The new Pakistan Cricket Board chairman has told the national team to stop exhibiting religious beliefs in public. Dr Nasim Ashraf is concerned about a perception that players will only be picked if they are devout Muslims.
And he has discussed the matter with captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, who is currently serving a ban from the game.
“I have told him clearly that there should be no pressure on players who don’t pray regularly or any compulsion on them to do it,” Ashraf commented.
“He has assured me there is no pressure on anyone to do anything they don’t want to do.”
The importance of religion to the Pakistan team has grown in recent years.
And batsman Mohammad Yousuf, a former Christian, made headlines in 2005 when he revealed his conversion to Islam.
It resulted in him being publicly disowned by his mother, but he has been in prolific form for Pakistan since then.
“I had money and fame but I was restless,” he explained.
“At the end of the day I would wonder what kind of a life this was. It was too superficial.”
Ashraf said he accepted religious faith was a motivating factor for the national team.
“It binds them together - but there should be balance between religion and cricket,” he added.
BBC
Re: stop exhibiting religious beliefs in public. Dr Nasim Ashraf
this is absurd, this tattu of musharraf, nasim ashram, who has gotten his training in America should shut up already, he gives statements everyday! he needs to stfu already! everyday he gives statements!
What? All they do is saying thanks to Allah, and some of them keep beards, they shud stop? Shave them off? I think he is taking it a bit too far. With all the things happening in England, it has gone to his head, if Pakistan starts doing all this despite being a muslim country, than there is nothing stopping other countries to start this oppression.
I said it in one earlier thread as well, that this guy is quite a seculer one,I once saw him dancing in a T.V show on a song,he lived in U.S.A for decades and some of the leading christian and jew people ,specially Doctors and surgons are among his close friends ,infact when there was rumours of possible Pakistan-Israel diplomatic relations couple of years ago he was said to be a strong supporter of that .
Its not like they are praying in public ba’jama’at to show that they are religious, or if they are wearing topy or pagri (intentionally for purpose of showing ‘religiousness’) while giving interviews etc. Focus on something better Mr Nasim
Bad signs of things ahead. He is just doing to get on the good side of christians and jews, who have been pushing more muslims to become like them, and stop being good muslims.
This is very unfortunate but it is true that Musharaf and nasim are trying to show to the world that they are not practicing muslims. There is nothing wrong in being friend with Jew or Christian or any one, but at the same token there is nothing wrong to follow your faith and respect it.
Does it mean Nasim will ask Sikhs not to wear turban? Does it mean he will ask Christain players to play on Christmas.
I think he is out of his mind. In such stupid situation i think people in management, team and public should voice their concern. These guys are going way beyond the normal psychy of human beings. Musharaf telecast his biography and his son (Belal) and autobiographers tell people (very proudly) that unlike other army officers, Musharaf doesn't pray, and love his whisky. I think Pakistani Military officers and Politicians should get some balls and show the door to these guys.
It's a shame...I'm ashamed of having the terrorist nutjabs and these secular nutjobs having anything to do with my religion. No wonder the state of affairs of muslims these days...I'm ashamed and very worried. Jews and Christians must be jumping for joy.
I think all he is saying is that act normal. You dont have to wear your relgion up your sleeves. How many times when you meet your friend & relative and start your conversation like 'Bismillahir-rahmanir-rahim, First thank to God .... '....
I have never saw any Aussies starting all interviews ' Thank God and Son of God....' or Indian starting with 'Om Namah Shivaye....'
Looks like most of you have missed the point Naseem Ashraf is trying to make. He needs to make sure that players who don't practice religion in the same manner that Inzi does should NOT be subjected to unfair treatment.
Imagine this scenario, you work in a company here in America. The owner happens to be a practicing Christian. He and other managers make regular prayers 3 to 5 times a day at your workplace. You don't participate in any of that. Would you feel comfortable working in such a place? That is why there are laws about workplace environment. Why should cricket - a profession be spared?
please don’t try to reason with these idiots.
Way to twist someone’s word completely out of context. Next thing you know, our great pukka muslim bretherens will be blaming musharraf for a thunderstorm.:halo:
Funguy nailed it on the head. “live and let live” is fast becoming a foreign concept to us. No wonder we are getting our asses kicked all over the world.
Now watch a pukka musaalmaan come in and quote a scripture from the koran to prove I along with all the other infidels are going to hell.
well i think you so called secularist who love to condemn ne1 who loves thier identity have missed the point, if you watch american basketball, more then often a lot of players will say, "thank teh lord Jesus" or" I just have to thank GOD' because all i can do is try! i understand him saying no1 should b subjected to prejudice in selection if he doesent pray, but i dont think this happens at all with this team because they love attending prayers and hey say it has brought them 2gether!
May be Nasim doesn't want to pray, but in Pakistan people go to prayer with jama'at while at work, its not like Pakistan has work culture like US. Going to prayer while being at work is not an odd thing (esp in Muslim countries). Nasim is just trying to act 'cool'.
typical desi response. baat kyaa ho rahee hay aur yay saaheb kis taraf ravaaN haiN. Oh bhai jaan, Naseem as the CEO of an organization has responsibility towards all the players. He has to make sure every player feels comfortable in the environment.
So he asks practising muslims to stop practing? Is that the correct way? If he has a legitmate reason to believe that players are apprehensive of approaching Inzamam regarding this subject or feel that they will not be included in the team because they do not pray.... let him show the proof otherwise he should keep his pie hole closed.
Well I don't know about the rst of you but I did not read this report to say he wants the team and maybe INZI to change what they say...rather to be inclusive as ISLAM is inclusive...it does not force ppl ...
Also on another note, I don't know bout u ppl who live and work in the US or UK..but I certainly take every opportunity to mention smthng bout Allah or GOD ..and yes I do sometimes mention thanks to GOD/Allah as US society is devoid of spirituality...so I for sure pray and hope..that our players don't stop (INZI specially) mentioning bismillah...it is a great service to Islam and show pride in who we are and not being the supposed apologetic slave minded secularistic individuals that some of the ppl want themselves displayed as ....
DONT GIVE UP INZI AND GANG.... TELL NASIM THAT HE CAN'T DICTATE WHAT THEY HAVE TO SAY WHEN THEY GET A CHANCE TO SPEAK...
AFTER ALL IT IS THEY WHO ACHIEVE WINS FOR PAK...NOT PPL LIKE NASIM...
AND THEY DSERVE A CHANCE TO SAY WHAT THEY WANT
if pcb as an organization doesnt want players to display their beliefs in public, then this issue ought to be put to vote, or atleast a debate among the staff and players. put an end to these adhoc decisions, please.
The proof is in the pudding and not in your pie hole. What if Nasim doesn't feel comfortable in the work environment? doesn't he have the right to ask?