Stoning the pillars/walls at Hajj.

Is it obligatory, given that each year for the past 2 years hundreds of people have been crushed to death by their brothers in Islam during this ritual, I’m thinking that when I inshallah go for Hajj I’d like to skip it if possible.

Re: Stoning the pillars/walls at Hajj.

or go there in the morning when crowd is less like shia scholars advise people to do so.....

This year sunni fatwas say it’s all good too.

It's not obligatory, especially for women. At least, that is what we were told last year.

It's an extremely dangerous area. The time frame that we are supposed to do the stoning in is not sufficient despite the fatwa extending the time frame, a lot of people are not aware of it which is why there is a mad rush.

What happened today was absolutely tragic, especially since it seems to happen every year. :(

It is dangerous because it is wide open... and people are just too many, mashallah... if (again this is just an idea) somehow authorities can channelize the coming and going of the people, it would help. Instead of all going once in "jhurmutts" it would be good to see them going in lines, throwing the stones and returning back through another channel which is coming back.

^ Well, it's not just that. People there go crazy cause they actually believe they are stoning the devil and don't realise that the wall alone isn't really the devil and that is partly due to what their group leaders are telling them. I know our group leader told us that if our stones actually hit the wall, then angels will fly down and collect the stone and grant our prayers. Now, of course that is not true, but plenty of people do believe that kind of stuff which is why there is such a mad rush to get as close as possible to the wall. People need to be educated and told not to push, cause people fall and get trampled on causing others to fall ... and believe me, they push pretty much everywhere during Hajj.

It is mandatory I blv, but weaker people (ladies/old men) can ask someone else to do it on their behalf.

I don’t know what happened today? More deaths? :bummer:

345 died today. :frowning:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/middle_east/4606002.stm

Another thing we need to do is educate people to do hajj at young ages. South Asians are the ones who perform hajj when they are almost OLD and almost dying! Indonesians on the other hand perform hajj at very young age, many after few years of getting married. I can bet that many who died today will be Asians because of their old age and are very weak. (i hope I am wrong)

Very closed and very opened places are dangerous and controlling FLOW of the people is more important and easier and less time consuming than going around educating people that you don't push, well they will push and get emotional.
What I mean by flow is that take major highway for example and you divide it into coming and going *and then you further divide each section into lanes so that traffic flows smoothly. Saudis need to make this happen and think about it, if there are channels/lanes made to let people walk to the shaitans in orderly fashion and then come back through another channel... there are a lot of technicalities that go into this for it to be any help in the future. I won't be surprised if it was presented when they were "*redesigning" the area and maybe it was rejected for reasons unknown to me. :D

very very sad :frowning: I hope they come up with a better system next year!

Most victims are south asians and south-east asians.

Yeah, its scary, and actually, I think its flat out unnecessary and irresponsible on the part of the saudi government. Either not make it mandatory, so people can reserve the right to protect their life if they so choose, or make sure that the whole process is coordinated, so that there are no stampedes.

I'm sorry, but the whole purpose of the Hajj is to worship God and enlighten yourself and have a real spiritual experience. Take that sophisticated concept and couple it with the jaahil experience of running around crazy and trampling people under your feet, and the whole thing just doesn't make any sense.

Inna-Lillah-e-Wa-Inna-Ilaih-e-Rajioon…:flower1:

My mother wished for something like this to happen to her during the Hajj…It is said, that when one dies during the Hajj, it is as if he will be performing the Hajj every day till Qiyamah and no barriers or questions will bar their way to Jannah…

Those who died during this were indeed the very, very fortunate ones…May Allah :swt: accept each and every one of these these martyr’s Hajj, Ameen…

Straight to Paradise they go…Allah :swt: has called them to Himself in the best of conditions and circumstances…

Indeed they are most fortunate and have received the glad tidings of Jannah…

I dont get why you think its fortunate for people to get stampeded to death.

I think the whole blessing of a death comes when one dies a natural death in Mecca, and even so, I don't know if that's a desi superstition or if there is some real Islamic basis for that claim.

I dont think God wants us to go and get stampeded to death when on a pilgrimmage to worship him. I don't see how you can justify that anywhere Islamically.

Do Muslims get bonus points for dying during Ramadan as well?

Death is death…Whether you die at 16 or 60 or by a bullet, in a car accident, by a bomb or on a deathbed…It all depends upon the circumstances under which you die…No one will escape death and no one has…We all must die and answer for our deeds which we have done on Earth…

Some people ignore death as if they are immune to it and some don’t consider facing it as a serious matter…Fact is, we all will die and face our actions whatever they were on Earth…

In this case the deaths of these fortunate Hujjaj happened when they were in a state of purity, in a state of devotion and in a state of worship doing the most virtuous of deeds which is Hajj…

True, some may die by a drug overdose, while listening to music, while watching a porno, while dancing, while fornicating or drunk or a million other states of sin…

Do you really believe the deaths of these people in the state they were in is in any way equal to the death of someone who dies in a state of sin?

Allah :swt: had destined for them to die in the state they were in and a state which I don’t know can be better…Except a Shaheed…

And it’s not a Desi superstition…It is a fact that when one dies during Hajj, he is considered a martyr and will be raised on Judgement day in the condition he was with Talbiyyah (Labaik Allahumma Labaik) on his lips…

If they were in a state of fasting and worship, then definitely they do...

Allah is most merciful...He has placed bonus points on each and every turn of one's life, but it is the smart ones and those who seek knowledge who know how to attain those bonus points throughout one's life...

Yea I was watching a video and heard that women and children usually don't even go there. Or is it that they're not allowed to?

I personally feel, (Only in this case) that the Saudi Government is really doing a Excellent Job, in fact those who have performed Hajj lately can Vouch, the Facilites and Amenities and Comfort level of the Hajis has been elevated atleast 200 times from the 80's to the early 90's.

Rahi Baat Throwing stones at the Shaitans, I can say from personal experience , inspite of the multiple lanes and multiple levels for the benefit of hajis, Man I have seen People throw Stones, Chappals, Water Bottles, and anything they can lay their hands on, and worst part is they pay no attention where their missles land most of the times they land on the Hajis in the front rows, which is where the actual stampede starts. or even people fall of from one level to a lower level, Now dont get me wrong its not intentional on the Hajis parts but they get so carried away by the passion of the moment, that they dont realise the consequenses (sp) of their actions.

Ashtray Bhai, LoL , not so much the Sudanese but man those 6 feet Nigerian women can sure elbow their way through any crowd, and those elbows to the ribs sure hurt.

Lajawab Bhai, You leave me speechless.

Aejaz

I think group leaders need to tell the people that its okay to go at any time, instead of just between sunrise and sunset. A few years ago, my parents went at like 1 in the morning, and there was absolutely no rush. With the wider pillars, I am sure if people went throughout the day, there would be no insanity or tragedy