Staring problem

Re: Staring problem

Really? I have this image of Saudi Arabia being very strict and Islamic. Hard for me to imagine this kind of rogue behaviour there.

It's one isolated incident in the span of my 4 weeks there and it didn't happen to me my Afghani friend who was also visiting told me. They are very strict and islamic there. Everything is segregated.

Thanks for the suggestions, everyone.
An abaya might help, I agree, but the thing is, no one in my family wears one. So it would be weird if out of the whole group, I am the only one in a burqa.

Falak, there is nothing improper about an abaya. It's a symbol of modesty and haya. But maybe in certain parts of Pakistan, it is associated with something else ... like how religious you are. I find that when you go back, people there scrutinize your every move...like what you eat, when you get up, how you walk and talk, and especially how you dress, etc. I wear shalwar kameez in shopping malls in Canada too, and don't feel self-conscious about it. Toronto is so multicultural. No one really cares. But if I were to wear a burqa in Pakistan, a few relatives would say oh Canada main tu itni modern ke jeans pehenti hai, dupatta ke bagher baahir jaati hai, aur yahan dekho, sati-saawitri bani phir rahi hai, humein dikhaane ke liye. I don't really want to go down that road.
And before you guys start bombarding me with criticism that who cares what others say, well, I
care...and my mom cares a whole lot more.

I do take dupatta on my head when I go out in Pak. Maybe I'll switch to a chaadar and make sure there is a guy in the group when we go out.

I live in Canada/Mississauga too and I wear jeans and a top but when I go to Pakistan I wear an abaya.
If anyone were to ask me why the difference I would simply explain to them that the folks in Pakistan stare and I don't feel comfortable. Nothing more and nothing less.

I doubt having a guy around in the group will help, i was with my parents (DAD!) and younger sisters, and it all still happened. disgusting...

just ignore..thats all you can do....cause u cant go round telling everyone not to stare at you....since they will not stop staring.

like u said u dress modestly so thats fine too.

just be confident and ignore. and if someone says anything then try to answer them back.

A chaddar would definitely help. You can even use it as a niqab, and say the streets are too dusty so you are covering your face. That's the excuse I thought of in case someone did ask from the family. :P
Some Advice: Whatever happens, do not stare back. Go on about your own business. Look at what you need, take it, and leave.

True!

what makes you think educated guys from good backgrounds dont do that in every country? For young ppl, in any country, part of the attraction of going to the beach is to check out some nice bodies and perhaps flirt with some of them.

I never said educated guys from good backgrounds don't do that. I know they do, not only in Dubai but pretty much everywhere.

But back in Dubai the vast majority of those doing this, are "less educated" people.

So you agree its not always the "act", Its who does it that matters.

I disagree. It's the act that is pathetic, not who is doing it.

Eik aurat, 10 mardoon ko jahannum main lai ker jayee gi :slight_smile:

On serious note:
Try to belong to the environment. Do not over do things. You can take abaya as suggested just for this reason (that you do not feel comfortable people staring at you). Even after all this some losers will still stare but there is nothing much you can do with them. Losers will always be losers. I have seen guys staring at display dummies, tum tu phir jeeti jagti insaan ho.

haha, NO! hamaare apne aamaal will determine where we end up. :hypo:

Yeh dubai beech main kahan se aa gaya? :offtopic:

I was horrified when my cousin uttered the words "chalo KFC chalte hum" thats where they pick up chicks lmao. what kind of low maintenance greasy ones he is after i didnt dare ask...........I could think of a few pick up lines he could use..but it would probably mean a straight ban if i said them here lmao

Erghh...

Mujhe sharam se doob ke merne ka bohut shoq hai

We make do with what we have :frowning:
KFC bhi kisi kisi ki kismat me hota hay. Now feel sorry for me :teary1:

I know. It was a reply to the Bikini comment. :slight_smile:

Staring problem

Do not make eye contact with them. Infact pretend they dont exist...keep your eyes on ground if you must; even if you get comments, pretend you didnt hear. . Not only will you physically relax; you will enjoy going out as normal and no one will pick up on your self consciousness.