Staring problem

Be confident and comfortable, adapt to the surroundings but don't overdo it just to avoid stares, ppl do it to everyone.

Re: Staring problem

WHATTTT people in mississauga don't stare at you??
Immediately report in sexiness thread, we need to fix this.

hmm? people in Mississauga stare? I think you may be talking about the very few families who don't try to embrace [the good in] Canadian culture and refuse to learn English, etc.
Other than the few chaand raat blunders on Gerrard Street, I've never had any staring issues from people in Canada in the past 12 years that I've been here.

what is a chaand raat blunder on Gerrard street??

Just get on with and focus on whatever task you have to do during your shopping. That way you won't even notice the staring (or following which happened to my cousins and I one time).

Chaand raat attracts the wrong crew to Gerrard St. Last couple years there have been a few instances of harassment, creepily following girls to the parking area, fist fights, breaking lassi bottles, whistling, staring, shouting out random names like razia and billo … you get the idea.

Reminded me of the time in Pakistan when I was still in high school and my school van didn’t come that day so I started walking home. This man (not a boy, a fully grown man) was on his bicycle and started following me. He would sometimes get ahead of me then reverse and come back. Sadly I had taken a short cut so there was no one around and I was so scared. Then he started circling around me and singing “aaja tay bay ja cycle tay”. Oh my God!!! :smack: It was awful. I was wearing my school uniform (white shalwar kameez) and a big black shawl on my head.

^Many fellas who show up there are bunch of dippers anyway. There is a way to check out a girl without seem too desperate or show creepiness.

Hey guys,

So I am in Pakistan and thought I'd share the joy :) lol

Incident #1) Fortress, Lahore: I went with my khala, khalu, their kids, and my sis. All the ladies were wearing shawls. My sis and I were trying to grab our little cousins' attention. So my sis says to my cousin "I like you." I grabbed his arm (he is 5) and said, "I lovee you." There was this group of guys sitting outside. One of them goes, "But I love you moreeeeee" and then they all laughed.

Incident #2) Bazaar, Sialkot: I was with my dad who was walking behind me. This riksha wala had parked his riksha and was sitting inside like a frog. When I walked past him, he goes "Mashallah". Again, my head was covered and I was wearing a fairly over-sized sweater...no makeup.

Incident #3) Bazaar, Sialkot: My sis and I were trying to keep up with my khala and mom who were walking ahead. And if you're familiar with sialkot crowd, it's riksha/motorbikes/pedestrians all crammed into tiny streets and lots and lots of pollution. Anyways, so three guys were coming from the front, arms locked...one of them purposely hit me on my arm (bohut zor se) and then he goes "ouch" ... they kept walking and laughing like badmash guys.

I'll post more, as I plan on doing more shopping :(

About situation 1: Making jokes like the one you did at Fortress is pretty much like inviting these kind of comments. I am not condoning them, in fact I think those guys are as pathetic as the ones in incident 2 and 3. But knowing that those creeps are out there you gotta be a bit more careful as to where you're joking around.

This staring prob' doesn't just happen in Pakistan...I have the same prob' here in the UK all the time. Worse is when they whistle or try to brush past you...but I just ignore it. They are ediats.

I went to Pakistan recently and had no problems with the guys (the staring was normal but none approached me etc - thank gwad!)...but would you believe I had the **worst **experience with the girls!!!! Mostly they seemed collage girls etc.

I was enjoying an evening out with my cousins in Papasallis ISB (or however you spell that restaurant) when we heard a bunch of immature girls laughing and staring at us. They were loud!! We ignored them but it did spoil our dinner a bit.

Another time on the same trip I was in McDoldnalds, Pindi, was standing in a line and these girls behind me were talking about my jeans, hair and shoes nice and loudly for me to hear. I ignored them naturally as they were pathetic and envious.

Another time in Pindi I was standing with my Husband in a queue and these girls were rating him and laughing at him...they knew we could hear them. I just couldn't understand why they couldn't understand how immature and rude they were being. They were obviously getting some cheap thrills from it...so we ignored them.

I've had plenty of more bad experiences with girls staring/ mocking/ laughing etc..so I don't think it's just the guys there. In fact I think the girls are getting worse!!! Lol.

I just came here to learn how one sits in a Rickshaw as a frog.

hi madz124 where abouts in lahore did you go cause i'm going in march and can you tell me what you did to avoid the staring? last time i went was about 5 or 6 years ago and didn't have any staring from the guys but i don't know what it's gonna be like now. thanks

OmG i had the same experience in islamabad/pindi...the girls are just tooo weird.
I was at pizza hut once and i wasnt dressed up and i saw young girls staring and laughing at me. I found it funny atleast this time :P

What kind of comments did they give you? In a jealous way or actually making fun?

Yes they are incredibly weird. Bored and nasty individuals too who must be completely insecure about themselves.

They gave nasty comments missN...they were talking loudly about me and my cousins etc. Yeah they were making fun out of us except this joke of theirs continued for too long. They did it completely out of jealousy and nastiness. What else could it be? We didn't even know they were in the restaurant until they started talking loudly about the specific shirt colours we were wearing (to get our attention) which is when we turned around and noticed them.

There was one incident when my cousin when out to eat with her Dad in Pindi...and these girls made fun out of them making jokes about her Dad possibly being my cuz's Husband...it got out of hand when they became rude...they had no respect or fear to say such things...my coz's Dad got up from his chair and sorted the girls out...but apparently that only kept them quiet for a few mins until they started staring again etc.

I've noticed it was mostly young girls aged between 15-18 years...I'm guessing the ages.

^ If they're teenage girls you could probably make one joke about their weight, or, given that it's Pakistan, about how "gora" they are, and take away their self esteem for a few months.

haha nahi aise nahi, yar. riksha was parked so street side pe riksha ki back thi and he was sitting inside on his feet…jaise zameen pe baithtay hain. and it was cold so ikatha hoke baitha tha and he was smoking.

Acha ok, so it was this guy then.

Yeah i get it all the time... your so hot , girls always staring and checking me out it ridiculous i wish some people could just keep their eyes to themselves... Its like their mentally undressing me :(