stress with the in-laws to be already

ok we getting married soon inshallah, as u guys know hes my cousin.

ok well hes a lovely guy as his dad
, they are both the same natured, and his dad is my mammu.

on the other hand his mum is from an outside family, and shes abit weird. while my mammu told her she can buy whatever she wanted for my gold jewellery she wanted to buy a cheap set, and was persuaded by my aunt to buy something more appropriate..she wanted a 5 tola set in the end they got 13…
ok then she had to make either chooriyan or karey ( sorry hope you understand) and when she must have realised the price of chooriyan being more expensive she opted for karey and those were only 2 tola each…

she also didnt bother showing anyone else what they got me from the walima yet she wants to be included in the barat shopping which my aunt is doing for us…

and its just little things as well, god knows i kp thinking she doesnt like me, however i get told by fiance she does like me…i dnt know what to think man.

these things dishearten me, im not greedy for gold, but it means something when ur MIL isnt being generous enough…

on top of that why do they think some one whose been educated from the uk with a masters will want to settle down in pakistan…

please tell me am i being over sensitive…or what?

my in laws to be are realy quiet people too, almost silent. they are quite by nature but still it feels like theres a lack of communications…im pretty sure we are getting married because he likes me more than she does…i could be wrong..

lift me up please :{

also it doesnt help that my mums sisters like talking about her because we dnt live there so they are doing our shopping for us and in duscussion with my mum tell her about the way my MIL is…etc maybe they exagerating but they are not rude people or deliberatly being rude about my MiL but who knows, these talks they have with my own mum are making mum and me just abit more stressed for no reason and now im finding i dnt really like my MIL

Girl!! u need a tiny smack in ur head!. Honestly, these things r so immaterial n unimporatant tat u shud not worry bout em n shold not let ur relationship get affected wiht ur inlaws.
these things r so unimportant n i cant emphasize tat enuf. if u already have these things in ur mind tat u have masters from uk n u cant live in pak n other concerns then talk to ur fmaily but dont destry ur relationship wiht ur inlaws.

mayb she got ur karas cuz they look better (it's very mean of u to think tat she opted for karas cuz she was being cheap). i feel for the mil already. i'm bout to puke. i' m sorry but tat's just mean and bad!

Re: stress with the in-laws to be already

I think you are over reading the situation. Be happy and why worry if it is 3 tolay or 19 tolay.. enjoy your life with your hubby and prep for the wedding

I know people who have done PhDs here in the UK and then relocated to Pakistan… just because you have a UK Masters, you think that Pakistan is inhabitable for you? :aq:

I don’t know exactly what the issue is, as you’ve mentioned many issues, but you’re getting married so just stay happy and don’t be so down man! It’s your wedding day… something to look forward to… everything else including the build up is all relative… just try to have a thick skin and and don’t take everything to heart and think that your in laws have it in for you… I think you read too much into it…and you don’t want to get off on a bad start with the MIL… just chill girl! :slight_smile:

Honey, fine you have a master's & are educated in UK and will have trouble settling in Paki, but why was this NOT discussed prior to engagement being finalized? What does your husband do/his education? Does he really want to settle in pakiland or does he want a UK visa? Again why wasn't this discussed upfront, so you can make a decision about whether you are able to have this new lifestyle or not.

As for aunts telling you stuff, it seems people need a reason to gossip. Esp. as his mother is your aunt's SIL, there could be reason to believe they are just nit-piocking. Please don't go by what OTHERS tell you about your MIL & ruin your relationship, those OTHER people woul dbe more than happy to see you miserable. Go by what you MIL says to YOU and how she behaves with YOU, because at the end of the day, your husband can get you any jewelry or anything you really want if it is that big a deal. Again is your hubby to be well off? I am assuming he is the one that is paying for the purchas eof all this wedding stuff, maybe he gave his mom a budget to work with?

I thought you said you were still in your teens? and if you have a masters in your teens, then WOW :k: but what makes you think that having an education in UK or having masters makes you better than anyone living in Pakistan?

anyways..I don’t why you are having issues with everything when it comes to your marriage. If just the wedding part is so difficult to get through for you, then how are you going to deal with after-marriage issues? Believe me, they are far more complex and twisted..

and about the issue at hand, which i don’t even think is an issue. Carpool has pretty much said all the right things. I think you should focus on building and improving your relationship with your inlaws, rather than frowning over materialistic things. Best wishes for the future

And why is the weight of gold such a big issue. Trust me as long as your hubby is a ood person and your relationship is strong, all these other things really don't matter. My mom had given me a VERY heavy wedding set, as well as other heavy sets...and my in-laws gave me a decent set, but much lighter compared to mom's. But all my jewelry just sits in a bank locker building zakat, that's it. It is more of a hassle than anything else. And trust me I felt a little like you did, but got to know my MIL, and how she is normally, not just with me specifically. And alhumdulillah we have a good relationship. Worry about your relationship with hubby, and stop stressing about what your MIL did or didn't do.

Aww come on people… she’s just got pre-wedding jitters… your mindset changes and you think that everyone is out to get you and you manifest into something that not even your nearest and dearest recognise… it’s called the ‘bridezilla’ effect :hehe:

Just be supportive :slight_smile:

i feel sorry for the whole family. sorry Nadz for the rudness but come on girl...these things shld matter. i see over and over again that u have a problem with moving to pakistan, well u shld of thoght abt that before saying yes for this rishta.

(:fatee: I told you it’s the bridezilla effect, but no… abh aur agh lagao us ko :smack:)

please don't pay attention to what your aunts are saying. some of it may be true but the thing is everything is never going to be your liking. it's not a wise idea to hold a grudge against your MIL right from the beginning. she'll be a part of your life whether you like it or not. you'll have to compromise and accept things as they are. if something's not to your liking, just let it go. positive thinking will take you a long way.

Nadz. one piece of advice. sorry "khawateen for stealing it from u but i really liked it when u told some1 this. so i am giving reference to khawateen n her bro as this was her post

"wehn u move to ur new house with in laws u r going to make and change opinions bout them every day. remember u r new they would be doing the same bout u. these r ur new family n u'll b spending rest of ur life with them. if u want respect and love u'll have to give them the same respect and love." ( i think this was she had posted i cant find the post so i just recalled my memory)

ppl will respect u if u give respect. remember ur in laws want love and respect and if u cant give that then there's no point in ahving all the wonderful degrees u have. u are "judged" by your attitude, behavoir and nature and not by your degrees. I know u r getting very nervous as ny gal gets but try putting that energy towards something positive and u'll achieve wonders. u proly havent met ur MIL in a while and are scared. i'm sure once u meet her u'll laf n tell us all tat she's the most wonderful woman on this planet. IA AND AMEEN SUMMA AMEEN.

thank you...i guess you are right. yeah i havent seen her for 7 years, hardly ever speak to her on the phone. however it is weird, shes not like my other aunts who i freely chat to, in fact when im on the phone to her my mind is blank...i cant think of any words to say to her after salam ji aap kaisi hai....i get all nervous and push the phone onto someone else...shes very uncomfy

i think the real problem is that u are very shy while speaking to her and u said it urself that u get nervous, so she posb. isbn't "ucomfy" its just u.

maybe if u talk to her more abt things (like all the planning)...she ll open up with u.

Just because u have a masters means that u r 2 good to go to pakistan!!! That is such a disgusting attitude to have, if thats wht u think of Pakistan why the hell r u moving there :smack:

trust me Nadz - ye sab baatein kuch maani nahi rakhte - they dont mean a thing when you see that your in-laws honestly and genuinely love you -

what they give you is totally out of love, shudnt matter if its a tola or 13 - atleast theyre GIVING something to you - i've knwn girls who dont even get muu dikhaaii from their in-laws or relatives and theyre still living amazing lives - true buraa zaroor lagta hai lekin agar tum har baat ko pakar kar issue banaoo gi to it wont really work out hun - like my mom says tum apni tension ki zimmedaar khud ho, you get all worked up aur doosre bande ko pata bhi nahi hoga" -

you really need to step back and analyse what it is thats really bothering you - my shaadi ka set was 6 tole ka and my choorian were 7 tola but it wasnt something that mattered, what mattered was when my MIL sat me down and handed me things tht she had worn after she got married, her old sets, her old things - and i cherish those soo much - how many times are you going to wear that gold set? once, maybe twice? I think shes being really generous as far as giving you everything is concerned.. and if she wants to be involved in the baraat ki shopping let her be .. maybe she wants to knw your choice before she heads out and buys your things from their side .. try looking at the bigger picture rather than making everything an issue - trust me ye cheezein aage jaakar BAHUT matter karti hain especially if it has to do with your attitude -

Ive always given my devarani everything - i buy things for her the same way i do for myself - for eid she got me a watch and a pashmina from the FLEA MARKET! but it didnt make any difference atleast she got me something regardless of where it was from or how much it costed - it is always the thought that counts.. so before you put everything into a negative perspective, think about how much it really would matter.. is it something tht will define your relationship with them? because if the amount of gold u get defines that then you really might not be ready for this.. marriage is soo much more than that - trust me i learnt the hard way when i made an issue about the SAARI's i got from my in-laws.. it sounds like a petty thing but i got soo pissed that they were all banarasi and no one could order one from india or bangladesh where all my hubby's taya's live! but trust me later on it didnt matter cuz i went out and shopped for saari's to my hearts content - and with a little baby on board my nand wasnt able to do much and i totally realized how stupid I WAS later!

so take a chill pill huny and sit down and BREATHE - stop getting all meddled up in these things and go get a massage or a mani/pedi - goodluck!

Nadz,

Your MIL is your relative. And there are SOOO many girls whose MIL's are not related to them in any way prior to marriage..........and their MIL's are still MONSTERS. Also, keep in mind that there are also girls whose MIL's are blood related......for example their MIL might be a khala or a phoopo.......and even then they can be pretty nasty.

And it's not only desi people. It's also non-desi people who have issues with their in-laws. You know where I got the term monster-in-law from??? I got it from my tenth grade gori psychology teacher. This teacher would frequently tell us about her monster-in-law. Also, there's a movie called Monster-in-Law, lol. You should watch it. And you should also watch Meet the Parents if you haven't already. What I'm trying to say is that toxic in-laws are not an ucommon problem.

**Will you be living with your in-laws after marriage or will you and your husband be living separately? **If you both will be living separately, then that makes your life easier. If you both will be living with your parents, then you need to work on trying to bond with your MIL. If you'll be living with in-laws....then maybe after some time your husband himself might decide to move out. It's workable, Nadz. There are many girls who have toxic in-laws and most of them haven't ended their marriage because of it. You'll be fine.

I do not know why your MIL thinks that a girl raised in the UK will want to settle in Pakistan. In these cases, usually the guy moves to the UK/US/Canada from Pakistan. But instead of pointing the finger at your MIL for why she would assume you'd want to live in Pak...................why don't you think about why you went along with this rishta. Honey, you KNEW the expectations of this rishta from the very beginning................and you could have kindly rejected the rishta if the terms/conditions of this rishta seemed so disagreeable to you. Your parents don't seem like the kind who would force you against your wishes to marry someone in the first place. Also, your mom herself knew what your Moomani (MIL) was like and she also knew the terms of this rishta.............so your mom herself could have rejected this rishta instead of saying "yes" to sending you to live on the other side of the world.

Nadz.....you will be getting married soon. Pray namaz for guidance. It will also provide you with peace of mind. You are not married yet and already you're stressed out. The wedding preparations themselves can be hectic on their own. Think of it this way. Let's say that you go move to a new school......or maybe you're about to start a new job. In the beginning you're really nervous and you think that nobody will like you and that you won't fit in. And you start missing your old school, your old job, and your old life that was so FAMILIAR to you. But after a few weeks at this new school, new job........you slowly start adjusting and fitting in. Thing will fall into place, Nadia. You're just feeling nervous and that's natural. But this is something you'll have to go through....before things fall into place for you. You're a confident and smart girl, you'll be okay :)

well said RV!

Also as Mysticalrain pointed out.....you'll find out more about your in-laws after marriage. Did you ever think that perhaps your MIL is just a very frugal person. Seriously, there are many people who are very careful about how they spend their money (even for special occasions such as weddings). There are people who have sooooooo much money and still they're very frugal.........but they are still very nice people. I've known individuals who don't like to spend too much money.....but they are still VERY NICE in other ways.

How one spends their money is only ONE aspect of their personality. The other apects of their personality might be more positive. You'll find out more about your MIL after marriage. And I know that you're hearing negative things about her, but keep in mind that you were not there to witness these negative things. It's like listening to gossip/rumors.....you're only getting one side of the story. You might argue that it's not just gossip and that you're being told these stories by your khalas (mom's sisters).............BUT..........STILL........everyone (including ur khalas) have their own interpretation of situations. Also, keep in mind that it's not just your life that will be changing. Your khala's life is going to change as well. She might feel insecure at the thought of losing her son. So, try to bond with your MIL after marriage and assure her that you're not here to steal her son and that you genuinely want to be a member of their family.

Im posting frm my phone so sorry about any typos ppl! Im about to ghettofy!

Nadz, you know how many times Ive bn askd abt what i want for gold or clothes or jewelry??? TONS!!! My answer is...apko jo pasand ayega, mere liye sahi hai. Its a gift! You dnt demand gifts woman, be happy you're getting them. If you're educated then buy your stuff yourself, make your Bari amazing! The fact that she is even giving you gold is huge. I dnt care if I dnt get a dime. Im young, my whole life is ahead of me to buy stuff. Pakistan ke halat itne bure hein but she is still managing to do what she can. Appreciate it! This is very petty. I hope you can put this behind you and move on to better things.

Gold? Who cares? Nadz, you have better things to worry about!