Stay-At-Home Desi Dads

If you know your wife can ern more than you (or even equal to you);

Guys, how many of you are willing (or will agree) to stay home to raise kids in early days (from KG to lets say Grade 4/5) and let your wife work?

and girls, how many of you will be ok with that? I have heard many times from girls “men look good at work”. What if you dont want to let your career go and guy suddenly offers to stay home with kids (may be a home business or not even that), what will be your reaction?

Re: Stay-At-Home Desi Dads

My husband would jump at the opportunity…and actually, he’ll do a pretty good job :hmmm:

I wont mind staying at home

Wow wowow khana woh pakaey bachon ko woh sanbhaley aur job se wapis aon tu sarey sarey mu bana ker dikhaon ke thak gai job per uff kitna maza aey jab plate patakh ker kahun abbey is main na namak na mirch na ghee tu hu ga dil ka mareez mery liey aisey hospitaliana khaney mat banya ker :D

ew

thats what I was talking about ....

My husband had a gap of 2 months between his old job and new job. In that period of time, i had a baby via C-section, and he took over EVERYTHING, from domestic duties like cooking (proper food, not take-outs and ready meals) and cleaning, to taking care of our children.; bathing feeding, taking them to school etc and so forth.

The guy would make an awesome house-husband and i know he wants to spend more time at home :D

Having said that, he's very traditional in the sense that he believes it's a man's job to work hard and earn to provide everything for his family. I'd have no problem with being the sole earner in the family, but the way things are, he has a much higher earning potential than me, and i know he wouldn't be comfortable with me bringing home the bacon, so to speak. :D

My husband won't do a good job being a stay at home dad. He is just so unorganized and doesn't care if the house is a mess. He is better off earning. He looks good at work :D

Oh yea sure why not . As long as she'll allow me to go to school again :p

I would have no problem with that as long as he is doing what he's supposed to do.

Can’t speak for my spouse, as I do not have one…

However. :smiley: I do have a dad. Let me tell you about my dad.

This man, mashallah, is super-man. Yes, I gripe about him sometimes, but honestly, those are some minor issues which we have hashed out and come to an agreement on, so he is back to his superstar status.

He cooks on the weekends. He cooks enough food so that my mom doesn’t have to cook much during the week. Now she is a teacher’s aide, so no offense to teacher’s aides, but the job is a no-brainer. I would expect someone can come home and cook some daal after work, no problem. :k: But he still cooks for her so she can do some light appetizer when she gets home.

He washes dishes every night. She cleans the table, plays with her tupperware, and cleans the stove.

Interestingly, she takes out the trash. And you people call that a man’s job. She does it just fine.

Let’s see. Whenever I need him, I can call him, and he gets out of work, and is there. Even for something ridiculous and minor. I had to get a task done at the bank - something that would require like a 3 dollar fee I guess, and he came to the bank, JUST so that they would see him and not charge me the fee.

I know. I am spoiled.

I think he was more macho when he first got married, but as his two daughters grew and he saw we were the most competent kids in both sides of the family including extended relatives, he pretty much became a feminist. He is a bigger feminist than me. Everything I write here, he pretty much agrees on. I share some GS stories with him sometimes, and some of you boys get pretty nice gaalian from him on a regular basis, FYI. Never cross paths with him, boys.

Let’s see what else does he do? He tends the garden. He does all the lawn work, but I guess that’s macho man job anyway. He tends to my mom’s roses. Um, he will pick fruit in the garden for my mom.

I don’t know. He’s not gay for sure.

And you know what? I thought he does some of this stuff just to be kind. I was at my parents last night, and he was washing the dishes, and telling my mother when she was offering to do the dishes ke nahin, phir tum thak jaa thi ho baad mein. And the two started giggling.

Then it hit me.

He does all that housework, so my mom has no excuse to say she’s tired later. :o

It pays to help around the house, men. It is by no means demeaning to your mardaangi. I guess one could argue it only enhances it.

And uh, yeah, I was scarred from hearing that. :disgust:

Keep in the bedroom, old people.

^ Your Dad is adorable! :)

I know. My mom really lucked out. He's so cute too. Has ladies hitting on him at work all the time, and he thinks its his cologne.

I'd stay home as long as the only thing I'd have to clean is myself.

I wouldn't mind.....I mean come on, coming home to a nice cooked dinner, a cleaned house and having practically everything done for me in exchange for me bringing home some dough that I am going to bring home regardless.......who would say no to such a life? :D

aww that is sweet (I closed my eyes at the rest of the post)

Your dad sound too nice. You must be mommy’s girl :slight_smile:

Daddy’s girl, actually. :blush:

My mom beat the crap out of me when I was growing up.

but she still left lot in there :smiley:

as for me, I did it (being a stay-home data) for couple of years and LOVED it. I did pretty much everything from cleaning to cooking to pickup and drop-off kids to school giving them bath and at the end of nakhrey that my begum normally do.

Best part of it was that i got to spend 2 golden years with my daughter who was 1.5 yo then. I came to know what I missed in case of our elder son. My begum worked and volunteered in those 2 years. She just wanted to take a break from house-wife routine and after couple of years she told me she is fresh, energized and ready to get back to housewife role.

oh and did I tell you the best part of it? on weekend I had privilege to say “sara week bachoon iko main daikhta hoon …now take them out somewhere and give me a break to do whatever” although I seldom used that privilege :slight_smile:

it depends on dads that how much he loves his children and how much he loves to cook and to clean.

if they love to get up in the morning, namaz, quran, exercise, make breakfast for his wife + kids, wash dishes, clean house, talk on the phone, surf net to be in touch with politics, do laundry, prepare lunch and dinner, pick up kids, clean em feed em, ironing or dropping off the laundry to the dry cleaner and keep up with relatives, buying gifts for them on several occasions, control the budget where they not only help his parents, and siblings but also his in-laws...and keep up with the community and also keep himself up to date with the latest fashions, and his hygiene...then by all means do it. cuz thats what an average housewife does.

I hope it will be a great experience for him.