So cuupycake is alhamdulillah 5 months.. We will go dishes and utensils shopping today inshallah
I am leaning towards starting with fruits n veggies instead of the cereal.. Did anyone do it? If yes, how? Did you have any reservations starting solids with either cereal or fruits/veggies?
aww fun times…I bought so many cutesy bowls and spoons and even a special seat for her just for the ‘solids starting’ occasion…
I started mine with rice cereal at 5.5 months.I do not see a reason why it can’t be started with fruits/veggies.At this stage the main goal is to introduce them to another mode of food and that is the spoon,rather than the nipple (bottle or breast).It takes a lil time for them to get adjusted and understand that there is food coming with the spoon.I remember mine would not let go of the spoon and tried to suck on it initially…
Once they get the hang of the spoon they start enjoying whatever you feed them.
Rice cereal is binding in nature.It messed up my daughter’s tummy.I stopped and restarted after a week with oatmeal cereal.It went fine from there.I reintroduced rice after a few days.
The first veggie I gave was carrot at 6 months.She liked it fine.She never liked fruit,and still is not a big fan of it.You can try and see what he likes gradually.
My son is 5 months mA. I started him on rice cereal when he turned 4 months. He doesn't liked the blanched taste of rice cereal. He likes stronger flavoured food. I'm guessing since I have been giving him breastmilk, he has adapted the tastes of the food (desi) that I have been eating. Plus rice cereal got him constipated. I started making homemade fruit and veggies purees. But again he didn't like the natural flavor. I tried gerber's baby food. He liked it cuz that processed food happen to have stronger flavor of fruits.
My son has not been very interested in milk or food. During the 24 hr time I have been counting the oz of milk he was taking which was not enough. He didnt gain normal weight between his 3 and 4th month. So to make sure that he keeps gaining weight I have to feed him solids. I try to keep up with the targeted amount of milk too.
He likes to eat whatever we are eating on the table. That is the time when he is most interested in the food. If we do not feed him anything at that time he will show tantrums and will not let us eat. So I started keeping steamed fruits and veggies on the table that I mash in fingers and feed him. He thinks that's what we are eating too. At that time he doesn't care about the flavor too.
I also started with rice cereal which my son was okay with... but I never just gave him rice cereal, I bought fruits/veggie cereal too which he enjoyed more. I started with desi food as early as 6 months. Any veggie cooked with salan, I would mash up the veg. really well and he would still get that salan taste to develop desi food taste. My son always hated gerber or any baby food.
I started with fruits first apple purée n se simply loved it thn started rice cereals but she constipated so I gave her wheat cereals whatever u start remember the four day rule n don't give mixture of anything bc if God forbid baby get reacted to anything u vl not b able to figure out the food which is troubling.
All the best. I remember when I started solid I also bought special bowls spoon n tommee tippe bib n tht bimbo seat :D
Gtg mashAllah a new milestone. I didn't give him rice cereal just oat cereal and I got those biscuits you get ( forgot the name I think Heinz makes them). I used to add that to his breastmilk bottle to make it more filling.
Also Apple I would grate and give him Plus with grating u get the juice as well that Jr loved. Also we did what the ladies above ate doing whatever sabzi we had cooked I would add a little shora to that and give Jr. He LOVED that.
He has loved fruits and veggies, I used to give him kaddu, shalgam, potatoes, sweet potatoes, apples, orange, grapes, bananas, and even our chawal mashed up really well.
I also used to hand him rotee, that he would suck on. He couldn't eat it but loved holding it and sucking on it .
I am hesitant to start with rice cereal for obvious constipation reason tat almost every mother mentions. I do want to wait before introducing grains so it felt like fruit is a better choice. I hardly cook for us so I will probably not be giving him old leftovers of our food.
So did you just boil sweet potaoes etc n purée them in blender? Freeze the rest or what?
Hi gtg..my little one is onbly 4 months yet,n we'r not planning to start solids yet as she has sum digestive problems already..however,the advice given by health visitors and acc to the guidelines here u shud start from 6 months ..but if u are weaning before that (ofcourse after 17 weeks only)u shud only be giving one grain..preferably rice cereal...they do advise to start fruits/veggie/etc after 6 months..
Thanks all..I don't plan to start solids for another 2-3weeks..fir now I m just dong my homework n getting ready for the big day.I have to plan things with back up plans. :D
Our ped recommended starting with rice cereal and once no reaction to that is established, to start with veggies. He said some times kids start liking the sweetness of the fruits and not take to the veggies.
What i would do was t o boil veggies in a bit of water and just puree them. I tried freezing some but i didnt like the frozen ones afterwards. For fruits, you can make purees or sauces at home or roast the fruit slices and then puree them. It brings out their sweetness alot though.
Once K was older, i started mashing potatoes in yakhni along with chicken or rice and giving her that. Also would mash veggies like peas or broccoli etc.
your ped will never say rice cereal causes constipation... i have yet to meet one dr that does. yet its a fact. rice does cause constipation. even in grown ups. midwives say it does too.
i dont knwo why peds dont agree to this fact.
another myth is... if u start with fruits and then veggies.... your kid will never take to veggies... midget was started off on fruits and then veggies... mixed in any grain. what does he like today? raw veggies... abhors fruits cept banana and pear.
so the order doesnt count.
today i fed genie apple chicken. dont ask ... babies have zilch taste sense :D
it is... also in build up of mucus. some babies dont mind. midget tolerates it well.. but i cant even dream of giving it to genie cuz of rapid onset of congestion.
heads up. apple can do taht too. i just learned it after 2 weeks of trials with genie! im amazed!
Apple chicken? Nah karo! Poor genie has no idea about the food combos being given to her
Ira..I read about the rice cereal too and what I remember reading is to avoid BRAT( banana,rice, apple sauce, toast) since hey can all cause constipation..I heard avocado being really good as first food..I definitely need to double check with the pediatrician.
Oh n also, I think khawa shared this website whlesomebabyfood.com n I m finding it very helpful.
I m so excited..can’t wait to start solids in couple of weeks inshallah. He is going crazy over table food!!
that site should be your bible until cuppycake is ready for uni!
and apple chicken is a hit in mothersgroup here.. its insane! they say you should try giving babies odd mixtures so that they dont get an aversion to certain items. but then danes DO have a weird taste sense.
i once gave midget avocado and strawberry mixed with semolina porridge. boy he loved it! so when there are no rules … that kitchen of yours really does turn into a playground for baby feeding
oh and gtg... genie is the opp... she curses at me in baby lingo if i try to give her baby mashed pureed crap. she is straight onto table food. remember.. tehy dont need teeth to chew. those gums are enough.
im so sad :( i like my baby blender and steamer :( they are useless for genie. sigh
so if ali wants table food.. dont be afraid to give it to him. they say they should be able to sit up... genie is showing no sign of even wanting to.. but she is chewing carrots and apples and pears and eating em as is! mashallah.
so start with pureed mashed stuff... but dont be afraid to give food as is just to see what he does.. start with steamed fruits or veggiesand let him bite himself and see if he chews.
i was amazed cuz i didnt think genie could and she would choke.. nopes.
get the annabel karmel weaning book! It has great recipes...yum chicken and apple is a great combo, i used to make munchkin chicken and orange...
I never pureed much as we start solids at 6 months and they can handle the lumps so it was mostly finger foods and stuff like spagetti and loads of veggies and fruits softened, basic foods without oil/salts/masalas all mixed together..
so Gemini which food u started with?and how was the baby’s reaction to the first foods?
my baby is Alhumdulillah 5months now m also planning to start with fruits n vegees from 6months…so wanted to know your experience
I started with cereal too. But if you want to go fruits and veggies, start with the yellow/orangy ones. You could super-mash a banana to an almost liquidy consistency (maybe mix with a little milk).