state of emergency

Re: state of emergency

Justice Wajee is my favorite ex-judge. He would’ve taken over from Justice Saeed uz Zamman Siddiqui, had Mush not taken PCO’s from the judges. All three judges on this program resigned instead of taking oath on PCO.

Justice Wajeeh would’ve made a great CJP, IMO.

as long as he is performing..remember, your argument ;) ;)

What??? :eek: Only performed better than any regime. Surely not, Reading some posts here you would think that everything he touches turns into gold and the streets are paved with gold and diamond and people do not know the meaning of the word poverty.

:hehe: denial ke mahir hayn aap :k:

Musharraf IS recent history. If 8 years is not recent history, then what is?

You think Rice would call in just to check with Musharraf on mere "speculations"?

Reliable sources are saying that plans to impose emergency had to be put on hold coz, the love of our PM, Condaliza Rice called the President and shoved a finger, for not making it to Jirga and for siting american threats to operate in FATA as possible reason for emergency. The President is now going to honour the Jirga by his presence today.

alright. I’ll give Mush credit for some improvement in the overall standard of life in the urban areas of the country. The economy is doing better but like everyone he has his ups and downs. Downs mostly in social sector. Health education etc. But that all sounds like an old record so I’ll skip it.

It would be interesting to note the “trend” from 1988 to 1998 also.

I checked for infant mortality rate 1990 to 2000 and it had dropped from 100 to 84, a better achievement during the NS/BB era than Mush era.

http://http.unescap.org/esid/GAD/Statistics/Women%20Statistics%201999/table2.4.pdf

Why would PM love Condy, when he has had a walk in the park with Angelina Julie. Is he afraid of Brad Pitt, or Condy is real desperate (or what I like to the state of emergency).

Some of Pakistans key institutions have seen a lot of improvement... The most important thing to have come out of all this is the free media. Free media will have a tremendous effect on the country in the future...

Also, people like Shahid Javed Burki has been clamoring over the phenomenol rise in the Banking sector, and the great improvement in the Stock exchange...

As for telecom sector, most of the gains have apparently been minimized by the increasing import of foreign mobile phones and other equipment... Still, atleast there is growth... Now a days every one from your aunty to your local street begger has a mobile phone handy...:D

Jub emergency na laga saka toh jirga attend kar liya. :rotfl:

Besharmi kee bhi hud hoti hai

Pakistani Politics mein kissi chez ki haad nahi hai :)

I had the total expenditure on health and education in mind when I wrote that.
**ADB points to poor governance: Pakistan’s social indicators among worst in Asia](http://www.dawn.com/2007/08/15/top8.htm)

By Khaleeq Kiani
ISLAMABAD, Aug 14: The Asian Development Bank (ADB) in a special evaluation on Pakistan’s 60th independence anniversary describes it as a country with “poor governance, endemic corruption and social indicators that are among the worst in Asia”.

Full Report](http://www.adb.org/Documents/Reports/SAPE/PAK/sap-pak-2005-08/sape-pak.pdf)

Mashallah. It is good to see people seeing the whole picture. Pakistan is much better now than it was just over 8 years ago. :jhanda:

and this is why I say more plans r not what we need.

"There has been no shortage of Government policies and strategies to address the problems. Many targets have been set but few have been achieved. Over the last 20 years, there have been 15 administrations (including caretaker governments) and many of these were replaced before they had time to implement their policies. **However, policies generally appear to have been made (and targets set) with insufficient consideration of the resources required and available to achieve them."

page 6

and here's what's wrong with selective reproduction.

Although the Government rates the goal of universal primary education as “potentially achievable,” based on current status and past performance, its
achievement would seem unlikely.

And as for the negative progress of the 90's, sure. I'll concede there was negative progress then. But 8 years...what has the govt. to show for itself? My god, this set up has had 8 years on a stretch as against 2 years for each govt. in the 90's and this is what it achieves?

"In short, and as the Social Policy Development Centre (SPDC) concludes, “the current state of education in Pakistan is deplorable.”

page 7

STRATEGIES? 8 years of glorious rules and all we have to gloat over r strategies??????? But if that makes u happy..to see stupendous strategies, with footnotes such as these "**However, policies generally appear to have been made (and targets set) with insufficient consideration of the resources required and available to achieve them."

**then more power to you, sir.

I could go on and counter much of what is written in rest of the post, but what's the point? That there have opened more madressah's under Mush rule than under any other govt. is the single most damning statistic as far as education goes. So you can secure 60% on rosy strategies but if those strategies aren't doing much, whats their use?

bhai jan if u r going to use that card then I could also say that with each new shot at power, the military learned from past mistakes. Notice the undoing of many “strategies” of Zia by Mush. Why can’t the same principle apply to political parties?

as for my love for political parties. No, I dont think they r angels. I think I hav a fairly good idea of what they r capable of. Most them r goons and out right criminals. In fact, I just finished reading these:

http://www.dawn.com/weekly/cowas/20070508.htm
http://www.dawn.com/weekly/cowas/20071208.htm
http://www.dawn.com/weekly/cowas/20070819.htm
http://watandost.blogspot.com/2006/01/top-level-corruption-with-facts-and.html#links

But my contention is and has always been, if we continue to live under a military rule and keep expecting some new leadership to emerge from the political parties, then we living in fools paradise.

u know that could be a very good topic for a seminar. hmm why isn't the youth asking tough questions. lets brainstorm:

accessibility is an issue
the education system itself...does not encourage questioning
poor economic conditions makes them de-politicized

that's because what we had in the 90's wasn't even proper democracy...we had elections and then the executive lorded over the whole country.

bah..I am repeating myself. we r in a catch 22 argument here. essentially we both argue for change. Just that our approaches r different. While I believe in change from inside, u r advocating change from outside. Evolution vs revolution walli baat hai.

^ Aren't we basically going back to the same system with ankh me choli between NS and BB?

I would rather have a new constitution with an elected president. At least, in that case, we will have three pillars of govt: judiciary, executive and legislature [or four with media :p ] unlike now where legislature and executive are pretty much the same interests [legislature controls executive] in parliamentary system.

president is elected even now. can u point out how a presidential form of govt. is going to be any better in our context? have u been reading humayun gauhar?