Oh Boy – the PCG scares the muniya… :eek:

ithna ghussa?

Re: Staying single

i thought it was funny :hehe:

and they still want someone normal.

they dont think that any desi man is normal, but they still want one.

This is not cool. Ya'll are derailing the thread!

I am single, both by choice and circumstance. Choice because I have said no to a few rishtas. And by circumstance between none of the true proposals appealed to me. Mind you there was a time or two I was interested and it wasn't reciprocated.

Is is acceptable to society? That's not really my problem - I won't marry where I don't believe that being with this person long-term is better than being single - I look for compatibility and compromise.

Is it acceptable to me? I haven't closed myself off from the possibility of marriage - if someone I can trust and relate to comes along, sure I'd get married. But I won't marry just to appease the masses - I'd marry because my happiness is involved.

Keep a tight grip on the golden rope of hope, 10 years is a long period of time.

Because of my undieing love for GS and all you single gals out there, I will make the ultimate sacrifice and…offer up my baniya…he’s smart, has money (but doesn’t like to spend it) is resourceful like macgyver, can install tile and wood floors, rebuild a car engine and has buns of steele to boot. On the flip side, his family is psycho, he can be gramaticaly challenged at times and has a hot temper…all in all not a bad catch…and I’ll throw in three potty trained bachas as well…

You can thank me later… :hat:

(and before the moral pundits start lashing out at me for being besharam, I am kidding folks…well sorta)

for a sec i thought you were auctioning away your baniyan -__-

this is a little less disturbing..

No fanks. I would rather have you.

P.S why do you call your vota ‘Baniya’…what does it mean? Which kind of Pakistani is it?

Don't men have the right to be as picky as they want when choosing their life partner?

Khatti , I'll take one of the kids!!

They do but going back to Pakistan doesn't mean you're picky. It means you're prejudiced...or can't find a wife abroad because you're that awful...

prejudiced.. says the person who rejected a beautiful gem of a machlimard coz he has a desi accent. tsk tsk..

That's not always true. I feel kind of bad for some of you, it seems like your communities have some spectacularly delusional men.

I would rather marry a moderately conservative girl from abroad, or a liberal girl from Pakistan; I don't want a quiet, obedient, wife, rather someone who speaks her mind and has outside interests. And no, I'm not some obese mama's boy. I was a jock in high school, got the typical Desi grades, and was pretty popular with the ladies. I never had a serious girlfriend or anything because I would just be using them and I'm not a scumbag.

I am, however, agnostic, and perhaps not very Desi, so I want a girl who is more cultured than me, so that my kids would have that in their home life. Ironically, most Desi girls around here try so hard to be "white" that it's annoying.

So, perhaps most guys you've met are scumbags and want pseudo servants for wives, but not all Desi guys are like that. As 'Pac would say, Keep Ya Head Up.

Khatti, I think I’m gay for your husband. If he can put up with a Cowboys fan (because they’re all obnoxious, am I right?) then he must be a saint.

I almost took upon your offer, but I realized that I am more of a soft cushiony buns kind of guy. Buns of steel intimidate me.

Mmm one could say the same about girls living abroad not wanting to marry "FOBs". Or looking down on the girls back home by saying the awful men have to settle for the ones back home. :/

I don't think it means anything. It is solely their choice. Kehne ko tau phir sari desi society prejudiced hai coz we don't usually marry non desi muslims, right?

Well! lets fast forward life a little, lets say 30 years from now. When you are sitting in your nice house, you have accomplished a lot of things in life. You are very successful in your career etc but everyday when you will come to your HOUSE (House becomes Home by the people who are living in it), it will be filled of emptiness. Even if you get a dog or a fish, you are not going to be getting any replies back besides barking and quiet stares of your fish.

Believe it or not.... i met this Aunty today, she is probably in her late forties. She said to me Nia getting married at the right age is extremely important and having a mom in life is extremely important as well. Her mom passed away when she was 5 and their father took care of them (4 siblings all together). She moved from Pakistan about 2 years ago (got here on a sponsorship via her brother), elder sister is single as well (lives in Pakistan), one brother died and one lives in Dubai.
She doesn't have anyone in US besides few family friends, i saw desperation in her voice to meet people and find friends. During our half hour conversation she said to me atleast 5 times its hard to live alone. She said its easy to say at a young age that one will live alone but as you get older you realize there is no one around you, expect your thoughts.

We all need a companion in our life. We have all fallen in love and then fallen out of love once or twice or even more then that (Allah has made so many nice people out there :p its hard to resist...Gosh that Steve in office is so *** anyways) ..... FYI...there is no man on earth who is worth that much that you waste your entire life for. I mean they all move on....so why pause your life....

About Society Crap, I can care less what they think to be honest but let me share what i have seen. A friend of mine got married when she was 40, let me tell you she was not invited to a lot of gatherings until she got married.
Why? we all saw her friendliness towards married men, to a point where it was inappropriate. I don't want to blame her but its human nature....