *won’t *do her work she wud still try to get me to do it…
the thing is i moved to Pak from Canada to study medical and it was my first schooling experience in Pak, (most years of my schooling are done in middle east and few years in canada, so i m not the ABCD type at all as i was brought up in middle east and we had a lot pakistani ppl there)…so now when i started uni, as i was new, i happened to be friends with this girl…aur phir waqt ke saath i found her thinking very different from mines, infact i think usay andaza bhi nahi how things work in this world (outside pak)… for example if we have a test (and keep in mind we r studying to become a doctor), she wud literally take out the books and make mark answers for her and even just write them out for her so she can rattafy (memorize) them to do the test…now from where i come, we were always taught the lessons and when tested on them, we wud read back our books and notes and see if we comprehend the lesson fully, this is what i m atleast used-to to prepare for a test…so anyways i found this very awkward and wrong what she wanted to do, and i said to her how about i teach u this (in urdu, that is, as it is the language problem why they dont study the rite way, some ppl in pak still do not comprehend english and so choose to “rattafy” already-made answers and notes), and then i wud ask her what she got from the lesson and if she got most of it atleast i will ask her to write me some notes or an answer for some question so that way she get some practice of writing answers herself because this is the right way of doing an exam…so her reply to that was “ye to mujse kabhi hoga hi nahi, tumhari inhi baaton ideas ki waja say meray first year ke papers bhot kharab hue thay”…now i was just so shocked, come on you’re studying to become a doctor, clinic mai jab patient aaiga to aap usay uski problem ka hal kaisay bataogi if u havent ever understood anything what u studied or even tried understanding it…and i know its really mean to say but she’s kind of slow at understanding lessons, and when i get my lessons, she literally said once usay jalan hoti hai that i understand what we are taught (she tried to say it in mazaak karnay wala manner but i know she meant it)
and whenever we are in a test she wants to cheat, and so i avoid her in all our exams (because if i sit around her and obviously i try to not let her cheat, she will come back say what kind of a friend u r…yaar friends mai to ye sab chalta hai, grow up, and all that…then when the results come out and if hers is not good she’ll be like ye sab tumhari waja say hua hai…and usually she attempts tests of a med school without studying for them, she says it herself tukkay lagae hain ![]()
also she’s really jealous of all the smart ppl of our class…so much that she once we were talking and she swear at one of them and that smart girl’s friend was around us…i got so mad because i do not think about that smart girl that way at all…infact she’s really nice to me and also a friend…and i was so afraid someone heard this annoying zabardasti ki friend of mine say things like that and they may think i think the same way about that nice girl when i don’t…this other time she joking abt someone of our class “wo wafat paa gai”, and again i got soo mad as ppl around wud think i too say same kind of stuff abt others…
my post is really long i know, but these are still just few instances that i hav written above…there’s lot more…so i will stop here
preferably those living and studying in Pak advice plz…
i have tried avoiding her in everyway, and once i have even yelled at her…and she gets it that i want her to leave me alone, but she keeps sticking to me…i m sick and tired of her…also i m a shy person and not the talkitive type, and i m sensitive about others so i dont like to hurt ppl…so i guess this is one reason i m not being able to tell her off, and she also doesn’t want to leave me alone (she seems the type who uses ppl, like i said above she wanted me to get her self-made notes of lessons for her to memorize)